Installing RA

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by nonoise, Jun 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nonoise

    nonoise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    322
    Hey there, newbie to RA here.

    I read the tutorial Blackspear wrote, but i'm still confused, the new versions are quite different.

    My situtation - i have five PCs with WinXP and i'd like to establish a centralised NOD32 protection. No domain, so i disabled Simple File Sharing.

    I installed ESET NOD32 Remote Administrator Server v2.0.107 on the PC thats online 24/7.

    Now, do i install ESET NOD32 Remote Administrator Console v2.0.107 on the same PC? I did so and now i can connect to the Server. But where do i create a Mirror option?
    Is Tools - Server Options - Updates the right way?
    On which PC do i have to open ports? On the one that has Server on it? Or the ones i have my Console on?
    I sent a setup file to one client (for test) with success, but where do i configure the .xml file and whats the easiest way to deploy it to clients?

    I've read the official ESET RA tutorial, but i can't find what i'm looking for :\.

    Thanks for your time and help.
     
  2. Bakker

    Bakker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Posts:
    90
    Yes that works well enough.

    Yes, check the boxes "create update mirror" and "provide updates via internal http server

    Ports need to be opened on both ends. but unless you are using some rulebased firewall system that blocks ports, you shouldn't need to. Most firewalls (including the windows one) will prompt you for access.

    What do you mean by this? did you create a package on the remote install tab and used the push installation feature to install it on the client?
     
  3. nonoise

    nonoise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    322
    Thanks Bakker!

    Do i have to press Update now each time i want to update the Mirror - where is this folder stored anyway?

    I use a standard Linksys router, no fancy stuff. So no ports need to be opened?

    Yes, i chose Remote Install - Packages - and i added a .msi file i downloaded from web.
    I then used 'Push Installation' and installed the packer with that file to the client. How do i update his configuration?
    Where do i edit the configuration file? In Console - Tools - ESET Configuration Editor? I edit and save the .xml file but what do i do with it now?

    Thanks!
     
  4. Bakker

    Bakker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Posts:
    90
    If you look closely at the tab you'll see the part that sais "Update Interval XX minutes". That is how often the server updates from ESET's update servers.

    The folder is stored where you pointed it during the installation, By default it's either under C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET or C:\Program Files\ESET (or wherever you installed the remote administration server). If you can't find it you can look under the Server Options, Other tab, Edit Advanced Settings button.
    ESET Remote Administration\ERA Server\Setup\Mirror\Mirror Folder

    Should work straight away. If the client is already visible in the Clients tab and you were able to push an installtion, they are all open.[/quote]


    Go back to the package management interface thinger and select your package. Then below where it sais "Edit/Select Configuration Associated with this package" click on edit (or select to select an existing XML you've already created).

    When you're all done click close and it'll save the package with the configuration intergrated to the server. From then on all installation pushes will use that configuration on the client.

    To update the configuration of a client right click on it on the clients tab, and go to New Task -Configuration task, then either create or select a configuration.


    I suggest you go to the download page of nod32.com and download the manual for remote administration console/server:
    http://www.eset.com/download/business.php
     
  5. nonoise

    nonoise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    322
    Bakker i did it! I managed to do it somehow, its quite easy once you get a grip :cool: . Thanks again, you're the man :thumb:!
     
  6. nonoise

    nonoise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    322
    One more question - is installing ESET NOD32 for MS Exchange Server on our Exchange server enough? Do i need to install anything else on that compter or is it protected enough with NOD32 for MS Exchange?
    Also, can i run RAS, RAC and NOD32 for MS Exchange Server on the same computer?

    Thanks
     
  7. Bakker

    Bakker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Posts:
    90
    I haven't had the time to install the exchange version yet, but if you check it's manual you could conclude that it's just a glorified 2.x version with an Xmon (exchange) module.

    But i can't be sure.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.