Installing in Safe Mode

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jjc225, Jan 12, 2015.

  1. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    228
    Does anyone have a list of av software that can fully be installed in safe mode? I had a recent attack on one of my computers and discovered that most do not do this. Anyway, with a combination of Dr. Web Cureit, Emsisoft Emergency Kit, Malwarebytes, and finallly the real hero, Hitman Pro, I was able to defeat a very nasty attack. But the whole time the av was disabled. Even Malwarebyte's chameleon technology was defeated.
     
  2. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    857
    Location:
    UK
    There is a registry hack that allows you to install stuff in safe mode.

    Just give it a google as i dont know it off hand
     
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,326
    Location:
    USA
    I don't know of a list, but in addition to Hitman Pro and MBAM you can run Kaspersky TDSSkiller in SAFE mode. TDSSkiller doesn't need to install.
     
  4. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,326
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, the issue is whether or not an app needs the Windows installer to install in SAFE mode. I'll have to experiment with enabling the installer service.
     
Loading...