incremental backups

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Big_tex, Jun 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Big_tex

    Big_tex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Hello there all,

    Is there a "rule of thumb" of a consensus of how many incremental backups to make before starting over with a fresh one?

    I've got TI setup to run at startup daily on my "data drive".

    I think that I am up to about 50 images.

    Thanks,
    David
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    It all depends on your level of faith. :)

    I wouldn't go past two or three incrementals, but I am one of little faith. I also have enough room on my external hard drive that I can store lots of full images, so incrementals are not required to save space.

    Since incremental often take 2/3 the time of a full backup, I'd rather take a bit of extra time and have a full backup.

    To sum up, it all depends. :)
     
  3. Texcritter

    Texcritter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Teesside, North East England
    Hi Dave
    Unless your hard drive is small I cannot see any need to do incremental back ups. I personally wait until my system changes enough (at least one to two weeks) and then do a full back up and then delete the previous one. What does it matter if you have to re-install a couple of programs. Any real important files or data should have been backed up seperately to cd`s etc.

    Tex
     
  4. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Incrementals are Acronis' weak spot, they need to improve heavily in the next main version.

    For business environments, we've went back to "the others" - for personal use, we stick to Acronis, or a new kid on the block I can't mention here (I think)

    "The Others" enterprise product creates small and lean incrementals and is lightning fast. Even at 1.5x the price of TI enterprise, it's a no brainer. And, as you can see from my posts here, we've tried TI. Hard.
     
  5. Michael23

    Michael23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    26

    So, how do you delete the images if they are inside a 'secure zone'?
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Michael23,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    You don't need to delete images in Acronis Secure Zone because Acronis True Image does it itself. When there is not enough space for new image the oldest full image is deleted with all its incrementals. More detailed algorythm of image deletion is described in User's Guide (Chapter 3, point 3.2.3).

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.