Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    They're working on a fix. In the mean time if you really think you need to run Chkdsk, temporarily uninstall AX64, run chkdsk, and reinstall AX64. It's quick and easy. :)
     
  2. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,779
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Hi Isso.

    I may have lost track in all the myriads of posts during this great progression of AX64. Other members please feel free to direct me to the appropriate page. There's so many excellent ones to draw both inspiration and useful instruction from. Especially the most recent explanation above courtesy Isso. Thanks for that one. Second it to include to AX64's manual.

    I vaguely recall a mention or suggestion that touched on or questioned if at some point in the future AX64 team would consider fashioning it's own parallel or substitute VSS driver in the event MS own Volume Copy Driver fails at some point.

    This is not a request just curious if this particular idea is a realistic future feature or not. I'm not even certain if VSS is a issue at all which requires any attention on newer MS platforms given the healthier stability and better dependabilty of such system files. ie: Windows 7 + 8 respectively.

    I realize VSS is only required to fulfill and complete the duplication process and not the reverse, so once AX64 establishes it's series of backups etc. this fantastic program then will fan through any snapshot we select, rapidly apply it, effectively restoring our point-in-time system to carry on with.
    Another marvel of productivity thanks to you and your development team.

    Raxco. FD-ISR initially integrated the idea of an alternate ShadowCopy driver at the time into their own program (RSS) to easier resolve or bypass VSS issues which XP apparently was ofttimes subject to.

    Any thoughts or opinions on this?

    Thanks for everything.

    Regards Easter
     
  3. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,230
    Logs and files sent. Thanks
     
  4. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,230
    Hi Jim, I tried your suggestion but it did not help. Thanks
     
  5. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    Many thanks ! I won't spend more time looking for the solution. I think I will uninstall AX64TM, reboot, launch chkdsk /f, reboot, this time it should work then reinstall AX64TM, reboot, et voilà !
     
  6. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    Thanks !
     
  7. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    Thanks. I cannot use the recovery media on that system because all partitions are encrypted at boot time (McAfee Endpoint System I think), so they appear to be not formatted. But I think I will uninstall temporarily AX64, perform the chkdsk then reinstall it. Since there basically no config, it's easy.
     
  8. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    I double click time machine shortcut
    I click create recovery media
    I click CD
    I click start
    I get a popup saying "All data on drive J: will be erased! Proceed?"(Drive *J: being my CD drive)
    I click 'Yes'
    Then I get pop up "Please insert your Windows installation CD and click OK"
    I insert Windows CD and it reads it and copies files I guess
    Then the CD drive ejects my Windows CD
    Drive stays open but nothing tells me to enter a blank disc or any disc
    I then put in blank disc and it makes the recovery media

    Average user may not know to put a CD in after it ejects the Windows CD

    I hope this helps clarify the steps and what I think should happen is...

    I double click time machine shortcut
    I click create recovery media
    I click CD
    I click start
    I get pop up "Please insert your Windows installation CD and click OK"
    Click 'OK'
    After copying files
    CD should eject
    I get a popup saying "All data on drive J: will be erased! Proceed?"(Drive J: being my CD drive)
    I click 'Yes'
    Then I get pop up "Please insert a blank CD"
    Or something to that effect

    Does that help? Sorry if I didn't clarify exactly before and if this doesn't answer your question maybe I misunderstood and Ill try again. Also I am sending you a PM concerning another matter.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  9. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    USA
    Just FYI, I have W8. When I created the recovery disk, I didn't get any of the questions relating to inserting the Windows installation disk. That must only relate to at least one earlier version of Windows.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2013
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,357
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    MB, that request for the Installation Disk will only occur if AX64 TM can't find the resident WinRE.wim (the Windows RECOVERY ENVIRONMENT) file that it needs to create the RECOVERY MEDIA. I'm not sure where AX64 TM looks to get that file but various types of system installations (OEMs mainly) place it in different places so it can be pretty hard to find for AX64 TM at times.

    A standard Windows build (from an "ofishul" Windows installation disk) usually puts it either in a sub-folder of a HIDDEN folder located in the ROOT system partition called RECOVERY, or somewhere in the System Reserved Partition (that extra l'il partition created when building a fresh blank HDD).
     
