Internet goes down in flames as service providers struggle with IPv4

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Aug 13, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    http://www.itproportal.com/2014/08/...age-ipv4-ipv6-bgp-routers-address-exhaustion/
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,056
    http://arstechnica.com/security/2014/08/internet-routers-hitting-512k-limit-some-become-unreliable/
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
  4. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,094
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    I've been hearing the sentence "IPv4 runs out of space" since at least 2007.
    Mrk
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    That's because Microsoft doesn't run the Internet.
     
  7. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    880
    Location:
    Triassic
    Come on, every knows that Al Gore does.
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It'd help if I knew who Al Gore was.
     
  9. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,094
    Humor is a good thing, but in case ya'll missed it, uh - didn't read the article, it is about routers that caused a problem when they were not updated.

    -- Tom
     
  10. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    Can somebody tell me what is preventing ISPs from switching to IPv6? All routers since 2009 are IPv6 capable. All ISPs have been touting since the last 3 years that they offer IPv6 capability, but for some reason they never enable IPv6 for their customers, e.g my cable modem still connects at IPv4, even though both the modem and ISP are IPv6 capable.
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Consider yourself lucky that you don't!
     
  12. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, it helps to read the article. BT have been pushing their new fibreoptic cable and an updated router for a while now. I upgraded only a few months ago.
     
  13. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Ignorance is bliss. ;)
     
  14. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
  15. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Tell me about it, I was afraid back then, how am I gonna cope IPv6 without IPv6 router, now I have the router finally, but still no IPv4 connection. :D
    I was recently buying a new router and I wanted IPv6 compatible and I have had a hard time finding one, like 1 of 50, not talking about the most expensive ones.
    ISPs usually offer the cheapest ones, all local providers give IPv4 only routers and a speed is about 100 MBps via optic, so it is not like they can not afford it.
     
  16. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    750
    Location:
    UK
    well they cant switch to it single stacked as most websites are ipv4 only, but in terms of preventing dual stack ipv6 I think its laziness and money. In the uk all the isp's seem to not want to be the first to mass deploy ipv6, I have it natively from my isp but only as part of a trial, they haven't mass rolled it out.
     
  17. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    880
    Location:
    Triassic
    My ISP is still not IPV6 ready. An alternate ISP in the area is also not IPV6 ready. As others have mentioned, they have adopted the stance that they will spend the money when it is necessary. Slowdowns and the occasional outage will not be enough to get the upgrades in place. It is the same mentality that some countries took with Y2K warnings. The proactive players, who were the big companies and governments had saved the butts of those who did nothing. The procrastinators went about making changes only as issues arose and that meant there were no flames for the media to fan. Many considered it a 'crying wolf ' event.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.