Imaging a t42 ibm laptop

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by GoldDragon, Jun 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GoldDragon

    GoldDragon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Hello,

    I have an IBM t42 that I am trying to make an image of, it has two partitions an IBM_Preload the primary and an IBM_Fix secondary. I have imaged the harddrive and can access the image and verify that it is all there but when I reinstall the image to the hard drive at boot I recieve a blinking cursor.

    Any Ideas?
     
  2. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Hopefully you imaged the entire physical hard drive. It sounds like symptoms of a missing/corrupted MBR. Did you select the MBR for restore when you restored the partitions ?
     
  3. GoldDragon

    GoldDragon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Yes, I told it to image the entire harddrive.

    I am using version 9 btw

    I think it has something to do with the IBM laptop because I tried a ghost image and it did the same thing.

    I was hoping someone here might have ran into the same thing.
     
  4. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Good, so I'll ask again:
    From the help screens:
    Furthermore, it would be helpful to also state which BUILD of version 9 you are using.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2006
  5. GoldDragon

    GoldDragon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Yes, I did copy the mbr, and yes I did select it to copy back to the hard drive. I made a total image and replaced a total image.
     
  6. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Where did you create the B/U image (external HD, CDs)?

    “I think it has something to do with the IBM laptop because I tried a ghost image and it did the same thing”
    At what point in time and how was the ghost image created? You are unable to get back into the system correct?
     
  7. GoldDragon

    GoldDragon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    right after reimaging the laptop using acronis or ghost, the system will not boot. I can restore from the ibm restore cds but then I lose everything I was trying to save.

    The image itself is stored on another computer so I am taking the hard drive out of the laptop connecting it to the pc and running acronis from there.

    Both images were made Friday.
     
  8. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    So the ghost image was made before this problem started?
    When you say the “image itself is stored on another computer”, do you mean that’s where it was created or that you moved it there after it was created? If you moved it, where was it initially created?
    Can you validate the image where it sits now?
    Did you, at any point, create a Secure Zone and if so, where? If you did, did you also activate the Startup Recovery Manager?
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello GoldDragon,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure that you use the latest build of the respective version of Acronis True Image which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    Please create the bootable rescue media with the latest build, create an image of your laptop in rescue mode and then restore that image from the bootable rescue media.

    If the problem still persists, please create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please create an account, then log in and submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.