Installing SUSE Linux - full tutorial

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Mrkvonic, Jul 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    I kind of hit a couple of 'stumbling blocks' and need some help from you Linux users....

    1. While SimplyMepis 6 (latest build) sounds like just what the doctor ordered (for me), I can't seem to find the downloadable iso.

    2. Since I can't use a dual boot configuration, I could use some guidance as to installing/running any Linux distro as a virtual machine under VMware.

    Thanks for any help... pv
     
  2. dog

    dog Guest

    Direct DL - http://mirror.cs.vt.edu/pub/MEPIS/SimplyMEPIS_6.0_i386.iso
    Mirror List - http://www.mepis.org/node/1462
    MD5 Checksum - http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/mepis/released/SimplyMEPIS_6.0_i386.md5sum

    If you have a floppy drive, install the bootloader to fd0 - it won't touch your MBR --- Then simply Insert the floppy on boot to load Mepis.
     
  3. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Hey dog, thanks for the links (I sure couldn't find them)! As far as my having a floppy drive, exactly what is that? ...just kidding. :D
     
  4. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i just installed SUSE 10.1 with gnome. here's some stuff i've done.

    Yast, the package manager, is really, really slow, so i installed Smart instead. here's the guide i used to set it up. Smart is the package manager that might one day be 'the' Linux package manager, so i've heard, so far i think it's brilliant. when it was installed i did an update.
    http://dev-loki.blogspot.com/2006/05/how-to-install-and-use-smart-on-suse.html

    i did add some repositories to Yast though, i followed this guide for that.
    http://www.thejemreport.com/mambo/content/view/254/42/

    there's lots more on the page above too. i used it to install my nvidia drivers, although there's a small mistake - you don't need to make the Nvidia driver executable, this bit -
    chmod +x ./NVIDIA

    to get my media working i used the Ubuntu Wiki Restricted Formats guide, some of the packages have slightly different names to SUSE, but it got all my media working, the names are close enough. (here's the SUSE Restricted Formats guide too)
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/RestrictedFormats
    http://en.opensuse.org/Restricted_Formats

    i installed alot of pakages to get SUSE working, but these are the main ones.
    gcc
    make
    kernel-source
    kernel-syms
    kdeadmin3
    compat-expat1
    expat
    checkinstall
    python-devel

    i wish i'd paid more attention to all the stuff i've installed but i can't remember the rest.

    all the help i've had i got from irc - irc.freenode.net #suse

    BTW, i used the DVD to do the install, i've about three of them from differnet Linux magazines.
     
  5. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    How supported is SMART? From the page, it looks like a great innovation. Does it have a pretty GUI to make everything easier?
     
  6. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    smart has alot of respositories (lots of software) and has a GUI too, or you can just use the shell (in a root shell type smart install program_name

    it's very, very fast. it launches and is ready to start in about 0.5 secs. everything thereon in is fast - searches, downloading and everything else happens instantly.

    here's a picture of the GUI, it's very simple and easy to use - search for what you want, browse the results, then if you want something select it and click the install button.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    Very nice. Thanks for the heads up!

    How updates are the repositories?
     
  8. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i don't know what you mean lol. i just had a look at the repo urls and noticed there are a lot of KDE apps and not gnome. i'll have a look for some gnome repos.

    edit gnome apps are there too, in the packman and suser-guru repos
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2006
  9. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    gah. spell check has stopped functioning lately.

    "How up to date are the repositories?" was what I meant.
     
  10. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    they seem to be very up-to-date. since i started using it (1/2 days) it has already updated 3 programmes to the latest versions. :cool:
     
  11. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i'm just installing these scripts now. they only work if you use Nautilus (file manager in Gnome), but it doesn't matter which distro you use.

    this first one lets you right-click a file and de/encrypt it. it's very secure
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=108513

    this one lets you right-click and virus scan a file
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=104001

    and i got the secure-file-delete from this page too
    http://rob.pectol.com/myscripts/

    even though they are scripts when you launch them they do have GUIs
     
  12. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    Now if only someone could get that to work in KDE. Not that I have anything against Gnome, but I truly like the KDE style. Gnome is too scattered for my tastes. But those look like some great scripts in case I ever do switch to Gnome one day.

    Thanks for the info about SMART. One last question about it [I hope.], does it include support for updating drivers and all that good stuff? I'm kind of disappointed Yast dropped Nvdia driver updating. Manually updating isn't too bad, but there's always that "ease of use" that is appealing.
     
  13. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    It will work in kde, just install nautilus as your file manager and you are good to go.
    Cheers,

    Alphalutra1
     
  14. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    Well, if that's not something to look into!

