infection found and quarantined - is there more I need look for?

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by casey6342, Sep 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. casey6342

    casey6342 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Hi,

    Malwarebytes found this on my system and as you can see I told it to fix, and after the line, it added quarantined and deleted succesfully.

    under registry data items

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\scrfile\shell\open\command\ (Broken.OpenCommand) -> Bad: ("%1" %*) Good: ("%1" /S) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

    Is there anything more I need to do? Does whatever that result is mean there's something else related to it on my pc?

    Thanks so very much,
    Casey

     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    casey6342, according to this thread at the Malwarebytes Security Forums, what you found is a re-setting of a Registry key:
     
  3. casey6342

    casey6342 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Dear JRVejo,

    Thank you for that link.

    It's talking about the line, but moreso about the glitch of the malware bytes error in what it used to do when fixing was used.

    And it says restores it to what is supposed to be (windows wise)

    That was good to read and helpful.

    I'm wondering what it is that changed my registry entry, and if that is a problem or sign or infection which still may be in my pc.

    I use FF and IE7.

    Thanks so much,
    Casey
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    casey6342, if MBAM did not find anything else, and if your PC is acting normal, you're probably OK. I would Update and run Windows Defender for a second opinion.

    With FF, make sure you use the AdBlock Plus and NoScript add-ons, and that you are using FF's version 3.0.1. I only use IE to download MS updates on patch Tuesday, otherwise FF is my browser choice for surfing the Net.
     
  5. casey6342

    casey6342 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Wow, I am so glad you wrote that about what to put on for firefox.

    I'm new to it, and only have one 3 plug ins and one add on.

    I didn't know to put on what you gave.

    Thank you so much!

    I've never used windows defender, so I'll find that and make sure is updated and run that as well.

    I hear you on using FF for all.

    I have the latest version of FF and IE 7.

    I have to use IE7 it for 3 or so instances.

    One, on speeches I listen to in windows media, if I try to listen in firefox, firefox downloads it, where ie7 plays it right away. So, takes ff 40 minutes or so for ff to download a 40 minute speech, so I have to watch those in ie7 which plays them right away.

    Also my email which is not on my pc opens into IE7 and don't think I can do anything about that as is Hotmail which I get into by another microsoft product.

    And as well there are certain secure sites which won't allow FF at all.

    I'm going to put those add ons right now. If you think of anymore I need please let me know; if you have the time and think of it.

    Thank you so much for your help!

    Take care,
    Casey
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  7. casey6342

    casey6342 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Thank you so much!

    I'm not sure if we posted at the same time as I just hit submit and got notification of another post and while mine shows 4:45pm, that must've been when I started writing as I only just moments ago hit submit, and it's 5:15 now.

    So there may be a post of mine, before yours that you didn't see yet.

    Thank you and I'll get reading right away.
    Casey
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  9. casey6342

    casey6342 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Thank you! I turned it on and updated it shortly after you mentioned it.

    Can't believe had that all along and didn't know to use it.

    I appreciate the link as can read on it now!

    Ah, I went to the firefox link you gave below here on Wilders. Was great! Thank you again.

    I saw a program called keyscrambler for ff. Do you know if is something like that for ie7? It's for keyloggers, anti.

    Thanks so much for all your help!
    Casey
     
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    The same people that make it for FF, make it for IE: KeyScrambler Personal
     
  11. casey6342

    casey6342 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Oh wow.. Thank you!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.