Insanor

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by RmInsanor, Jan 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RmInsanor

    RmInsanor Guest

    Insanor.. Am I the only one? Acronis software does not remove it... :(
     
  2. Toby Hed

    Toby Hed Guest

    Yes, I just ran deep scan twice, and both times it puts Insanor in quarantine. Therefore we can assume privacy expert doesnot fully remove this threat. I did a quick google and only found a page confirming this is a backdoor trojan. Anyone knows how to remove it?
     
  3. RmInsanor

    RmInsanor Guest

    I just installed Acronis PES v.9 and our good friend “Insanor” was still lurking around, even after Aconis PES v.9 said it was removed. “Insanor” remains and survives the battle. This means that both Acronis PES v.8 & v.9 looses the scuffle with “Insanor”.. :(
     
  4. Toby Hed

    Toby Hed Guest

    Not to mention that AdAware SE Plus and SpyBot - Search and Destroy, does not even recognize "Insanor" during a scan...

    Is PES 9.0 the only spyware program detecting this threat, or is it just something wrong with definitionfile of PES 9.0?
     
  5. blacksadder

    blacksadder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I also have problems removing Insanor and also Turkojan. See below what I had to say in the Turkojan thread, I think it equally applies to you chaps......

    Its seems strange that so many of us are experiencing the same problem with removal and we all seem to have picked up the same two spyware programs. The one thing we have in common is that we all run Acronis!

    I think these are both false positives due to a fault with Acronis which they need to sort out. This has happened before and Acronis were slow to correct that problem.

    Another reason for my view is that I have run updated versions of Microsofts antispyware and the anti spy program that comes with Zone Alarm and both dont pick up these items, so it probably means that these spyware programs are not actually present.

    so Acronis, WHAT DO YOU SAYo_O?
     
  6. divemaster

    divemaster Guest

    I am having the same issue with privacy expert v9, with todays build. Did not have this problem a week ago. I tell PE to delete and it is still there when I run again. Location is in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\microsoft\windows nt\currentversion\winlogon\ [shell]

    I am guessing this is yet another false positive.

    Microsoft antispyware, Adware SE, spybot and Webroot does not find a problem.
     
  7. divemaster

    divemaster Guest

    BTW I am runing Windows XP Pro SP2 with all the latest patches, including the high priority patch released today.
     
  8. WasanFan

    WasanFan Guest

    I have this as well. It's another false postive - we are getting false positives with PE very regularly. I also run Spysweeper & NIS 2006 - when they pick up spyware they always show multiple traces - I think a single registry key is invariably a false positive which is what I get with PE.
     
  9. RmInsanor

    RmInsanor Guest

    Acronis, I recommend that you address these issues and respond to both incidents, that we users are experiencing. What is up with “Turkojan & Insanor”?
     
  10. pjb024

    pjb024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Same here, I'm sure it's a false positive.
     
  11. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    same here
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Shahin

    Shahin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    do not wory.it is not adware or spyware or something else.
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\microsoft\windows nt\currentversion\winlogon\ [shell]

    is one of the important windows registry key that PE detects it as threat,PE can not delete it bcause windows does not let it.it's the other mistake of Acronis's Products.:ouch:
    be cool:)
    no thread.
    take care
     
  13. Cee

    Cee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you so much for this reassuring info - yesterday I ran latest update of Acronis Privacy Expert, then immediately after downloaded I Windows Service Pack 3 (took 3 hours because I have dial-up)!. Immediately after rebooting my (Windows XP) pc, I ran Acronis again and found to my horror both Insanor and Turkojan - worried stiff since then. I tried to find the files mentioned by you in regedit and nearly deleted or renamed them to try to remove the 2 files... I wish Acronis wouldn't keep doing this re "false positives" to us! How can we now remove these 2 nasties which running Acronis finds every time, even after "removal". Is there going to be another update by Acronis to fix this, does anyone know? Many thanks for reassurance.
     
  14. SuperSwede

    SuperSwede Guest

    With the latest definition update, the Insanor module is updated. Insanor is currently not showing up during a regular deep scan as it was with the previous definitionfiles. Acronis seems to have taken care of this false-possitive alert. Thanks you!
     
  15. WonderWrench

    WonderWrench Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Fixed for me also. Now if they could fix all the other false positives. I still get 4 other false positives. MS spyware beta, ad-aware se and spybot SD find nothing . It would be nice to be able to run the malware shield also. All I get is a hard lock on boot with it installed.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Internet Privacy and Antispyware Software.

    Please accept my apologies for the delay with the response.

    Please be aware that you should download the latest weekly update or full spyware base (not the latest daily update) in order to get rid of these malware.

    If you still experience similar issues please create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post and feel free to submit a request to Acronis Support. Attach the collected information to your request along with the link to this thread. We will certainly investigate the problem and include that malware into our Malware Definitions Base if necessary.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  17. WonderWrench

    WonderWrench Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    The update links are for PE8 not PE9. I do not want to remove false positive file/registry entry's I want the false positives to go away!!!
    I'm starting to think that the spyware/malware tools are useless in PE9.
    What good is PE9 if you can't trust the results?

     
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello WonderWrench,

    Please be aware that these links are applicable for Acronis Privacy Expert Suite 9.0 version too.

    I have forwarded this issue to our Develpment Team and will let you know the results of their investigation as soon as possible. As this can take a few days, I apologize in advance for any delay with the response.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.