installation of Spyware

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by kickin-s, Sep 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kickin-s

    kickin-s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    7
    I downloaded spyware...no problem.
    When I try to install I get screen saying--- "Cannot find AcroRd32.exe Program neede to run Lauren1". Being geek challenged, I have no clue what that is. Please help.
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    Hi kickin-s,

    Which Javacool program did you download, SpywareBlaster or SpywareGuard?

    At what point do you get this message? Is it the first thing you see when running the install or do you see some other install screens and then the message comes up later?

    Best Wishes,
    LowWaterMark
     
  3. kickin-s

    kickin-s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    7
    I dowloaded Spyware Guard and Hijack This. I get the AcroRd32 message as soon as I try to run either.
    Kickin-S
     
  4. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    Well, that is a new problem we haven't seen before...

    Just to be sure I understand correctly, you're saying that when you run the installation of SpywareGuard, you get that error immediately. Not that you installed it already, and are now trying to run it the first time? That makes a difference.

    As for HijackThis, it doesn't have an installation program. It downloads inside a ZIP file. Are you able to open the "hijackthis.zip" to get to the program inside (it's called hijackthis.exe)? Does the error happen when you first click on hijackthis.zip or when you run the hijackthis.exe?

    If you can answer the above questions, that will help us to better understand this.

    Just a couple thoughts for others trying to figure out this issue... The ideas I've got are: 1. the "installer" for SpywareGuard is triggering / finding a previous bad or incomplete installation for Adobe Acrobat Reader. Perhaps it's trying to complete that install and the main program is missing. 2. There may be files from a previous install in the Windows Temp folder and the install process is finding those. 3. A file association is bad... either acrord32.exe is associated somehow with zip (or exe) files? Not sure how that would work.

    Some possible ideas: 1. Try to actually run the Acrobat Reader itself (or simply try to open any .PDF file to see if that produces an error). 2. See if there is an Add/Remove Programs entry for Acrobat Reader and try deinstalling it. 3. Look in the Temp folder for files and clean it out.

    Other thoughts, anyone?
     
  5. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I did some searching around and lots of people have posted on the net about it; but it's always from trying to open a certain pdf file.

    LWM looks to have the best ideas here - Have you had some kind of trouble with abode acrobat reader lately... maybe like it was deleted without being uninstalled or something o_O

    if you aren't sure try looking for the file with "search" in your start menu.
     
  6. kickin-s

    kickin-s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    7
    I ran find file from start and found 5 acrord32 files. Deleted 4 and tried install again. Black screen (dos?)flashed and disappeared. Can't find any icon for spyware gaurd. How do I know installation was done?
     
  7. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    hm well I'm not sure the deleting was the best idea if Adobe Acrobat reader was still installed on your system...

    Anyway I would check in mycomputer/control panel/add-remove programs to see - my spywareblaster shows up there and I would assume spywareguard (if the install was good) would as well.

    You could also prolly use "find programs or files" to look for it if you don't remember what directory you tried to install it to. I am unfamiliar with what the default directory on java's stuff is because I put all security/privacy stuff to a different drive in a "security" folder.
     
  8. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    Why did you delete those? Which ones did you delete, and which one did you decide to keep and why? Is Adobe Acrobat Reader actually installed 5-times on your system? Is Acrobat listed in your Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs? Is SpywareGuard there now?

    You never answered the questions I asked above. What exactly is the situation with HijackThis - it might help explain the overall problem you are seeing.
     
  9. kickin-s

    kickin-s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    7
    I uninstalled and reinstalled adobe acrobat. When I click on Spywareguard and HiJack This a small black window flashes on the screen and that is all. spywareguard or hijack this do not show up in control panel install/remove.
     
  10. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    Well, HijackThis won't because it doesn't install. Look at my post above. HijackThis downloads as a ZIP file. You open it to reveal the actual HijackThis program inside.

    Let's look for a moment at HijackThis - perhaps this will help us figure out what's wrong on your system. What is the name of the HijackThis file you have? Is it a ".zip" or a ".exe"? What happens when you try to open the ZIP file? What happens when you run the .EXE file?
     
  11. kickin-s

    kickin-s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    7
    hijackthis is .zip
    spywareguard is setup lauren1

    As I said before, when I click on either one, a small black screen appears for a second and then nothing.
     
  12. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Do you have winzip installed, or a sortalike program? If not, download a (trial) version, and uncompress the zip file. Proceed from there.

    regards,

    paul
     
  13. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    Hi kickin-s,

    Yes, you'll need a ZIP program to open that file as Paul mentioned.

    Also, what does this mean?

    >> "spywareguard is setup lauren1"

    setup lauren1?? I don't understand? Do you mean that's the file name?

    Since, it appears the new download of SpywareGuard is also a ZIP file now, does your SpywareGuard file end with ".ZIP", too? If this is the case, clearly this is the same problem as HijackThis, and you'll need to get Winzip to open either of these.
     
  14. kickin-s

    kickin-s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    7
    'spywareguard setup lauren1' is what it says under icon in my documents, where I downloaded to.
     
  15. kickin-s

    kickin-s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    7
    When I right click on icon, select properties.....spywareguard is listed as lauren1 type....so is hijackthis
     
  16. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    Of course, there is no valid file type called lauren1, so something is clearly wrong with file associations on your system. But, my guess is that you have a ZIP version of SpywareGuard since it is acting the exact same way that the HijackThis.zip file...

    So, as Paul suggested above, you will need a tool to unzip these two files before you can run them. Download the Evaluation Version of Winzip from here:

    http://www.winzip.com

    You'll need to install that, which will give you the ability to unzip the others.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.