Inbound activity to svchost.exe from browsed websites

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Nodrog, Oct 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nodrog

    Nodrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    UK
    Hi All, sorry if this one has been asked before but I couldn't see any mention.

    Running Win7 build 7100 (so there may be a stock answer waiting already) with the latest 4.0.467 build running in Interactive mode. I've been getting this on this and the last couple of releases, hence the upgrade to see if it was fixed. Firewall module is currently 1051.

    When browsing, I seem to get lots of random Inbound traffic alert popups caused by what looks like the website I'm browsing on port 80 trying to connect to my svchost.exe, from their port 80 to my variable high port - it sort of looks as if occasional return packets are not being handled by the state table correctly. It doesn't seem to affect browsing if I accept or deny them.

    Any ideas? cheers
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Enable pre-release updates in the update setup so that the firewall module is updated to build 1053 which supports Windows 7.
     
  3. Nodrog

    Nodrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Marcos, thanks, just tried that.

    Restart etc etc and did some browsing and everything was fine for 15 mins but then it started giving alerts again.

    Closed IE left it for a few minutes for the connections to all drop and tried some more browsing but basically getting lots of these things again.

    All updates have been full uninstalls and manual clean ups, files and registry (been here before with other software) so I doubt a re-install is going to help.

    Any other thoughts other than Windows 7100 is a pre release and not the final version.

    cheers
     
  4. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Im running the 7600 (RTM) Version of windows 7 And don't seem to have these issues with ESS. It maybe a bug with the beta version of windows 7
     
  5. prefect

    prefect Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    I'm using Windows 7 rtm and I have this issue too.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.