Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Okay

    1) Yes and no. Excluding the PD fail, yes the imaging works but with a big but. I have some early images on this computer but with Shadowprotect and AX64. When I restore those images the time SP takes with the old image is the same as with the current image. On the other hand the full restore with TM on a current image is about the same as with SP, about 12 minutes, but when I restored the old AX64 image the time it took was over an hour. Same thing coming back to present with full image restore. So is the success? You tell me.

    2) Absolutely. Although nothing is new on the PD front, ask yourself this. Take your favorite imaging program, and if it couldn't restore no matter what, including a PD defrag which trust it and call it an imaging program?

    Other than the imaging, Tm pretty much delivers, but to me there are a couple of non technical issues.

    1) The release should really have been a beta 3 then a RC before release. I understand the need for cash flow, but releasing a product with serious bugs can in the long run really hurt.

    2) The exclusions/warnings. Most of us have grown up with AX64 since before ISSO started this thread so we kinda get it. But consider someone who never heard of ISSO,AX64,Wilders etc, and the download the trial, see the hot restore with it's warning. What you think they are going to think. TAKE out the hot restore.

    3)Then there is Perfect Disk. Most PD users have experience Raxco's excellent techsupport. I downloaded the trial and saw the disclaimer on install, I would stop the install and write of TM as a substandard product. They need to find a solution to this, because what happens when another PD comes along.

    Pete
     
  2. ScottAdams

    ScottAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Can you explain which configurations it is not working on and rough estimate of when this might be resolved? Are we talking days, weeks, or months?

    Thanks!
     
  3. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,230
    I agree with Pete, if hot restore is not to be trusted it should be removed. This program is supposed to be primarily for those who are not especially computer literate and seeing a negative warning about a program feature will def anyone off the program, especially someone who has limited PC experience.

    As to the PD issue,,,,,, given the main target market I don't think the PD issue is a significant one. I doubt that many low PC literate individuals will be using this program along with PD so a note recommending the 2 not be used together should more than suffice.
     
  4. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    at least they can add to the warning line "try it on your own risk" :D
     
  5. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,557
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    You are so right about RB Rx...propensity to hose one's system is a truism.
     
  6. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,557
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Thanks Waj...may I humbly suggest that in the light of the recent discussions you keep us posted regularly on where you are re. the 'bare metal restore' feature as it has the potential to scupper what is really a very good app.

    Just a little thought.
     
  7. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i dont see the pd issue being small. pd has MANY MANY users in fact most people i know personally use pd as their defrag program and those people are the ones imo that would also want to buy ax64. the normal average user does not and will not unless either introduced to ax64 by someone else or ax64 somehow gets to be huge and becomes a household name (which no offense and i mean this as nicely as i can i dont see happening) i see the pd thing as a issue for them because many users as pete said will see the warning and say forget it...not worth it. i know at least a few as i said personally who i have suggested to try it and came back and told me they would pass due to that alone.
     
  8. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,230
    Funny, I know no-one who uses PD,,,,,,other, of course, than those who said they do on this forum.

    Bottom line is, as Isso indicated way back at the beginning, AX64 (TM now) is intended for those who currently are not using an imaging program at all because those available are too complicated for them. The folks I have recommended the program to, all who are now using it, fit this description.

    Frankly, if it came down to an imaging program that allowed for quick restores, and a defrag utility, I would go for the imaging program.
     
  9. Keith Weisshar

    Keith Weisshar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Hazlet, NJ
    Waj, How long does it take to fix the v2 bare-metal recovery bug involving hidden partitions not backed up?
     
  10. Zero3K

    Zero3K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    373
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    I've been noticing a bug where the displayed Size of the Image is increasing as its doing a backup which lasts longer than 30 minutes.
     
  11. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    917
    I have seen this as well with 32 bit XP Pro. It was on the Beta as well. It just seems strange that it gets bigger and bigger, and then the resulting backup is only a GB or so.
     
  12. Keith Weisshar

    Keith Weisshar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Hazlet, NJ
    Why is AX64 using VHD format in the .axd backups, not VHDX? VHD has a 2TB limit and VHDX has a 64TB limit.
     
  13. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,557
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Yup, agreed but what I do is I defrag between baseline images, and at the same time I run the boot time defrag, when AXTM is not effectively active...et voila...no problem...PD & AXTM in harmonious co-existence.
     
