Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. athanasian_creed

    athanasian_creed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    Also another issue, i notice that the icon doesn't change when the program is creating a backup. This is only as of today, on the 25th (the day i installed the program) it did change to show me that a backup was in progress.

    TIA,


    Ray :eek:
     
  2. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,774
    How are hot restores going for you guys?
    I haven't done any restores since I've returned to it.
     
  3. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,590
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Have done cold, warm & hot restores all of which have worked (although the hot restore is now at one's own risk given that for some it does not work), and whilst the warm is slower than the hot it is still significantly faster than a restore using a traditional imager.
     
  4. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    Finland
    I apply the restore operation in Windows, then it reboots and does the restore. (OS partition)
    Whatever restore may that be, cold ?
    Worked fine so far.
     
  5. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,590
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    That would be what is termed 'warm'...initiated from within Windows but using the client side recovery environment on reboot (Hot is initiated from within Windows and restores from within Windows...is faster than Warm...but not as reliable). Cold is when you boot with recover environment coming off external media. i.e., CD, DVD or USB.
     
  6. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Baldrick the Great. So, for clarification...o_O...
    1. Cold restore is when we use external media (CD, DVD, USB).
    2. Warm restore is when we use the boot manager option?
    3. Hot restore is when Windows is running, we open AX64 Time Machine, and choose restore?

    I had been confused about this because I thought I read people saying that there was no more hot restore in v2, and that it had to be turned on as a special option. o_O
     
  7. fs2com

    fs2com Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    118
    shoud we install boot manager first to use warm restore?
    I only make usb recovery media as for now... the boot time is so much slower comparing with macrium one.
    And there is only restore option... no backup from usb recovery media
     
  8. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,590
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Chamlin

    That just about sums it up...but in the case of 2. you initiate the restore as per 3., i.e., from within Windows, rather than booting up and then selecting the boot manager option...subtle difference...if you see what I mean? ;)

    You are correct about the hot restore, it is a special option that the use has to overtly select and can select when running a restore from within Windows, i.e., if you do that and go with the defaults you will warm restore, but if you want to hot restore you have to override the default and get past the warning message about it being 'unreliable' but thereafter for that restore you can hot restore.

    Hope that clarifies?

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  9. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,590
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Have not tried it without first installing the boot manager...but I suspect that the answer is 'Yes' you need the boot manager recovery environment installed first.
     
  10. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Hmmm...I "think" that confuses me a bit.

    A. So what kind of restore is it when we use the boot manager option? Warm or cold?
    B. Are you saying that restoring from within Time Machine, when windows is fully running, will be a hot restore (like in v1) but before Time Machine will let you, a warning comes up?

    Remedial Chamlin
     
  11. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,590
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Chamlin

    Apologies for confusing...:(

    OK, A. When you use the boot manager option at boot rather than from within Windows it is a cold restore. If you use it from within WIndows then it is warm. B. No...restoring from within Time Machine, when windows is fully running, will be a warm restore (not like in v1) but if you want to do a hot restore then you have to take an option to do so, and then Time Machine will let you, but with a warning beforehand.

    Is that any better?

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  12. Trapperman

    Trapperman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    United States
    I can't speak to v2 hot restores, but I can say that both warm & cold restores are (still) failing on both my machines, using every version of 2.xx (like they've been for the last 1 1/2 years). So much for warm being bullet proof.

    More v2 logs have been sent in, more e-mails back & forth, same old results. Nobody can figure out what the problems are. I'm just mentally exhausted now with this program, trying to troubleshoot, composing e-mail back & forth, all for naught. I've got logs from the latest fail still on my laptop from a week ago that still haven't been submitted. I just can't muster the enthusiasm to do this yet again because I expect the same results... utter failure. *sigh*
     
  13. fs2com

    fs2com Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    118
    @Baldrick : I'll check it the warm restore without installing the boot manager option

    @Trapperman : That's not good info at all... okay will make image with macrium first and
    then try the restore with TM. To make sure this program will save me from the cold weather.

    Update :
    Okay... After finish making image using macrium... on to restore using TM...
    Before reboot TM will making recovery media to the boot menu then after that
    restart the system to the TM recovery...

    Funny thing is I expected TM will do the restore automagically after the recovery
    media loaded... but it's not.. It just stay at the blank window... so I select backup
    folder myself... okay no problem, I'll select which time I want to recover...
    Then TM ask which partition for the restore... the bad news is my system drive
    is not recognize by the TM :(

    I got 3 SATA drive and 1 SSD... and I configure my system with RAID (SATA + SSD for caching)
    and that's the one TM can't see... the other 2 drive is visible...

