Inaccessible boot device error (cloning scsi to IDE)

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by teksafe, Jul 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. teksafe

    teksafe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    We have attempted to no avail, with and without sysprep. If anyone has completed this task successfully or has insight on how to do so please share. We are porting over our desktop data to a notebook. The desktop primary is scsi and the notebook has an ide. We're using TI 7.0613.

    Thanks a bunch.
     
  2. teksafe

    teksafe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Anyone home at Acronis?
     
  3. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    You have to Sysprep in a very special way that few except experts can do successfully.
    You have to force it to rebuild the mass storage drivers.

    Start with this link:
    http://www.winnetmag.com/Windows/Articles/ArticleID/38950/pg/2/2.html
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2004
  4. Richie

    Richie Guest

    We just had the same issue today. We were moving a Citrix Server to a new hardware with Acronis. This is the way that we were able to get it to work.

    1. Load the image to the new hardware
    2. Run Windows 2000 recovery console by booting up on the Windows 2000 CD and delete the Hal.dll located under c:\winnt\system32
    3. Run Windows 2000 installation and re-install in the same directory (not the first repair option)
    4. The system will come up after replacing files.
    5. Re-install the latest service pack.
    6. Back up the registry on the old hardware using Ntbackup.exe and restore if nessessary (we did not have to do this step 6.)
     
  5. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Yes, this is one of the ways that seems to work, but leaves loads of obsolete hardware entries in the registry. Later on, you have mysterious problems and wonder why. Then you learn why Microsoft created a tool like Sysprep and what it does.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2004
  6. teksafe

    teksafe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    The inaccessible boot device error has been resolved through the sysprep inf yet the new error received during mouse and keyboard detection following boot is the "kernel_data_inpage_error". My feeling is that I could have bypassed this pnp detection had a not included the switch when running sysprep. Any insight to the "KERNEL_DATA_INPAGE_ERROR" is welcome! o_O
     
  7. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Ouch, that would usually mean bad hardware in the notebook, but it does not have to be the keyboard or mouse. It's more likely to be ram or the drive.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2004
  8. teksafe

    teksafe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Hardware is perfect. Ran a complete install of windows 2k pro without error piror. Error only begins while attempting to apply image.
     
  9. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Well, a good install of Win2k likely rules out hardware problems except for the drive. Your image would use more of the drive than a fresh install and therefore might cause the paging file to fall into an area of bad sectors. This seems like an unlikely senario but it is possible. The only other cause for your error that I know of would be a driver problem, but by definition, when you sysprep you should be eliminating those. Beyond that, it will take a better expert than me to diagnose it without hands-on.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.