Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Dear Mohamed,

    You need to just install over. If you uninstall the existing version, and install new one, the next backup will become full (not incremental), because the program will lose the data needed to track changes from the previous backup chain.

    Isso
     
  2. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Thank you dearest Isso.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  3. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    England
    The "View Backups" button now successfully opens the browser here !

    I can`t understand why it was only me having this problem, but whatever you did fixed it :thumb:
     
  4. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Fad, great to hear it! We did change the method that we launch the browser with, but still I think there is some problem with your system, because the old method should have worked too.
     
  5. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    I've uploaded the new build 932 to www.ax64.com. We figured that we broke XP support in version 930, so 932 fixes that issue. Another fix is the display of the backup completion time, which was incorrect.

    Isso
     
  6. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    England
    I do still have some errors and a "Fatal" in the logs, but on the surface, it seems to be functioning none the less.

    I can even delete a snapshot now without the browser just disappearing without warning - which I couldn`t do before.
     
  7. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Fad,

    Please send to me (info@ax64.com) the logs when you have a chance. Thank you

    Isso
     
  8. defconnect

    defconnect Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Posts:
    24
    Hi Isso,

    Could not get build 930 or 932 to work on x64 fully patched Windows 7 SP1 box; both failed with error code C1000008 code 2 in both creating automatic hourly as manual backups. Last build working well was 899.
    Have emailed you the logs and hope for new build that works again.

    With best regards,
    defconnect
     
  9. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Isso

    Have clean installed 930 Build in the hope that the incremental backup times would improve but unfortunately initial (but albeit quick) checks have shown no apparent change.

    I am planning a further 'clean' start, with the 932 Build this weekend and will try to run through the same benchmarks that I provided previously in the hope that it is my initial impressions are incorrect.

    Failing any noticable change I will look to connect my backup drive internally via SATA, rather than using the eSATA-based external connection I am currently trying. I am still wondering if that may be the cause of my issues.

    Will update you as and when I can.

    Regards


    Balders
     
  10. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    defconnect,

    We already fixed that problem, I'll send new release in 1-2 days. It's related to missing bootstat.dat file on your system. I don't know why but on some systems that file seems to be non-existent, which is quite strange.

    Isso
     
  11. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Balders,

    I'm sure the slow speed isn't related to the hardware, but rather it's a limitation of current AXTM implementation, sorry. We were trying hard to improve the speed last week, but managed only to slightly decrease the Preparing phase time. Looks like to get further speed improvement we'll need to make major modifications, which I can't afford now, because my current priority is to get the program perfectly stable rather than further improving the performance. Later we'll get back to performance. Hope you understand.

    Isso
     
  12. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Isso

    Thanks for the reply. Absolutely no need to apologise.

    I complete understand your position and priorities...and in my opinion they are the correct ones. I will however keep experimenting at my end should I find something of interest/that may be of use I will advise back.

    In the meantime I will keep up to date on AX64 TM and wish you and the team good luck with the launch/hope that it garners/has the success that it very much deserves.

    Here's hoping that I can very shortly thereafter join the hopefully large club of regular, happy users.

    Regards


    Baldrick
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  13. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Balders, thank you very much for your support!

    Isso
     
  14. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    Sorry if this has been requested before, but for v2 (or whatever you're going to call it) I would love to see an option to delete automatic backups, manual backups, or both after a specified period of time. Even though the snapshots are not terribly large, a drive could get filled up with snapshots eventually. I've been using AX64 since the first public beta and have about 56 GB of snapshots. I would enable an option to delete after 30 days if it had that option.
     
  15. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    1000db,

    Thank you for your idea, I think it makes a lot of sense, so I've added it to our planned features list.

    Isso
     
  16. mrfargoreed

    mrfargoreed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    356
    Isso, I really like this program - it's worked pretty flawlessly for me, so far. The only thing that I can't seem to do is burn the recovery media. If I do it from inside the program, burning stops at about 65% and ejects the disc, no matter what I do.

    If I create an ISO and then try to burn, when I boot into it, all I get is a black screen with a flashing cursor, my drive purring away, but nothing actually happening. Tried this several times now and I just can't boot into it.
     
  17. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,397
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    MrF... what Build # are you using currently? Early 800 builds had a burning/ISO problem. 878 and 899 burned and ISOed for me just fine haven't tried 900+ yet.
     
  18. mrfargoreed

    mrfargoreed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    356
    TheRollbackFrog, I'm using the latest version 1.0.932. I'm reinstalling and going to try again.

    Also, if I'm using the beta now and buy the final release, I'm assuming all snapshots and backups will be saved and it's just a simple software install/update? I won't lose all backups?

    Many thanks for your help.
     
  19. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    mrfargoreed,

    I'll look into the CD burning problem. For black screen - could you let me know which OS are you using? Thing is for Windows 8 there is indeed a flashing cursor for about 10-15 sec, but after that the boot should proceed normally. If it doesn't, could you please upload the ISO file somewhere and send to me the link to it to info@ax64.com? Thank you.

    For existing backups - if you upgrade from beta to production release nothing will be lost.

    Isso
     
  20. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    Isso, while on the subject of the Recovery CD please let me know your ETA when it will discover and accommodate Intel RST drivers.

    Cruise
     
  21. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Hi Cruise, I expect it to be fixed in about 1-2 months from now, sorry for delaying it.

    Isso
     
  22. mrfargoreed

    mrfargoreed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    356
    I'm using Windows 8 64bit, but nothing after the cursor, I'm afraid. I did try it several times and did let the disc drive run for a while. I'll upload the ISO and send you the link, Isso - thank you :thumb: .

    Great to hear - many thanks.
     
  23. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Aigle I agree on that one!
     
  24. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    Hi Isso,

    version 932 does not work on my xp.
    The AXTMImageBrowser cannot be launched and when I try to launch it manually from the product directory it displays a window that says
    "The procedure entry point PDHAddEnglishCounterW could not be located in the dynamic link library pdh.dll."

    Panagiotis
     
  25. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Hi Panagiotis,

    Sorry about it. We fixed that already, will release new version on Monday.

    Isso
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.