Installing Win98 SE

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by rob_robinson3984, Jul 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rob_robinson3984

    rob_robinson3984 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hello again, I want to install win98 on another HD. I currently can dual boot to both Vista Home and XP Pro. I am going to do a backup first so I can get back to this point when I start. Question is when I place the 98 Disk in, its not seen when booting into OSS. What do I need to do to get it to be recognized.

    Thanks Again
     
  2. mangoman

    mangoman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    I will be trying to do this to if I can ever get OSS to see Vista...

    What I plan to do is get a win98 partition set up with DD
    set it active and hide the XP and Vista partitions
    bypass OSS (or deactivate OSS) and reboot to the empty active win98 partition
    insert win98 install cd run setup.exe
    lastly, run OSS to try to detect the new win98 os

    I had problems on an old test desktop using OSS to install a new os. In particular selecting the "op sys" Install from floppy (or CD) then rebooting (there are at least 3 different ways in the menus to reboot) the one I tryed gave errors and trashed the existing os.

    I will be very interested in your progress...

    Mangoman
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Some Win98 cds are not bootable (mine isn't). You need to boot from a floppy disk (or DOS flash drive, etc.) and then run the Setup.exe file from the CD. I recommend the floppy if possible because a flash drive will probably make the hard drive D: instead of C:. If you need a Win98 boot floppy, you can get one here.

    Don't forget that Win98 has to be installed on a primary partition in the first 2GB of the hard drive. Also set Disk #2 (the Win98 disk) as first in the Disks lists of the Win98 Properties in OSS. (You may have to set check the order stays correct for your other OSS entries as well.)
     
  4. rob_robinson3984

    rob_robinson3984 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    OK, I tried all that I know and can't get 98 installed. Created a dos partion, used a boot disk, and i either get no valid cd detected or if i try from DD the 98 disk is not recognized. I need help real bad lol. Thanks

    Rob
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    What are the computer specifications? Motherboard, chipset, cpu, RAM, hard drive, etc.

    Does it even support Win98?

    Most new chipsets don't and require "tweaking" to even get Win98 to install/run.
     
  6. rob_robinson3984

    rob_robinson3984 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Ok update
    I reformated a drive in add to fat32. Had did this previously with no joy. I then rebooted with a win 98 boot disk in the floppy and it did see the cd. I am in the process of trying to install win 98. I had to go back to work but will post back with an update asap.

    Thanks

    Rob
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Rob,

    It's been a while since I've done this, but when I installed Win98 on a new computer (MSI P6N SLI-FI board) as a test, it would error (lock-up or something) at the first reboot during the install.

    If I remember correctly, I had to press F8 to get into Safe Mode (remember, Win98 is not completely installed yet). Then I think I had to run msconfig and select the option to Force Compatiblity Mode for the hard drives. Then when the computer rebooted it finished the installation.

    I'm just mentioning this in case you run into it. Depending on your specific hardware, Win98 may not have a problem with it.
     
  8. rob_robinson3984

    rob_robinson3984 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    OK update #2 lol:D I did get 98 to install but had the worse time trying to find drivers to get my equipment to run with it. Never could find a good graphics driver for my AGP card the ones on the site for the Fataity card wouldnt work(legacy drivers) and could never get the sound card to work. I am going to keep trying but in the interim I am going to try and run 98 as a virtual machine out of XP. Will post back if I finally get good resulots.
    Thanks for all your help and support. If any one does have success I will be happy to hear what they did.

    Rob
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.