Incremental Backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by billbirchall, Oct 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. billbirchall

billbirchall Registered Member

I have just backed up my C: Drive on 3 dvd's. Do I have to continue to incrementally back up on dvd's or could I use an external hard drive for the increments. If the latter, presumably I could set the increment to back up on a regular schedule and let it work in the background? I am new to backing up so apologies if this is a nonsense question.

Regards

Bill Birchall

2. billbirchall

Have I got the correct forum for this question as I would have thought that it was pretty basic and yet no-one has responded!!

Bill Birchall

3. noonie

noonie Registered Member

It is adviseable to put your images of your complete drive on another hdrive, whether it is internal or external first, then put it on optical media for a further backup. If you want to do incrementals in the background that is fine. I preferr complete images.

4. dscrap

dscrap Registered Member

I'm not sure what the big deal about incremental backups is... If you are a home user and not running a server, then it’s not really a necessity to back up that much.

You just need a clean install of your system with the applications you use and image that. All data files, documents, picture, MP3,s should be backed up manually since they wont change and take up a lot of space in an image file.

Make one master image of the system with a clean install and that’s all you'll ever need. If you do incremental back ups and your system crashes in 3 months and you restore, chances are you will have the same problem down the road. Just restore the master image and you are back to a fresh system with no problems.