Incompatability with Norton Go Back

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Jaxx, Mar 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jaxx

    Jaxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    NYC
    I researched older threads and found this at https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=33513&highlight=roxio goback

    Question: Is Acronis True Image 7.0 compatible with Norton GoBack?
    Answer: Acronis True Image 7.0 is compatible with Norton GoBack, but for specific Acronis functions, you will need to disable Norton GoBack:

    If you start Acronis True Image 7.0 from the bootable rescue media.
    If you want to restore an image archive.
    If you want to create, resize or delete the Acronis Secure Zone.
    Please note that after restoring an image archive, the history of Norton GoBack stored on the target hard drive is automatically lost.

    My Questions are:

    - How do you disable Go back if you are booting from the cd? The hard drive won't boot, so it seems impossible to disable go back
    - My dad was attempting to restore using the boot cd and the choices he had to restore to were "disk1 Roxio Go Back" and "disk 2 C drive" was Greyed out..... again i'm assuming he has to disable go back but how to do this from the boot cd?
     
  2. JLSchweitzer

    JLSchweitzer Guest

    Jaxx:

    Try disabling GoBack before you begin your restore procedure. Disabling GoBack in rather easy. As you are booting up there is a splash screen that says that GoBack is loading. If you press the space bar as the "indicator bar" counts down to start-up, you will be given an option to disable GoBack.

    Please note that if you disable GoBack, all of your history files will be destroyed.

    Hope this helps!
     
  3. Jaxx

    Jaxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    NYC
    As i tried to make clear in my post, if you are booting from the cd because you can't boot, you dont have an option to disable goback from the cd.
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    OK, if you are booting from the CD, GoBack won't be running because it's on the hard drive. However, GoBack apparently modified the hard drive so that you can't select the C drive to restore.

    At this point, I'd use the Windows XP CD to boot and remove the partition from the hard drive and then try the restore. If you don't have a bootable Windows XP CD, a Windows 9x boot floppy will remove the partitions from the drive using the FDISK command.

    As long as there was only one partition on the drive, you should be OK after the restore.

    If you have some valuable data on the drive, you should try making an image of the drive even though it isn't bootable. After you have your system running Windows, you can mount the image as a virtual drive using the TrueImage Explore command and copy the data to your hard drive.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2005
  5. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    My, this sounds complicated. I just installed SystemWorks 2005 for a friend, including Norton AntiVirus 2005. That CD includes Norton GoBack, and I'm trying to decide whether to install it for him or not.

    I'm going to recommend that he buy Acronis True Image and use it to image to an external USB drive. It might be nice to also have GoBack on his PC so he can roll back when he encounters some big problem (which inevitably happens with him) but only if it wouldn't cause issues/conflicts with True Image.

    He's not very technically inclined, so if it's going to be awkward for him to use True Image Recovery Disk with GoBack installed, then perhaps it's better if I don't install GoBack. Comments?
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    I would disable Goback before I make an image. Yes you lose history. I use Raxco's First Defense, so I don't lose history, but I always disable Preboot before imaging. That way my MBR is clean.

    Pete
     
  7. Fuzzy John

    Fuzzy John Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Why would you need GoBack after installing True Image? True Image does a much better job.
     
  8. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Installing software that conflicts with other software will invariably result in unpleasantness unless one fully understands the situations where the conflicts occurr. The best idea is not to do that.

    Since the Windows XP System Restore offers some of the features of GoBack, I'd leave GoBack off and teach him how to make TI images.
     
  9. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    I can suggest you 2 things:

    First, I know you HD wont boot, even this way you can try this:

    To force GoBack to be removed from the master boot record

    1. Turn off the computer.
    2. Start the computer, and then immediately press and hold down the Ctrl+Alt+G keys.
    A message will appear that gives you the option to force the removal of GoBack from the master boot record. Note that some computers require that you hold down the Ctrl+Alt keys while rapidly tapping the G key.
    3. Press F to force the removal of GoBack from the master boot record.
    4. Restart the computer.

    If it doesn't work you can try this:

    The Gb_prog.exe file is used to remove GoBack from the MBR of a computer when the GoBack program has not been fully installed.
    You can start a boot from floppy disk and run this program.
    You can get it here:

    ftp://ftp.symantec.com/public/english_us_canada/linked_files/GoBack/GB_Prog.exe

    I hope it works.

    Best Regards,

    DonKid.
     
  10. sandokan

    sandokan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Simply dl the util offered by Acronis to overwrite the MBR here. There is a floppy and an ISO version. After that your MBR will be fine. On a related note, installing anything by Norton (particularly a behemoth such as NSW) is never a good idea. Their A/V is mediocre at best and almost as tough to uninstall as a virus. The other utils included in NSW are as useless and poorly coded as they can be. They sell their stuff on a prestige that's long gone, and I don't think anyone who values the health of his/her system should install these subpar apps. I am a system analyst and I optimize systems for high performance among other things, and Norton/Symantec products have proven to me once and again to be utter garbage. They can't write software anymore it would appear, and have resorted to buying out other companies in an attempt to revamp its acceptance among IT specialists and power users alike. Ghost, which was the only app worth considering, was never a Norton product, they bought the license from another developer, and the latest Ghost is Powerquest Drive Image with more bloat (only thing Norton programmers are good at: adding bloat) and a different marketing scheme.

    Teach your friend the benefits of a lean system, and to stay away from these so called suites that purport to do it all, and in reality, do very little and quite inefficiently. Also teach him/her the goodness of ATI and how to use it to enable some level of redundancy and peace of mind.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.