Incremental Starts, random days then stops

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by JD Racer Dad, Mar 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JD Racer Dad

    JD Racer Dad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I am running Version 11.
    I have it doing a full back up, then daily incremental.
    It goes a few days then just stops.
    I have tried resetting the daily part.
    I have started it over.
    My backup external has plenty of space.
    The number of days before it stops is random.
    It is a down loaded version and only a month or six weeks old.
    JD
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    It's a known bug in ATI11. Sometimes fiddling with the task can fix things for while, but what's needed is a fix in a new build of ATI11.
     
  3. JD Racer Dad

    JD Racer Dad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Now that just don't seem like fun at all.
    Puters are supposed to do something over and over well.
    JD
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello JD Racer Dad,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please do the following:

    - Download and run schedmgr.exe application;
    - Issue the following commands:

    service stop
    service uninstall

    - Close schedmgr;
    - Replace schedhlp.exe and schedul2.exe files in the C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2 folder with the files from this ZIP archive.
    - Run schedmgr application once again;
    - Issue the following commands:

    service install
    service start

    - Close schedmgr;

    If the problem still persists then please do the following:

    - Open the command prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd);
    - Run the following command in the folder the schedmgr.exe file was saved to:

    schedmgr get report > schedreport.txt

    - Collect schedreport.txt;
    - Run Acronis Schedule Manager program (schedmgr.exe) once more;
    - Issue the following command:

    set logflags support

    - Schedule backup creation once again;
    - Wait until the scheduled backup will fail;
    - Collect the log file schedul2.log that is placed in the \Program Files\Common
    Files\Acronis\Schedule2 folder;

    Please create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  5. JD Racer Dad

    JD Racer Dad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks I changed out the two files this morning.
    It had started again yesterday when I reset the timing from Daily to Daily as it has before.
    It's random, so I will and do keep an eye on it.
    Thanks again.
    JD
     
  6. Joe in PA

    Joe in PA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Those days ended when Windows 98 was released.:(

    As for your problem, unless you're running a gigabit network, and the network is stable, backups can take a long time; although 5 hours is still way too long, even by those standards. As for Acronis, like the previous poster said, it's a bug with the program, and Acronis needs to address it ASAP.
     
  7. JD Racer Dad

    JD Racer Dad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Just checking back to let you know how it went.
    I made the changes above and checked it this morning.
    What I did not do after making the changes, was check the task after making the changes above.
    It deleted the task and I had not thought of that.
    So, I just put it back.

    You might like to add that to the instructions for the next guy.
    JD
     
  8. JD Racer Dad

    JD Racer Dad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Just reporting back.
    My system has not had the problem sense the fix.
    Thanks, JD
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello JD Racer Dad,

    We are glad to hear that your issue has been solved and you can use Acronis True Image successfully.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  10. JD Racer Dad

    JD Racer Dad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    The problem seemed to happen intermittently.
    It's only skipped once since 5/19/2008 until 7/5/2008.
    That's good.
    I have ver 11 with build 8,053.
    The biggest change was changing the HDD writing speed in Options to about half way between Max and Min.
    Thanks.

    Now I can't seem to find the option to get the back up to do a full back up every 10 days.
    The feature seems to be missing.
    JD
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello JD Racer Dad,

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    We recommend you to use the latest build (8101) of Acronis True Image 11 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    The option to create a new full archive after a number of incremental/differentials is only available when creating backups to Acronis Backup Locations. Please see this post for details.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.