Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. Selukwe

    Selukwe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    A possible reason to mount a drive could be to make it available on a net if you have one so that other users can see it and access it if need be. Apart fom that, use of the AX browser must be fully sufficient.
     
  2. legacy

    legacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Posts:
    87
    @ Froggy,

    the mounted snapshot is fine. looks like the registry is corrupt/missing on the restore.

    "Originally Posted by bgoodman4
    ... I never understood the need to mount as a virtual drive..."


    are you kidding, this feature is must as i can grab all my extra data and it saves my bacon
     
  3. Selukwe

    Selukwe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    What extra data is there apart from what can be accessed and copied through the AX browser?
     
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,147
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    BG, Selukwe... there is no difference in the data accessibility, the only difference is the complete explorer-like interface available with the MOUNT, which many users are very familiar with. Otherwise... access is the same.
     
  5. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    985
    I agree. I have been using AXTM since it first came out, on both Win 8.0 and Win 8.1. I think I have had one hot restore problem out of maybe 25 to 50 times. It was immediately fixed by doing a cold restore.

    I would hate to see AXTM lose this feature. The occasional freeze causing you to reboot to the flash drive is well worth the speed difference.

    If possible, it would be great if any updates included a choice for the consumer.

    Silver
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I have to concur on the hot restore issue. Without that I would have no advantage at all over SP.

    Since I figured out the hot restore issue for me I haven't seen a failure.

    Pete
     
  7. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    From what I gather you can create recovery media on USB while on Windows 8.1? If not then it doesn't really matter because I simply can't get that far, my new USB-stick shows up as a hard-drive instead of removable media because http://kb.sandisk.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/12830 which means it doesn't show up in the USB stick list of AXTM. :( Anything I can do about this?
     
  8. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi Sanaya,

    No, one cannot make a Recovery Media (WinRE) in Windows 8.1 as couple of files are missing in Windows 8.1, this is due to no fault of AX64 and/or Isso. Microsoft is at it again! :)

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  9. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    Oh, for some reason I thought it was only CD and ISO that messed up. ^-^''
    Would one be able to acquire these files from somewhere? Legally of course, I'm guessing they can't bundle the files with AXTM because copyright reasons?
     
  10. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450

    Guys, the new WinPE-based restore method will be unique, because it will restore only the changed sectors (in contrast to SP or any other programs that restore the entire drive). Thus it will be much faster than competition. Yes, the load time of WinPE environment will add up, but still it's a much less time than restoring the entire drive. Basically there will be only an extra 30-40 sec per restore (which is the load time of WinPE from a local drive), compared to current hot restore.

    Is it indeed a deal breaker for you?

    Isso
     
  11. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Sanya,

    You are right, only CD and ISO are messed up in Win 8.1. We'll release a fixed version with 8.1 support soon, and you'll be able to create an ISO and write it to your USB stick with YUMI or something similar.

    As for support for USB drives that look like fixed HDDs - frankly I'm hesitant to support them, because the normal HDD partititons will appear in the list too, and the user may mistakenly erase their HDD partition when creating the recovery media.

    Isso
     
  12. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    Ah I see, I don't mind having to use other tools like that :)

    Silly how USB flash drives need to look as fixed drives for Windows 8 certification, what purpose does that even have other than confusion? <_<

    Edit: So I'm guessing there is no way to fool Windows into thinking it's a removable media?

    I understand that and I totally agree, if other users have the same problem they might stumble upon this post to see why it doesn't show up, better that happen than someone accidentally erasing their life time collection of family photos and videos etc. :)

    Edit: Perhaps it would be a solution but perhaps not, maybe AXTM could look at normal hard-drives too but only list ones with a certain name? So if the drive doesn't show up in the list then one could try renaming it to something like "AXTM" and then it shows up? I don't know if that was a good idea, I have doubts about it.

    Edit 2: Also, any estimation on when the new version with recovery media for Windows 8.1 fixed will be released? I feel kind of worried because... I kind of stepped on my dvd and broke it... <_<
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2013
  13. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Don't you have access to other computers which < (less than) Windows 8.1?

    For example, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Vista .....

    Mohamed
     
  14. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Yes, it will be a deal breaker!

    Trying to fumble for the Recovery Media!

    Would make everyone unhappy!
     
  15. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    Sadly I don't. :doubt:
     
  16. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Hi Mohamed,

    Can I ask you why? Is it indeed those 30-40 extra seconds, or are you thinking about some other issues?

    Isso
     
  17. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    I sent to you a PM with a link to my ISO.
     
  18. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    I got it, thank you. :) <3
     
  19. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi Isso,

    Maybe, I didn't understand. How would the restore process start?

    Within Windows or booting into WinPE?

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  20. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    Wait, are we talking about removing the hot restores from AXTM? Or am I misunderstanding?
     
  21. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,540
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Isso

    Many thanks for the explanation of what is planned. I think that it would be close but perhaps there is some mileage in such an approach when compared to the competition...but I think that the appeal of AXTM would be reduced when compared to very serious users.

    What about my idea of including both methods and giving the user a choice as to which to use as a default, and possibly allowing the default to be changed at the time the hot restore is required/used? Is that a technical no-no?

    Regards


    Baldrick
     
  22. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Basically you just start the restore from Windows - just like you do now. The computer reboots into local Recovery Environment (which is created automatically and stored on your HDD), and does the fast (incremental) restore from there. The restore is as fast as the HOT restore now, and it's fully automatic - you don't need to do anything in Recovery Environment.
    After the restore is done the PC reboots again. Restore is complete at this point.

    Basically the only difference is one additional boot to RE. The rest is remaining the same.

    Isso
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2013
  23. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Hi Baldrick,

    Thank you for your suggestion. Frankly I would prefer to remove the current method altogether, because it's not 100% stable, and its support takes lot of time and effort. It also creates an impression of AX64 as an unstable program.

    IMHO the additional 30-40 sec per restore shouldn't be a big issue. Please read my previous message to Mohamed regarding how the new restore is going to be working.

    However if many of you guys really need hot restore feature, I'll see if we can keep it as an alternative (user-selected) method.

    Isso
     
  24. Kit1cat

    Kit1cat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    Don't see any problems with this method myself. I take it the backup process remains the same?
     
  25. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,540
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    [Hi Isso

    Thanks for your candour on this subject. I completely appreciate where you are coming from in relation to wanting to remove the current method "...because it's not 100% stable, and its support takes lot of time and effort. It also creates an impression of AX64 as an unstable program."

    The average hot restore time that I experience is usually circa 30-40 seconds...but of course that depends on the amount of change that has occurred between current and the point I am restoring too.

    Using the local Recovery Environment approach will effectively double that time, and whilst still a great deal quicker than the cold restore, still somewhat downgrade's AXTM's USP.

    I think that as long as the current method is available as an option (probably NOT the default method) and there is suitable pre-warning when use is selected, users will understand & welcome the choice available...if such a solution is technically feasible.

    Just my thoughts...for what they are worth. Be interesting to see what the guys here think on this.

    Regards, and respect


    Baldrick
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.