Installed a TDS 5 min ago, demo already expired !!

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Bryan, Sep 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bryan

    Bryan Guest

    I've just installed TDS on my machine, made sure to disable virus detector, unplug from ADSL, reboot machine after install.....as soon as I run the program for the first time, I get a "Thankyou for evaluating TDS-3!" popup(x2) and am told that the evaluation is expired......I haven't even had the program for 5 minutes !!

    I'm running WinXP with absolutely ALL updates, AthlonXP2000+, 768mb ram, plenty of disk space left.

    I've reinstalled several times, updated to latest radius file, checked this forum (didn't see my answer :oops:).....not sure what else to do.

    Any suggestions on where to start ?
     
  2. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    yo wazzzzzzzzz up it dah blaze lol

    Will there could be a number of reasons why this is happening i only know of two but the programmers I'm perty sure know of more

    main two reasons are these why you would be having this problem.

    tds detected very old tds registry keys from way way back and wont let you install the newest demo.


    or you just bought this pc used which means who ever you bought it from had tds befor on that pc and you never even knew about it.

    tds hides keys in your registry thats know its able to detect previous instillations

    every software maker practices this its so People don't uninstall and try to clean out the registry keys and then reinstall for further use of the software.

    its to prevent cheating its nothing new.

    personally i know how to get clean installs of tds but its not easy and id get yeah at for posting it lol.

    you know Bryan if i were you id just save up the money and buy it.

    i know its pricey and kinda expensive it took me months to come up with the i think close to 60 bucks to buy it.

    but you know man you cant go wrong with this software it really is the best trojan detector.

    i figure if it good enough for cia lol it good enough for my pc protection lol.

    seriously id bite the bullet and just buy it.

    if you ever going to pay for anything id pay for this its will worth it so is boclean these two seem to go hand in hand
     
  3. Bryan

    Bryan Guest

    I know I can't really prove it to you, but, I've never had this software on my machine - didn't know about it up until today (found it in my Google search for a Trojan checker). I installed everything on this computer since new, no one else has ever owned it either.

    In all honesty, I'm not about to dish out the money to buy any bit of this software when I can't even get the demo to work on my machine and only have the statement of 'bite the bullet and just buy' going for it.

    If it works and I can see results, I'd end up buying it - considering all the crap thats going around the internet/email these days. I have no intentions of buying it before hand, sorry.
     
  4. Bryan

    Bryan Guest

    Funny, just after my last post (stating that I didn't have TDS), I found that some computer was connected to my system at port 1126. I really hope that my logged IP on this wasn't used ?

    Offending IP - 63.210.47.32
    Host - unknown.Level3.net
    Port - 1126

    I don't normally have this happen, coincidence ? Can anyone tell me about port 1126 ?
     
  5. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi Bryan,

    Please register (so you have acces to the "profile seciton"), go to Gavin's profile, pick up his email address and drop him an email. I'm pretty sure all this can be solved soon ;)

    regards.

    paul
     
  6. Bryan

    Bryan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks Paul, I registered and PM'd Gavin (his email was hidden). Just waiting for a reply.
     
  7. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Bryan,

    I'll IMed you Gavin's email address just in case; check your inbox over here ;)

    regards.

    paul
     
  8. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    remember to read the two easy steps to use it when you get it lol

    most people get overwhelm when they see the toys and it realy only takes two clicks to use it.

    still its silly you know your just going to end up buying it lol why you ask cause its the best thats all there is to it.

    its fact like the air you breath you cant see it but its there and you ned it lol
     
  9. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Blaze,

    Nice to see you being this happy with TDS. Since we are trying to solve a problem here, please do not interfere, will you?

    Thanks in advance.

    regards.

    paul
     
  10. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :D will good luck
     
  11. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    The frustration of searching for other postings about this subject and not finding it .............. XP it is ehmmmm still don't see it. Really needed DCS team answer it seems.
    I emailed the DCS support too for you.

    If you want to know what is all happening on your system: connections to and from your system, applications and ports used, datapackets and spying on them, whois, countries, blocking sending/receiving, throttling, and log all that you might really like Port Explorer. Hope that evaluation gives you some better experience at the moment.
    Grab an evaluation version at www.diamondcs.com.au/portexplorer and you can see immadiately who is on that port 1126!
     
  12. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Hmm OK ignore my PM about that.. the connection could have been something in XP to Microsoft, maybe even the AutoUpdate. You might want to get XP AntiSpy.. dont want to send anyone to the FAKE site which had a dialer on it :/

    http://www.xp-antispy.org/

    ONLY ever use this site, not the .DE fake site

    Of course Port Explorer would be a good idea, you can see whether it is a SYSTEM process or some other which is making / accepting that connection
     
  13. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    If you stick around, you should find that the guys here are some of the nicest anywhere, especially the mods - and VERY much on the straight and narrow. Paul wouldn't have it any other way :) the success of the site as a resource is a testament to that (all of which is volunteered, including some hefty web hosting fees)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.