IMON and at&t aircard (wireless)

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Elwood, Aug 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
    Hello,

    I just got off dial up and am now using at&t wireless with my desktop pc running XP Home Edition SP2 and I had to run cmd > netsh winsock reset in order to get the aircard working (Sierra 875U), but that also disables IMON and the repair button is greyed out.

    I am using the at&t Communication Manager software that is required to be installed before inserting the aircard.

    Thanks for input.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi there, have you rebooted the machine since repairing Winsock?

    Cheers :D
     
  3. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
    Yes, I had rebooted after resetting Winsock. I then started Imon and the repair button was greyed out.
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Please uninstall and reinstall NOD32.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
    Uninstalled, rebooted, deleted Eset folder in Program Files, reinstalled NOD32 with newly downloaded installer, then had to unload Imon (reboot) and reset Winsock again (reboot) because homepage barely loaded and couldn't go to other sites at all.

    Connection seems to work fine again now.

    Thanks though. :)
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    This should be the reverse order, and IMON should not be unloaded at all; only repaired, and this is only completed after repairing Winsock and rebooting the system.

    Cheers :D
     
  7. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
    Hmm, when I start Imon (reboot), reset winsock (reboot), Imon is disabled by the reset and the repair button is greyed out.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Yes because Winsock has been repaired , nothing has been registered already (vergin Winsock) . If you press Start , IMON will register itself in the Winsock (reboot is required) . Everytime you reset Winsock , IMON must be reregistered :thumb:
     
  9. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
    Each time I start/repair Imon, I get no throughput. I guess I'll just run Amon...
     
  10. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    AMON and DMON will take care of you :thumb: AMON will scan everything on the hard drive (on-access , on-create and on-extract) , DMON will monitor documents as well as some IE downloads .

    Since you have issues when IMON is on , there is really no problem to keep it disabled .

    v3 and ESS 's web protections are different and you'll have no such problems with them ;)
     
  11. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
    Thanks. I don't normally have malware problems, so I still feel safe. I look forward to the release of v3.

    This aircard is much better than dial up. ;)
     
  12. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Congratulations for upgrading , this is big step ->
     
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    From a fresh install of NOD32 IMON should be running, if you are then having connection problems you need to repair Winsock and then reboot, AFTER this you need to restart IMON and then reboot. This should resolve your issue.

    Cheers :D
     
  14. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
    I think I've already tried that.

    I'm thinking of trying the ESS Beta.

    [added]

    Now running ESS Beta without apparent problems. Totally different interface, not sure I like it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2007
  15. Thathi

    Thathi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Hi, I've been reading forums and going through the tutorials, and I still have this question. Why would AMON and DMON take care of you, when it seems that IMON is what scans your internet browsing, based on its description and setup? Also, when I surf the web, IMON is actually scanning files, whereas DMON says 0 files scanned all the time.
     
  16. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    NOD is based on modules. Each module has a function. From the help file that comes with the program:
     
  17. Thathi

    Thathi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks, but my question still remains even after reading that. Why would we want to disable IMON and keep DMON on? IMON seems more important for internet browsing.

    Also, I don't use IE, but I use Mozilla. DMON never scans anything for me.
     
  18. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Becasue IMON uses LSP (Layered Service Protocol) and interferes with the proper running of some programs and therefore should be disabled in certain situations. DMON primarily monitors MS Office documents but also handles certian types of files for Internet Explorer.
     
  19. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    We don't want to disable Imon. Within the Imon module, there are functions you can disable such as Pop3 scanning and HTTP scanning if you wish for whatever reason. Regardless, Amon is your realtime, resident antimalware scanner and is your last line of defense.
    Nor for me. Dmon is a document/activex scanner. That is it's sole function. If you use Word or Excel for example, they will be scanned. If you don't. Dmon just sits there. :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2007
  20. Thathi

    Thathi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.