image restoring

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dguilloryjr, May 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dguilloryjr

    dguilloryjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    i have made a image of a windows 2000 box and i have a new box here i am trying to copy the image to.

    after the image copies to the new server... AFTER THE WONDOWS 2000 SERVER FAMILY SCREEN I GET A BSOD....

    IT STATES that there is a inaccessable boot device!

    any ideas?
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    It would help to state what version and build of True Image you're using. Generally though, you cannot restore an Image of one box to another box without using the Universal Restore feature of a Workstation version of TI.
     
  3. dguilloryjr

    dguilloryjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    i am using True Image Echo Server build 8076

    and i am trying to image a windows 2000 box! the windows 2000 box is a tower server! i am needing to move it to a flat rackable server!
     
  4. dguilloryjr

    dguilloryjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    any ideas?
     
  5. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    As DwnNdrty has suggested you should really be using UR for this.

    However. What I would do is attempt a repair of the OS using the W2K installstion disk. Boot from it and select Repair.

    Good luck.

    F
     
  6. dguilloryjr

    dguilloryjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
  7. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Just so we don't miss out anything, when you booted with the True Image UR cd, did you get to the window where you have to add drivers?
     
  8. dguilloryjr

    dguilloryjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    yes i got to the screen where i can install drivers?

    what drivers should i install? I have a raid card in that server. BUT I Broke the raid so do i still need the driver for the raid card? so i have 2 60 gig drives in the new server!

    drive 1 i am using as C and drive 2 i am using as D!
     
  9. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    I blame everything on drive letters. I'm not sure how windows 2000 will behave if it encountered a drive letter problem, maybe it will produce a BSOD. Though a BSOD usually points to some sort of hardware problem, I would still check the drive letters.

    Windows2000/server2003/windows xp all of them share a similar core. There are 2 places where windows will look for drive letters. One is the "partition ID drive letter", the other is the "mounted devices drive letter". When restoring an image, there are times when the "partition ID drive letter" will change. The "mounted devices drive letter" which is in the registry and shows up in "my computer" will remain the same. If these 2 drive letters don't match you will have problems booting up your restored drive. Usually just changing the "partition ID drive letter" back to it's original configuration will get the computer to boot up.

    If adding the raid drivers don't fix your problem, I recommend you verify your drive letters. You can use a "bartpe cd with the savepart plugin", this will show you both drive letters.

    Fixmbr/fixboots, repair installations, bootcfg, won't fix a drive letter problem.

    No matter what the problem, I always rule out the drive letters first as the culprit.
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    As far as I know, if the hard drives are connected to the RAID card, you'll need to install the drivers for the card even if the drives are not being run in a RAID mode.
     
  11. dguilloryjr

    dguilloryjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
  12. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Google the number that begins with 1F and see what comes up.
     
  13. dguilloryjr

    dguilloryjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    No returning ANY results? Any Ideas?
     
  14. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    It is a PCI subtype for a DELL.


    F.
     
  15. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Do a google search for
    PCI\VEN_1000&DEV_0060&SUBSYS_1f0c1028

    Perhaps the info shown will head you in the right direction.
     
  16. dguilloryjr

    dguilloryjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    ok done the google search and i installed teh drivers for the raid card and i still get the same BSOD!

    any more ideas?
     
  17. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    At first glance this looks like it is asking for PCI drivers - possibly chipset driver-set for windows 2000 for your target hardware. Does your mobo have a cd with these drivers on? Could it be that your hardware is too modern for Windows 2000 drivers to be provided?

    F.
     
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dguilloryjr,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Backup software.

    There are several things you should take into account when you use Acronis Universal Restore. The first one is that the builds of the Universal Restore plug-in and Acronis True Image program itself must be the same. So please check this firstly. There are also several limitations dealing with the Universal Restore described in the Chapter 3.6.4 of Acronis True Image Echo Server for Windows User's Guide. Please check them also. If the issue still persists please submit a request for technical support with the detailed issue description and we'll do our best to help you. As the reasons of the issue can differ you'll be most likely asked to provide us with some technical information. We are really sorry for the inconvenience but you can be sure we'll do our best to fix the issue as soon as possible.

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
  19. pHaZm

    pHaZm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    win2k won't have drivers for the raid controller - no way - so UR won't be much help UNLESS you can get the drivers available and tell TI to use them - make sure you have the txtsetup.oem file - or forget it
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.