Install of TI2009 on Windows 7 x64 "interrupted"

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by holmes4, Feb 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. holmes4

    holmes4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    I am trying to install TI2009.9709 on a x64 Windows 7 system. Each time, it gets about 2/3 through, then tells me "The installation was interrupted before Acronis True Image Home could be installed. You need to restart the installer to try again."

    I understand that Windows 7 is not a supported OS, but to date, everything else I had run under Vista works here. I have tried the compatibility settings but without success.

    I also saw, in another thread, a suggestion of emptying the temp folder. Doesn't help.

    I'd really like to get this going. Thanks for any assistance provided.
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    There was a recent topic dealing with successfully installing TI2009 on x64Win7. It was not more than a week or two ago.
     
  3. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    There are two possibilities here.

    1. I think people have reported before TI having problems with XP/Vista 64bit - for some people it works for others it doesn't.

    2. The problem in XP and Vista is normally down to Windows' Temp file dross left behind in the hidden temporary folder that will be in XP under " C:\Documents and Settings\USER_NAME\Local Settings\Temp ". In Vista and W7 it is under " C:\Users\USER_NAME\AppData\Local\Temp" .

    Delete the contents of this folder and try re-installing again. You may need to switch off the UAC or run th einstaller as Admin.

    Colin
     
  4. holmes4

    holmes4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    As I indicated, I cleaned out the temp folder. I have also tried disabling UAC and elevating privilege.

    I enabled msiexec logging and here's the last bit of the log:

    Property(C): VersionHandler = 5.00
    Property(C): UILevel = 5
    Property(C): ACTION = INSTALL
    Property(C): EXECUTEACTION = INSTALL
    Property(C): DETECTMSIMAJORUPGRADABLESDONE = 1
    Property(C): ROOTDRIVE = C:\
    Property(C): CostingComplete = 1
    Property(C): OutOfDiskSpace = 0
    Property(C): OutOfNoRbDiskSpace = 0
    Property(C): PrimaryVolumeSpaceAvailable = 0
    Property(C): PrimaryVolumeSpaceRequired = 0
    Property(C): PrimaryVolumeSpaceRemaining = 0
    Property(C): FolderFormPrev = SetupTypeDlg
    Property(C): MsiSuppCustomActionData = C:\Users\Steve\AppData\Local\Temp\tmp6CA7.tmp
    Property(C): InvalidSerialLanguage = 0
    Property(C): InvalidSerialLength = 0
    Property(C): SetupTypeDlgPrev = UpgradeSerialForm
    Property(C): FeaturesCount = 2
    Property(C): CA_CHECKSERIAL_KEYDATA = [a bunch of numbers that might be sensitive so I omit them here]
    === Logging stopped: 2/8/2009 18:56:06 ===
    MSI (c) (F0:A0) [18:56:06:336]: Product: Acronis*True*Image*Home -- Installation failed.

    The license for TI2009 is an upgrade, so it had me enter the SN for a previous version.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    As far as I know, TI 2009 won't install in the Windows 7 64-bit beta.
     
  6. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    I have also tried a few times and have not been able to get it to install on the *64 version W7. *86 installed ok. Seems some issue with just the *64.
     
  7. holmes4

    holmes4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Curiously, True Image 11 installs and runs just fine - at least it completed a backup for me.

    FWIW, I also tried Norton Ghost 14. It installed without incident, but causes the system to blue-screen within a few minutes after boot.

    I submitted a support request to Acronis four days ago - no response other than the automated acknowledgment.
     
  8. JeeperDon

    JeeperDon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    NY State, US
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    Officially none of the Acronis software supports Windows 7, so we can’t analyze or perform any diagnostic regarding this question/issue.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  10. holmes4

    holmes4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Dmitry,

    I understand that it isn't supported, but clearly you're going to want to support Windows 7 by the time it is released so I don't understand not wanting to disgnose the problem now. As a commercial software developer myself, I and my coworkers have been all over the Windows 7 beta, identifying issues and working on resolutions. We encourage our customers to try it out and let us know of any problems they see.

    Perhaps you really are working on it behind the scenes and plan to release a "2010" version that supports Windows 7, not fixing problems in the 2009 edition. That's your business decision to make. I would think it prudent, in any case, to be interested in reports of problems so that you aren't taken by surprise later.

    In the meantime, I have switched back to the 32-bit version of Windows 7 as the x64 version was just too unstable for me in general. TI2009 works fine here. But 64-bit Windows is becoming more and more popular, so issues there need to be resolved.
     
  11. JeeperDon

    JeeperDon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    NY State, US
    I don't think Dmitry meant it as stated. TI2009 not installing on W7x64 is not a tough bug to repro, happens every time. They just don't need your help in looking into it. That could be the tip of the iceberg too, such that when it is installed, there may be other problems to fix. Officially, W7 is still a moving target too. Today's quick fix for W7-7000 may bit work on future W7 beta or RC builds. If I was Acronis, I would not put out a new TI2009 build until at least I could verify it installed and worked fine on W7_RC1, and I would still say "we do not support W7 yet".
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.