    Very nice. Time for some reading later. :D
     
  15. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    there are lots of nautilus scripts, like this one for converting audio to a different format here, or this for checking a files md5 here, or root-nautilus-here, or you can just download all of them (about 50) from here - nautilus-scripts.tar.gz

    there's also something called Nautilus-actions which does the same thing , but instead of right-clicking a file, selecting scripts, then the script you want, it just puts the action right into the right-click option along with a small icon :cool:
    http://www.grumz.net/

    here's a menu with nautilus actions added (the options under send to...)
    http://www.tux-planet.fr/blog/images/screenshots/nautilus-action6.jpeg

    here are all the actions you can use. you can just important the action straight into nautilus-actions
    http://www.grumz.net/?q=configlist

    and, no Smart doesn't include support for updating drivers AFAIK, i'm using the Ubuntu livecd atm (i wanted to check the fonts compared to SUSE - i have to fix the fonts in SUSE i think lol) i'll have a look when i boot into SUSE next. i installed the nvidia drivers so can help, let me know when you want to do it and i'll explain how i did it.
     
  16. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i improved the screen resolution by changing afew things. you can check pixels-per-inch with this command -
    xdpyinfo | grep resolution
    the output should be this
    resolution: 96x96 dots per inch
    mine wasn't so i did this to change it -

    Configure X to run at 96 DPI:
    sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.bak <--- this makes a backup
    sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    added these lines to the end of the driver section in /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Option "UseEdidDpi" "FALSE"
    Option "DPI" "96 x 96"

    so this is how it looks like now -

    http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/6775/screenshotxorgconfbu7.png

    save and exit. then restartx

    then to make my fonts look better i added this file, attached, to my home directory.
    .fonts.conf
    NOTE i had to save it as fonts.conf (without the first dot) rename it to .fonts.conf and put it in your home directory. if you save the file to your desktop as .fonts.conf it will disappear because the . makes files hidden
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2006
  17. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
  18. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i'm doing a SUSE install now :cool:

    i added a GURU repo too, i picked one from the YaST2 Installation Sources from this page
    http://linux01.gwdg.de/~pbleser/

    also i installed all the build packages from the build section in YaST, i'll find out the proper name later. i'm adding the guru repo atm :cool:
     
  19. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    this is how i got my nvidia card working -

    added the Novell repo -

    open yast>installation source. then added this -

    Protocol: FTP
    Server Name: : download.nvidia.com
    Directory on Server: novell

    then still using yast installed -

    x11-video-nvidia
    nvidia-gfx-kmp-"kernel-flavor"

    NOTE: you can find your "kernel-flavor" by running uname -r (mine is smp) i think these are the options -
    default/smp/bigsmp

    i also added the kernel sources, i'm about %80 sure that's needed too!

    then i got my nvidia driver from nvidia, you can check if you have the correct driver by clicking on the option which shows supported cards.

    then i did ctrl-alt-F1 to get out of GUI mode, then chaged to 'init 3', if you get an error saying x is running you have to run this
    su
    rm -rf /tmp/.X0-lock

    then cd to where the driver is and run it like this
    sh driver_name.

    that's it. my computer is totally slient now where i don't need the graphics card :cool:
     
  20. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,564
  21. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    hi, i don't think that will work with 10.1. i had the drivers already because i have my home directory on another disk so i just did as you described from memory. but when i got an error i remembered i'd added the extra things which i mentioned in my post.

    i asked on IRC too. these are the instructions for 10.1
    http://www.suse.de/~sndirsch/nvidia-installer-HOWTO.html#3

    actually, i think the instructions at the top of the page are the reason i installed the kernel-sources out of order, i saw them copied to a blog before i asked on IRC
     
  22. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
  23. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    I found that installing from YAST was enough to get 3d support. Did not have to change to init3 or anything. May not be the latest and greatest drivers, but for those new at Linux, it should prove less frightening than remembering a bunch of commands and filenames.
     
  24. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    you really should give the other method a go because it's just a generic driver in Yast, not nvidia.

    there are some instructions here (from - Installing the NVidia Kernel Module - to Install xgl and compiz)
    http://www.novell.com/coolsolutions/feature/17174.html

    i wish i'd made more notes about what i've done. here are some -

    make root apps use your theme -
    sudo ln -s /home/USERNAME/.themes /root/.themes

    you can make root apps use your icons too, but i don't do that because i like root to look different so i don't forget i'm using it. but, here's how to do it -
    sudo ln -s /home/USERNAME/.icons /root/.icons

    so, this is how nautilus looks before it uses my theme -

    http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/3118/screenshotrootfilebrowser1us6.th.png

    this is it using my theme -

    http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/2636/screenshotrootfilebrowseroo5.th.png

    and this is how natuilus looks normally in user mode, if it used my icons it would still look different -

    http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/4371/screenshotfilebrowserqm0.th.png
     
  25. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,564
    Hello,
    XGL is still rather experimental. I would advise against using it ... yet.
    Mrk
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.