Imon quits often

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by spartak, Jan 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spartak

    spartak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Hello to all. I am new to your forum and find it very interesting.

    I Have some questions and hope they should not be addressed elsewhere!

    I have nod 32 installed and sometimes latelly the imon is not working but requires to strart it manually. Is this normal;

    The second issue is about LOREXP & BACKDOOR.IRCCONT. These two are found from an antispyware programme (scan spyware) in the registry. No other antispyware programme I have tried detects them nor does nod32. I was wondering if they are false positives. o_O

    I have win xp home sp2 (all recent updates installed) and a firewall....
     
  2. Togg

    Togg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Posts:
    177
    I don't want to hijack this thread but I have noticed IMON being turned off. Are there any known conflicts with other security apps?
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    It might help to list the other security apps you are using. :)
     
  4. _Rupert_

    _Rupert_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    IMON conflits with ZoneAlarm Security Suite if I remember rightly.
     
  5. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    So why would someone use a realtime AV such as NOD32 with another realtime AV such as ZA SS. If I were to use NOD32 as my AV, than I would get a pure firewall such as ZA Pro 6 not the Security Suite. If I were to use the Security Suite, well than again dont use NOD32.

    I am using ZA Pro 6 with NOD and have never had any issues.
     
  6. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    if you have PestPatrol that could be the problem also
     
  7. spartak

    spartak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Thank you all for your answers.

    I have zone alarm pro 6 as I have pestpatrol installed. What is your suggestion;

    Is this that causes the problem;
     
  8. Togg

    Togg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Posts:
    177
    For some reason there is a lengthy delay in the 'reply' function here, so I was rather hoping someone could name a few 'suspects' without my going into a lot of detail!

    I'm using the free ZA firewall, The Cleaner and a thing called Startup Monitor. I have AdAware Plus and Spybot (but without AdWatch or TeaTimer enabled) plus SpySweeper, kept as an 'on demand' scanner due to limited resources.

    This is a very old, underpowered 98 computer, but I don't think resources (or the lack thereof) are involved, because NOD has worked without problems for over a year. It's difficult to date the IMON 'problem' but I think it goes back at least six or eight weeks, if not longer.
     
  9. spartak

    spartak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    I want to add that some times Imon stops working in spite of the fact that it does not quit. I mean that it does not check anything!

    I do not know why this is happening. If I make a restart it is fixed. This is not very practical though....
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    Take a look here.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.