Improving SUPERAntiSpyware

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by SUPERAntiSpy, May 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I was unaware of it. Odd. We can't spot everything, I guess.

    Still, for what I could read

    I'm guessing it is a constant release and it won't allow updates from within the program itself.

    Also, it's command line. It would be nice to have a GUI. I'm OK with it, but for other folks, like some relatives, GUI is always nice.
     
  2. progress

    progress Guest

    I guess you are wrong :D
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    Hey,
    as a superantispyware pro user i would like to see the following:
    incremental updates
    option to be able to update the program from a limited user account. optional background service maybe?
    if you choose to use the optional service maybe system wide database updates rather than per user?
    updates using less resources?
    I had to stop running superantispyware as real time on my parents computer because everytime an update happerned it used 100percent of the cpu.

    I do like the repair options but it would be nice if you could add a scan to see what repairs i may wish to perform?
    it could even be an option for a standard scan. after removing the malware you could then do a scan at the end saying the following where possibility disabled by malware we reccomend you run the following repairs and then put a tick box by each one then press ok to run the ones ticked.

    If you have time i would like to hear your feedback on my sergestions.
     
  4. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
    AFAIK, it's updated daily. You just need to download a new copy. Also, it is GUI based. Looks pretty much like the home screen of the regular product.
     
  5. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    When I checked the page I saw that it would save as a .COM file, so that's why I was wondering if it had a GUI. I wasn't home and couldn't actually download and check it.

    Then, I guess it is OK. Really nice. :thumb:
     
  6. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    The Portable has the latest definitions and is our full GUI, it's NOT command line :)
     
  7. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    The fact that it saves as *.COM has really fooled me. :D

    Could you tell me (I still am not at home and cannot download it to check.) if it is possible to update from within the UI, or if as you mention
    means that we need to download a new version whenever new definitions come out?
     
  8. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    You can update, but the point is to have it self-contained.
     
  9. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    What would be a real benefit for people installing few software is to have the following real time protection options

    - on execute of any program (existing protection for paid)
    - on write (of any file)
    - on execute/open (of downloaded files, this info is in the ADS)
    - on change of sensitve registry value
     
  10. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I understand that. In fact, it makes 100% sense. It is more useful when we need to clean an infected system that won't let us boot or is just too slow, and we can make use of it by creating a bootable CD/DVD and then check and clean the system.

    :thumb:

    Anyway, enough this topic, and lets proceed with suggestions ;) :

    I've already suggested blocking CLIDS, since you have mentioned Spyware Blaster in a previous comment of yours.

    I believe it would prove useful, specially for those not using real-time protection or just using the free version, which has no real-time protection. Simple truth is that most people - I know a lot of them - don't know how to answer when an anti-malware application gives an alert. For them, an infection alert means the system is infected, and that it needs to be deleted. They don't what are FPs or that they even exist. So, having protection by blocking CLIDS would prove useful and would be a quiet protection.


    Thanks
     
  11. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    916
    Something that would improve the program in my opinion would be to stop having it try to open my browser to go to the SAS website after program updates.

    Also, as said earlier it would be nice to have the right click scan option even when the program isn't already running like the way MBAM is able to do.
     
  12. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,051
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    I think an unobtrusive post-update notification (i.e. avast 5) would be a nice addition.

    I see the 4.38.1004 final has been released. Is there a changelog available? Have any suggestions made here been incorporated into the final?

    EDIT: I found the changelog.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2010
  13. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    I've set the Core service to manual and it doesn't seem to have any effect on my SUPERAntispyware Free other than slower startup. When I open SAS, the Core Service didn't start though.
    Is it only necessary for Real-Time / Hi-Jack protection?
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    @Nick-It's nice to see more updates throughout the day the last few weeks that's a plus!

    TH
     
  15. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    First Nick, once more,let me thank you for a dependable,no-nonsense ,program that I have ran for years without a real problem.
    (That is pretty rare.)

    I understand the reason for start with Windows,but I too wish the right click scan,did not require the service be started.

    Great work,stay the course,you are appreciated!!!

    rat
     
  16. ParadigmShift

    ParadigmShift Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    216
    Meat and potatoes and no frills. The ability to competently get rid of infections like TDSS or Max++ without having to use that well known batch file program. ;)
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,578
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    SAS now removes Flash cookies as well! :thumb:
     
  18. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    The core service should not be disabled. It users no CPU and little memory - just leave it there :) It's used by the Free and Professional products.
     
  19. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    SAS will post a dialog box announcing that the definitions have been updated, but it only appears once every 6 months. It's a mystery to me. o_O
     
  20. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    A restart shouldn't be necessary to remove things like tracking cookies.
     
  21. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Haha! Yeah, any malware which does NOT need a restart for that part... e.g. it's already taken off the PC (terminated before removal if needed and possible). The same goes for MBAM in many cases I recall.
     
  22. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Although in the past privately I've thought SAS a little behind in my opinion in some areas of detection, you only got to submit a sample and they're right on it. Apologies if I make a mistake and something is already included although I have Pro knocking around somewhere, I'm looking at the free version.

    Personally if I used SAS I'd like a sample submit right there in the program maybe a tab in the control centre where you can browse or drag/drop a sample or folder.
    What also would help is some 'jump to' features from the scan result window.
    SAS has some fixes, one example for DisableTaskMgr. Maybe the user should be notified in the results window with default to repair if needed.

    Kudos to SAS for x64 and including samples, super fast on latest rouge/fakeav/pragma bundles.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 2, 2010
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.