Information wanted on Try&Decide

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Kapiti, Oct 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kapiti

    Kapiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Paraparaumu NZ
    I vowed that I would never purchase Acronis TI again after version 11 but I’m tempted again purely for the Try&Decide. However, before I waste more money I would like to acsertain if the information shown in the “User Guide” is correct, and if not what is the situation now. For instance I’ve never been a fan of the Secure Zone and don’t want to use it now so can I use spare space on an additional hard drive as the guide states? If I can use spare space on the additional HD does T&D make an additional partition to save the information onto?

    Following is from the user guide downloaded from the Acronis site.

    “Location to store virtual changes – specify where Try&Decide will store information about virtual changes to your system. By default, T&D saves the information to a free space on Disk C. You can also choose as such a place the Acronis Secure Zone or another logical disk or hard drive.”
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    If you are talking about TI2009, then I think the manual is not correct at this particular moment.

    In the release version T&D has been re-assigned to the Secure Zone again. The SZ can be placed on another drive including an external, however if you do this (on an external drive), Acronis do not guanrantee correct operation of the SZ or T&D.

    Colin

    PS. I'm in NZ in November for hols!
     
  3. Kapiti

    Kapiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Paraparaumu NZ
    Thanks for the information - Why aren't I surprised that the manual is not up to date:) Looks like I've just saved myself some money.

    Hope the weather improves for your holiday:cool:
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Actually the other way round - the manual is correct for the beta versions or the intended release, but for some reason they reverted back in the actual release.


    Colin
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Acronis Support told me that future builds are supposed to provide support for using T&D without the SZ (as in the beta). They didn't say why they pulled it from the initial release.
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Could be something they have gotten to work reliably yet -- or it could be an "added feature" they're saving for a new version. The first reason is doubtful, imo, since that doesn't seem to be a a reason generally employed by Acronis for not releasing a feature in ATI. The latter sounds about right to me.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.