Injecting drivers with P2P Adjust OS

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by babac, Nov 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi,
    During this process ,there's a wizzard called ''Adjust the os to the new hardware automatically''.

    Does it mean that if the next windows says to go further ahead, all necessary drivers have been loaded successfully without any action on my parto_O
    Thank you.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi Cudni,
    Your user's guide clearly points out that some prior action is required before injecting the drivers.
    http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/2540/p2pforum.jpg

    However ,in my user's guide ,the dialog box has a different explanation as to how to proceed.It says that everything is automatic.Nowhere does it say that drivers have to be stocked in a folder.
    http://img843.imageshack.us/img843/6017/p2pbabac.jpg

    Overall,I'm rather confused on how to proceed with this software.
    The user's guide is not very explanatory on many of my questions.
    Furthermore, I did not find any step by step on how to proceed .For example, it does not say at what precise step the new HD should be plugged in the new computer.It does not say on which HD the drivers will be injected on a computer with more than one HD.

    For your information,I consider myself as an advanced user in the migration matter as I have already used Acronis Plus Pack quite a few times ,in the past.
    Thank you.
     
  4. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    It does appear that my questions were not so easy to answer.
    Anybody here on his forum who can answer my questionso_O
     
  5. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    It depends which version p2p adjust you have.

    Some will adjust the registry so that all drivers included in the o/s will be available on the new hardware.

    Some add to that the ability to inject any additional drivers you know the new hardware may need.

    Some will suggest additional drivers you might need.

    Usually , just the first is needed to get to the desktop.

    You need to have the drive plugged in.

    Whichever o/s partition you selected in the first window is the one the p2p adjust operation will be performed on.

    p2p-1.jpg


    It clearly asks which os you wish to adjust.

    You may have more than one showing - obviously , highlight the os you want to adjust then click Next.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2010
  6. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi SIW2,

    My version is shown under my signature.
    Is it a version where all needed drivers are detected and installed automatically, as I think?

    I still have a question about the drive plugged in.What happens when I have more than one drive plugged in ? How can I select the one I want the migrated OS to be bootable?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  7. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    If you have more than one o/s showing - select the o/s you want to adjust by clicking on it (to highlight it) .

    Then click Next.

    You will get this window:

    P2P12.jpg


    Select if you want it to do the job automatically, or if you want to add drivers you think you need.

    If you select Automatically, you will get this window ;

    P2P14.jpg

    Click "Yes , apply the changes physically", then click Next.


    If you select to add drivers manually, the next window lets you browse to a folder containing the drivers

    p2p15.jpg

    The next window will tell you which of those it will install - or suggest others you may want to add.

    In this case it is telling us - no additional drivers are needed - so just click Next.

    P2P13.jpg
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2010
  8. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Thanks SIW2 for these usefull screenshots and explanations.
    My next questions have more to do with the rest of the migration process than with the drivers.
    1) I repeat my previous question: How and when is the target HD on which the migrated OS is selected?
    2) What are the next steps to complete the migration process.Is there a backup image to do o_O
    I did not find anything on these matters on the user's guide.
    Thank you.
     
  9. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    If you are moving your o/s to new hardware , you can either

    1) Simply plug your existing HD into the new machine - then use p2p adjust before booting it up on the new machine.

    OR

    2) make an image of your o/s - restore the image onto the HD in a new machine - then use p2p adjust.


    Start P2P Adjust . It will list all the operating systems in view.

    Highlight the operating system you want to adjust . Click Next.

    The one you highlighted is the one p2p will adjust.
     
  10. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi SIW2,
    Thanks again for these usefull explanations.
    I think I now understand the whole process to test it soon.
     
  11. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi,
    Another question.
    Instead of replacing the actual HD, may I just do an image of the injected HD and restore it to the actual HD?
    Thank you.
     
  12. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    Yes, you can create backup of your existing system HD and then restore it to another drive.

    P2P adjust is still required for such kind of migration to new hardware.
     
  13. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi Mech_An,
    Thanks for these explanations.
    I finally tested it and still have a question about this .
    During the process ,I had to select the os to adjust, which is ok.
    However, I was not asked to select the hard drive on which the drivers are to be injected.
    I had plugged in a new hard drive ,externally, but I already have a backup hard drive connected internally.

    How can I be sure the drivers were injected on the right drive?
     
  14. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    I'm not sure if I understand you correctly...

    When you prompted to select OS for adjustment the wizard shows all found OSes from all Hard Drives. Once OS is selected drivers will be added to the appropriate hard drive.

    Please note: you can't add drivers to the archive file only to the restored from archive system.

    The scenario will be as follows:
    1. Restore backup to new HDD (from Windows or from WinPE Recovery CD)
    2. Connect new hard drive with restored system to target PC
    3. Boot from WinPE Recovery CD
    4. Run P2P Adjust OS wizard
    5. Select the only found OS (restored one)
    6. Point the wizard to unpacked drivers for new hardware.
     
  15. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi Mech_An,
    The reason you did not understand me correctly is due to a boot problem caused by my externally connected hard drive containing the OS I had to adjust with P2P adjust, which I could not see before and brought me to ask these questions.What I did then was to plug it in when the boot process on the CD had started.

    I could not boot correctly when it was plugged in when launching te Recovery CD.
    I made a bios boot order correction and finally I could see the hard drive to adjust.
    From then on,along with your step by step explanation, I could achieve the migration successfully.

    I still have a problem that I don't understand and I will open a new post on that.
    I really appreciate your help and I thank you very very much.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.