    So I exit the recovery boot then back to windows...it rebooted and show boot menu
    with 2 list which TM recovery is the default option, so I select my Windows then continue.

    Then head back to TM app, check the Rescue Media Builder > Startup Manager.
    And to my suprise the Uninstall is greyed... WTH?
    So I restart my computer once more to make sure my boot got 2 entry, but this time
    Windows boot straight away...

    So bottom line is when warm restore without boot recovery, TM will make one for you
    thenafter that TM will uninstall the entry once it finished (or not)

    Bad news for me is my system drive can't recognize by the recovery boot menu,
    so no point making hourly back up when you can't even restore it :(

    Had to check macrium usb boot that I made... will it be recognize my drive or not

    Update 2 :

    Macrium usb boot no problem see all my drive...
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2014
  14. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Absolutely clear. Thank you.

    1. Where is the "hot restore" option in v2?
    2. When we say it may be unreliable, would it just freeze, or would it be unreliable in that it would "look" like it works but later something funky might start happening in one's system?
     
  15. athanasian_creed

    athanasian_creed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    No one able to help me with my issues using TM 2.0.0.499??

    Even a reply that you can't is better than feeling like i'm butting into some fraternal clique!

    Again, thanks in advance



    Ray
     
  16. Kit1cat

    Kit1cat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    "Bad news for me is my system drive can't recognize by the recovery boot menu,
    so no point making hourly back up when you can't even restore it :("

    fs2com, sounds like the same problem I have been having with v2. In my case v2 will install v1 images to my system drive but not v2 images. My system uses 2 hard drives and a ssd drive.
     
  17. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    I can answer point 1 only, for the other 2 I would contact ax64.com. So yes you can use the same folder for several computers, TM will clearly dsitinguish the backups in the backup browser. No worry, AFAIK
     
  18. fs2com

    fs2com Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    118
    Did you use your ssd for the caching too kit1cat?
    I don't use v1 since I just started at v2... so can't test that scenario...
    already emailed the problem to ax... will post again if they reply to the problem

    Not meaning to ignore anybody... but I'm new user to TM too...
    so can't answer something that I'm not have good experience yet ;)
     
  19. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,988
    A little hard to follow what you are saying, however, I think it is similar to what happened to me after adding AX to the boot menu on x64 W7 SP1.
    Before I go there, however, I can tell you I've been using v1 for over a year and I love it. Hot restores are lightning fast and reliable. I trialled and purchased v2 and the hot and warm restores also work but then I read about all these issues and I just go back to v1. I have probably done this around a half dozen times. The craziest issue I have with either version is that it can't find my Microsoft 5000 mouse (Even though other mice, both PS/2 and USB, work and the MS mouse works with all other recovery applications!) during a cold restore. No cursor = total failure!
    Now to my point. I have Macrium Reflect in my boot menu but the one time I added v2, AX hijacked the boot menu. Completely wiped MR off the map. So I left that option off the table after subsequent trials.
     
  20. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    With v2, I first added AX64 to my boot menu, then added Macrium and they're both there and functioning.
     
  21. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Dearest Chamlin,

    Many thanks, I am baaaccck! :D

    Mohamed.
     
  22. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    @ Everyone,

    I did get all my 24 serial keys. Couldn't resist the offer at $5 per serial key.

    Many thanks,

    Mohamed
     
  23. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,774
    Where do I get that deal from?

    And most importantly.
    Great to see you again, mate.
     
  24. Kit1cat

    Kit1cat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    With v1 the images are on the second partition of the ssd drive, but when I try v2 the images are normally on one of the hard drives, but I think I did try them once on the ssd drive with the same result.
     
  25. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,590
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Chamlin

    Not ignoring you...just live in a different time zone.

    1. When you select the Restore option from the AXTM Browser, before clicking Next click on the button marked 'Advanced' (bottom left hand corner of the recovery screen) and you should see an option to select 'Hot Restore'...and Bob's your uncle.
    2. By "Unreliable" what is meant is that there has been no development work on the v1 functionality and therefore if the Hot Restore did not work for you under v1 then most likely it will n ot work for you under v2, i.e., behave in the same way...whatever that was...some had lock up, some had freezes, some hard other outcome.

    Hope that helps?

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.