Instant Recovery and w7 to w10 inplace upgrade.

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Longboard, Nov 30, 2019.

  1. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,217
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    'Lo all

    Have to move to w10.
    Looking for simple solutions and testing base.

    Just wanting to check in re doing a test inplace upgrade from w7 to w10 in an ISR snapshot.
    Any experience?
    Any insights?

    Thx, Longboard
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,560
    Way back I did an FDISR recovery going back to XP from W7. But I no longer actively us FDISR. Reason. Huge use of diskspace and it's way so slow compared to a Macrium restore. My other concern was Raxco added protection for ransomware attacks on other snapshots to the business version, but not the personal version. That was a huge marketing error in my opinion.

    Pete
     
  3. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,217
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    OK
    I have the biz version :)
    I have had stable setup with FDIR/StorageCraft/VMWare/TeraByte for a while: could be a bit clunky. :doubt:
    I should probably check out

    Do you have a suggestion for an imager/recovery optiopn to set up a trial upgrade ??

    Could macrium do that.

    ( I guess I could do a VM ??)

    L'board
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,560
    When I've upgraded my system to Win 10, I always imaged win 7 first. Then I'd image the win 10 system. Can go back in forth but they are all full restores.
     
  5. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,928
    Hi LongBoard,
    I haven't done any upgrade from 7 to 10 with IR installed.
    I suspect that windows will try to move the snapshots in the "windows.old" folder and the installation would take much longer to complete (could be the reason that raxco added the security driver).
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.