Installing in Safe Mode

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jjc225, Jan 12, 2015.

  1. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    224
    Does anyone have a list of av software that can fully be installed in safe mode? I had a recent attack on one of my computers and discovered that most do not do this. Anyway, with a combination of Dr. Web Cureit, Emsisoft Emergency Kit, Malwarebytes, and finallly the real hero, Hitman Pro, I was able to defeat a very nasty attack. But the whole time the av was disabled. Even Malwarebyte's chameleon technology was defeated.
     
  2. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    There is a registry hack that allows you to install stuff in safe mode.

    Just give it a google as i dont know it off hand
     
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    I don't know of a list, but in addition to Hitman Pro and MBAM you can run Kaspersky TDSSkiller in SAFE mode. TDSSkiller doesn't need to install.
     
  4. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, the issue is whether or not an app needs the Windows installer to install in SAFE mode. I'll have to experiment with enabling the installer service.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. waters
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    665