importing filters to CHX-I with ROUTER firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by korb, Dec 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. korb

korb Guest

hi all, i need some help on importing the chx-i filter to the console.

currently behind a D-LINK DI 604 router with SPI mode.

what i need to know is on CHX-i side:

1) what other filters do i need to IMPORT/CREATE to the console(i already DOWLOAD bind pe filter and 2.6 filters but not yet import to the console) so that the filters wont overlap with the router's SPI mode.

YOUR ANSWER:

2) in the CHX-I console,where do i IMPORT/CREATE the filters because there are 3 places that i can import the filters:

a) Packets Filters( GLOBAL )

B) iNTERFACE :LOCAL AREA CONNECTION(MAC:XXXX)

C) BELOW THE iNTERFACE IP:192.168.0.1

YOUR ANSWER: A , B, OR C ?

this is a off topic question(i'm new to this router staff):

if i were to configure my ip in the FILTERS , which IP should i use:

my WAN IP: (without router) or my current Lan IP :192.168.0.1 (with router).

thanksyou in advance

2. Arup

Arup Guest

Let me ask you if you don't mind, the DLink does a good job for SPI inbound, why would you wish to add another SPI to that already as CHX too is inbound only, why not add a app based outbound like Zone Alarm with inbound SPI turned off, much better solution that way.

3. korb

korb Guest

hi arup,thanks for yr quick respond.

well the reason i thought using CHx-i was because i want to HARDEN or compliment with the D-link router. that why i want to config the filters so that it will not OVERLAP what the router had already cover.

for eg. if the router already had SPI mode than on the CHX-i filters i will not create another rule in CHX-i.

or there is no need to have CHX-i at all ?

i had APPDEFEND so it cover the outbound.

"why not add a app based outbound like Zone Alarm with inbound SPI turned off, much better solution that way."

thanks

4. Arup

Arup Guest