Install with firewall off

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by michael83815, Oct 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    How do I install Eset with with the firewall turned off or in learning mode? I do installs over the net and need port 5900 open. I use to be able to do this..
     
  2. cozumel

    cozumel Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    London, UK
    Don't think you can permanently disable firewall.

    Activate learning mode by:

    Setup > Personal firewall > Advanced Personal firewall setup > Filtering Mode

    Then from the drop-down menu choose 'Learning Mode' and click 'OK'
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Firewall mode can be selected during installation in advanced mode. Also it's possible to disable it completely or limiting it to scanning of applicatin protocols at a later time by switching fw integration to "Personal firewall is completely disabled" or "Only scan application protocols".
     
  4. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    I was using the live installer... I found the full download and problem solved...
     
  5. bluejeanmean

    bluejeanmean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Canada

    Marcos could you give step by step directions for that? I'm on VOIP (voice over Internet Protocol) which is internet run telephone, and the firewall keeps bottlenecking my calls.
     
  6. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    If you are using a VoIP service that runs SIP (or some other standard protocol) you might want to try excluding the protocol/ports and server endpoints from being scanned. If you are using a technology like Skype that essentially makes random connections or making direct connections to random endpoints this probably won't work.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky


     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.