  14. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    Finland
    I don't.
    I use SSD drives and you DON'T defrag them.
    No need to.
    But as for TM..
    After reading all the comments, I really don't c/dare to "upgrade" to v2 ..
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2014
  15. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,557
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Well, each to their own but I am finding that v2 works well and seems very stable...not completed all my checks but so far so good on the important ones.
     
  16. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    +1
    Just how phenomenal of a defrag program must PD be anyway? Especially when defraging itself is questioned by so many now days (I do so once in a while before a new basline). Not to start that argument though.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2014
  17. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    the point is these people already have PAID lic's for pd. some of them have multiple lic's some even have like 12+ or more. they have paid money for them. so you are saying to forget the money they paid for pd and use ax64 instead? many people are die hard pd users and have been for years. pd has been along WAY before ax64 and is FAR more popular.

    i also do use ssd's but i also use normal hdd's. i can not convert all my disks over due to the actual overall cost. my desktop as an example has a total of 6 hdd's in it. only one of which is a ssd. the rest are between 2tb and 4tb drives. and many people still will not shell out even the 100$ for a smallish ssd drive they feel no need when they already have hdd's running just fine. now maybe when those die then ok but still i dont see ssd's becoming standard UNTIL they come down to near the pricing of spinning platters.
     
  18. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,230
    I am not suggesting that folks stop using PD if they want to use it and I am not suggesting that they must use AX64 (TM). What I am saying is that the developers of TM do not have to accommodate PD users and that in the long run the target market for TM will still be there if the PD issue is never resolved.

    The idea that TM is somehow a substandard program and one that will suffer greatly in terms of sales because of the conflict with PD is, in my opinion, ridiculous.

    In the end each individual will have to decide what is important to them. If defragging the PC with PD (or the $s spent on PD licenses) is more important to an individual than having the ability to quickly restore their systems then they should use PD and simply pass on TM.
     
  19. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    Today i restore a snapshot i made 1 day back , its the Second time i restore same snap and the second time seems to be SOO slowww compare to the first time... i didn't run any disk defrag what so ever... anyone experience same thing or its just me... :confused:


    using version 2.439
     
  20. Kit1cat

    Kit1cat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    I am surprised more users are not using ssd drives for their operating system, I picked up a 120GB ssd for a little over 80 uk pounds a couple of years back and never looked back, cold boot in under a minute plus fast back up's and restores using time machine and no need to defrag. Best upgrade I ever made. The ssd drive is partitioned in two with the operating system and most programs on one partition and back up's and data on the other, plus I have 2 hard drives for the rest of my stuff.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2014
  21. mxyzptlk

    mxyzptlk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Yeah, I also have been contemplating about this SSD-thingy, and what you said is even more tantalizing.
    However many people have their own reasons/constraints (such as mine) that make them still clinging to the olde HDD...
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Guys

    I think some are missing the point about PD. It's not a case of developers don't need to support PD users. If they are going to claim TM is an imaging program, then as an imaging program, it should be able to image and restore as other imaging programs, like Macrium,SP,IFW do routinely. If it fails at doing that then there is a real problem.

    Also it not really totally about PD. First what about other defraggers, that do offline defrag. Raxco's IR which I use, boots it boot swapping code in the partition table, and also uses the MFT. Does that affect TM? I don't know, and am not inclined to pay to find out. What other things done the road might have the same effect. I have no idea, but an "Imaging" program needs to handle it all. That would be my major concern.

    I know a lot of the imaging programs had problems with Win 8.1, and I think for the most part they have worked thru them. I see the TM guys are working on this also, but why a pass on this other issue, if they claim it is an imaging solution.
     
  23. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    totally agree with you , what the point to use HD instead of SSD for your main OS drive (c:\) ??
    you can even get a 60 giga SSD for ridiculous money.
     
  24. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    when you have a laptop and cant afford a 500gb+ drive. not everyone wants a small 60b drive. i know my laptop has a 1tb hdd in it which is normally somehwere near half full. 500gb ssd's are still around 450-500$ or more.
     
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    True, but I like my c: drives to be big. My two new desktops have 1Tb drives which is what I wanted. Price does now start to be a factor.

    Also I buy my desktops from Velocity Micro, and I've been doing business with them since 2004. I have always found their recommendations to be excellent and time has always proved them correct for me. I asked them about SSD's and their first answer was they were fine. I then said I do a lot of imaging and restoring, and they then said I might be wiser sticking with traditional Hard Drives.

    So there can be a point to still using HD.

    Pete
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.