Installed Spyware blaster - now I get notices every minute or so

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by BAHappyFace, Apr 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BAHappyFace

    BAHappyFace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    My browser has been hijacked! I downloaded the Spyware Blaster software and now I get a popup saying that my browser has been changed about every 60-seconds... it's killing me. I'm only marginally computer literate. Can someone tell me what to do next? I obviously need to remove the spyware or at least change the settings so I don't get the pop-up but I don't know how.

    Thanks!
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    Do you mean SpywareGuard? SpywareBlaster doesn't alert about hijacks, that's part of SpywareGuard's browser hijack protection.

    Can you tell us what the alert states the two different pages are (i.e. page being changed from what, to what)? Sometimes it's a configuration issue not a real hijack.

    However, the best way to determine if your system has spyware already embedded on it is to follow the instructions in this thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=15913
     
  3. BAHappyFace

    BAHappyFace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Sorry about that... yes, I did mean SpywareGuard. Notice reads:

    An attempt to change Internet Explorer settings has been detected
    Warning: Your IE homepage has been changed!

    Your Internet Explorer current user homepage has been changed from

    http://www.yahoo.com
    to
    c:\searchpage.html

    Thank you
     
  4. BAHappyFace

    BAHappyFace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Posted my log in the other forum - thx
     
  5. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    Very good. You have an answer over there, so follow up in that thread until they say your system is clean and then we'll look at SpywareGuard again if the problem continues.

    FYI - Link to related thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=28978
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.