Imon quits often

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by spartak, Jan 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spartak

    spartak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Hello to all. I am new to your forum and find it very interesting.

    I Have some questions and hope they should not be addressed elsewhere!

    I have nod 32 installed and sometimes latelly the imon is not working but requires to strart it manually. Is this normal;

    The second issue is about LOREXP & BACKDOOR.IRCCONT. These two are found from an antispyware programme (scan spyware) in the registry. No other antispyware programme I have tried detects them nor does nod32. I was wondering if they are false positives. o_O

    I have win xp home sp2 (all recent updates installed) and a firewall....
     
  2. Togg

    Togg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Posts:
    177
    I don't want to hijack this thread but I have noticed IMON being turned off. Are there any known conflicts with other security apps?
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,329
    Location:
    Texas
    It might help to list the other security apps you are using. :)
     
  4. _Rupert_

    _Rupert_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    IMON conflits with ZoneAlarm Security Suite if I remember rightly.
     
  5. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    So why would someone use a realtime AV such as NOD32 with another realtime AV such as ZA SS. If I were to use NOD32 as my AV, than I would get a pure firewall such as ZA Pro 6 not the Security Suite. If I were to use the Security Suite, well than again dont use NOD32.

    I am using ZA Pro 6 with NOD and have never had any issues.
     
  6. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    if you have PestPatrol that could be the problem also
     
  7. spartak

    spartak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Thank you all for your answers.

    I have zone alarm pro 6 as I have pestpatrol installed. What is your suggestion;

    Is this that causes the problem;
     
  8. Togg

    Togg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Posts:
    177
    For some reason there is a lengthy delay in the 'reply' function here, so I was rather hoping someone could name a few 'suspects' without my going into a lot of detail!

    I'm using the free ZA firewall, The Cleaner and a thing called Startup Monitor. I have AdAware Plus and Spybot (but without AdWatch or TeaTimer enabled) plus SpySweeper, kept as an 'on demand' scanner due to limited resources.

    This is a very old, underpowered 98 computer, but I don't think resources (or the lack thereof) are involved, because NOD has worked without problems for over a year. It's difficult to date the IMON 'problem' but I think it goes back at least six or eight weeks, if not longer.
     
  9. spartak

    spartak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    I want to add that some times Imon stops working in spite of the fact that it does not quit. I mean that it does not check anything!

    I do not know why this is happening. If I make a restart it is fixed. This is not very practical though....
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,329
    Location:
    Texas
    Take a look here.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.