  11. dutch_in_seattle

    dutch_in_seattle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I'm anxiously awaiting a new version that supports EFI/GPT. I know it's being worked on. Do you have any indication when it will be released? I realize you won't be able to provide an exact date, but is it a matter of weeks, months?
     
  12. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    I am on Win 8 Pro upgrade. Purchased and downloaded it from Microsofts site. Installed it as a clean install not as an upgrade.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  13. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,884
    me too waiting for the support of GPT and UEFI. isso said the new version will be released in a few weeks. it's actually implemented but they found a few bugs and they are working on it. Once these are fixed it will be out.


     
  14. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,230
    Hi Isso, thanks for your quick response to this issue. All is working as expected. Much appreciated.
     
  15. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    So quick question here, and no, I haven't gotten time to mess with AX64 yet, but what is the difference between using AX64 versus making incremental images in an imaging program?
     
  16. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    The answer is in the title of this thread. AX64 IS an imaging program and a snapshot app.
    Here's the manual to look over: http://feedback.ax64.com/knowledgebase/topics/34606-users-manual :)
     
  17. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    When I first read the op it came off as being some new type of application. Now it just seems like any other imaging program. Not trying to troll or anything here, just want to know what I'm missing. Also, Isso, would you mind if I PM'd you regarding how a program like this is actually coded? I was reading your explanation of incremental backups and it reminded me a lot of linked lists; which I learned about in my data structures class I took last semester. Just wondering if I found an implementation on my own :cool:
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2013
  18. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    737
    You should see the speed of restores. Unlike any of those imaging programs. So making it a real "snapshot" softwares.

    There's also automatic management of snapshots that works so you don't end up with a clutter of incrementals.
     
  19. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,357
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Crusher, using any other imager and a running Windows system, you need to restore the entire baseline as well as every incremental image since the baseline to get to any incremental point in time.

    AX4 Time Machine only needs to restore the difference between where you are at the time you decide to do the restoration and the point you wanna restore to. That process is blindingly FAST compared to a full image from the baseline out to the incremental restore point.

    If your system is not a running Windows system (BOOT broken, virus infected, etc.), AX64 Time Machine acts as any other imager would, restoring the entire system from the baseline out to your restore point using its RECOVERY CD/DVD.
     
  20. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    Then, you tried it on an RBRX protected system. RBRX renames your WinRE.wim to WinRE.dat and AX64 cannot find it, so it asks for a windows dvd.

    Panagiotis
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2013
  21. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,230
    I have posted this before (and elsewhere) but in the interest of making things easy I will post it again. From http://horizondatasys-forum.com/rol...x64-time-machine-detailed-info.html#post42278

     
  22. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    I stuck this on my system today and so far I'm very impressed.

    Having used CTM previously,I'm far happier with the way this is implemented.Storing the "snapshots" onto a separate drive is a much better solution.Although restoring a snapshot takes longer than CTM,it's not annoyingly slow,plus I'd imagine performance will improve as the product matures.

    Keep up the good work,this is definitely a keeper for me.:thumb:
     
  23. Function

    Function Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    Hello all,

    I used RollbackRX in the past but I hated the fact that it changed the Master Boot Record. However I heard this program does not which is great. However RBRX was able to make very small and very fast snapshots of your OS drive to easily recover from.

    I was wondering if AX64TM is able to create snapshots that are small and quick to create as well as quick to recover from?

    Thanks for any information.
     
  24. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Hi Easter,

    Thank you! For VSS replacement - you are right, we had a small discussion earlier in this thread - you can see the posts 562, 570, 571.

    The summary is: there are a bunch of programs that keep their files in open and inconsistent form, that's why the proper way to take a backup is to notify all running programs so they prepare their files for backup. It means that all such programs must be connected to the backup program and listen to its commands. The standard way of doing it is through the VSS. That's why any program that wants its files to be backed up properly connects to VSS and listens for backup events.

    It's easy to develop a VSS clone, but unless all programs support such "VSS alternative" by connecting to it and listening to it, there is not too much point in using it. And obviously none of them will ever do that, that's why I think it's a useless work.

    Moreover, the VSS module in newer Windows versions is pretty stable. Hope this makes sense.


    Isso
     
  25. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Hi MerleOne,

    Sure. The only drawback of this method (compared to the recovery media) is that the next backup will be big in size (i.e. will be basically a full backup).

    Isso
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.