Install and auto update problems

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Shaggiee, May 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shaggiee

    Shaggiee Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Sorry in advance for the long post but I have a couple of major problems.....

    Trying to install and configure a server based install for our 80 plus users but I am having a few problems. First off I can push the install to the clients but only using the default install package, if I try to make my own package it appears to create it fine and I can choose it in the RA Console but when I go to start the install it fails with the following message: "NOD32 installer could not connect to the server 'NOD32:2224'. WGLE Code 0 "

    I have re-made the package several times checking I have not missed anything obvious and the directory the install files are in has been shared with full read/write access but no luck. As I say the 'Default' install works fine and I can even push my config file down to the client afterwards but this is where my next problem starts, auto update !

    The client refuses to connect to the server for an update, again I have setup a mirror on the server machine and have shared the folder but no joy. The error says it cannot connect to the server, I am using the 'currently logged user' for authentication and we run a Windows 2000 domain.

    I get a feeling I am not doing something really obvious but cannot think what it may be.

    Any help on this would be greatly appreciated as I need to get this installed on our clients as soon as poss as our Sophos licence runs out very soon !
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,755
    Location:
    Texas
    Are you running Sophos realtime as you try to install NOD?
     
  3. Shaggiee

    Shaggiee Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Sophos has been completely removed and a cold boot performed on the PC.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,755
    Location:
    Texas
    There is another thread on this forum today relating to install problems. You might want to gander at that thread too.

    FWIW, I get update errors all day long until NOD pushes out an update. It updates just fine at that point.
     
  5. Shaggiee

    Shaggiee Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    When you say NOD pushes an update do you mean from the Admin Console via scheduled task ?
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,755
    Location:
    Texas
    If you have auto update enabled, you will get errors in the event log until NOD pushes out an update.
    I am speaking as a single computer user. There has been much discussion here on this forum over the "error log" for updates.
    I just ignore the error log because it doesn't seem to affect anything but the log.
    I get the updates as they are released.

    If I start babbling, please stop me! :D
     
  7. Shaggiee

    Shaggiee Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Don't worry about babbling, all info is useful.

    Just to add to my troubles I have now managed to trash my network login while trying to uninstall NOD32. Using the uninstall option from the Start menu it begins to go through the process but then hangs on the "Please wait" message (waited for 10 mins!) so forced power down and the only way to get rid of NOD is to go into safe mode and then run the uninstall routine.

    This is not giving me that 'warm cuddly feeling' that I hoped for, does not bode well for an 80 user plus roll-out !
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,755
    Location:
    Texas
    I think if it were me, I would contact NOD at support@nod32.com and see if someone can help you. In the meantime, someone may come along to help you figure this out.
    I just received and update to my virus definitions by the way. Even with all the error messages in the log.
     
  9. Habiru

    Habiru Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Fredericton
    Hi,

    You may have got the hanging problem because NOD was trying to update and was hanging at the server. IE: The update was not completed. Happened to me just now. Install again, do a manual update then see how it works.

    Take Care,
     
  10. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    Just off the top of me head:

    You've made sure the port specified in the package is not blocked at the router.

    You've enabled the Use HTTP tickbox in the mirror setup.

    Permissions to the shared update area are set correctly.

    Have you tried another "authentication" setting at the server?

    Good luck.
     
  11. Shaggiee

    Shaggiee Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for all your suggestions everyone, I will pick this up on Monday as it is time to go home. I will give an update next week once I have had another chance to try a few ideas. o_O
     
  12. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Contact ESet support. It has improved tremendously recently. Send an email to support@nod32.com.

    Support techs are knowledgeable and fast to reply ( I got a reply within 50 minutes of sending the email and a second reply almost immediately). That was yesterday. Today, I had an email waiting for me from Eset team asking survey type questions as to how fast I was helped, was the help adequate, etc? So, I think Eset is really trying now to have excellent, fast support.
     
  13. anders

    anders Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    410
    First of all, the HTTP-option should be used for the mirror. It's much easier, and no sharing, etc, is required.

    And, when you push the installation, make sure that the "Default package" isn't selected when you select which machines to push it too.

    Also make sure that the clients can connect to the server.. From a client, try connecting via telnet to the IP-address and port of the server. Also try it using the computer name.

    Best regards,
    Anders
     
  14. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    For those having problem with uninstallation freezing, please stop AMON and then run uninstallation. It happens only sporadically, however, we have already figured out the reason and it's already been fixed (the fix will work in v. 2.000.10).
     
  15. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    The response time may vary from a few minutes to max. 3-4 days in case you send one on Friday's evening. During weekend, we're doing our best to respond to the most urgent inquiries at least.
     
  16. Shaggiee

    Shaggiee Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    OK folks just a quick update, I have moved from my test machine and installed the RAC and server onto my W2K server and all is going well. I am able to 'push' the customised install package with my configuration changes to the clients (just a couple so far) and they appear to be updating from the mirror on the server OK, hopefully this will continue.

    It would seem that I may have been using the stand-alone install files instead of the network version, I made sure I got the administrator version for my packages this time. As for the update mirror problem I cannot put my finger on the cause but having moved to this other server all seems well.

    The uninstall problem does go away if you stop AMON first, however this could be a problem if you want to remove NOD32 from a lot of machines (not that I ever would !)

    Once again thanks for all your suggestions and help.
     
  17. bsilva

    bsilva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    238
    Location:
    MA, USA
    Thanks, for the tip. I always had to uninstall in safe mode, because it hangs on uninstalling. Though the hanging happens to me all the time. Something common in my setup. Shaggiee glad to see it works, I have 536 machines in counting that have NOD32 installed.

    One thing I've found. When we pushed out NOD32 and the user didn't restart just logged off and logged back in, the computer hung and then we got an error msg from nod32. Once we reboot everything was fine.

    Brian
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.