Image restore to a Smaller HD ?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by pratzert, Mar 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Image restore to a Smaller HD Partition ?

    Hi Everyone.

    Can someone tell me which, really good, "Imaging" programs have the ability to restore to a smaller HD/Partition than the original HD ?

    I'll use ISSO's AX64 when it gets out of the Beta stage for day to day backup, but want a top-notch Imaging program too.

    I am done with RBRx since it just trashed my system. I re-loaded my OS and before I load the HD up with programs, I want to do an Image.

    I don't want to use ShadowProtect because of it's problematic activation process.

    Thanks !
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2013
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Re: Image restore to a Smaller HD Partition ?

    pratzert,

    All imaging app can restore to a smaller partition but maybe with different methods. Don't get hung up on this being too important as restoring to the same sized partition will be done 100 times more often. You need reliability and versatility in your app.

    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=554
     
  3. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    I liked the simple solution done by Jim1cor13 here:
     
  4. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    So... is that Terabyte Unlimited the best imaging program around ?
     
  5. jonyjoe101

    jonyjoe101 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    united states
    i've been using acronis for 4 years, never had a problem with it. Other software have let me down but acronis has always restored me.
    Acronis is one of the few software that can restore to a smaller partition, all the others that I tried couldnt do it without workarounds. Thats one reason I still use acronis because of that feature. If I have a 100gb partition, I can restore it to a 20gb partition (as long as the use data is less than 20gb) I done it many times.
    Even though its work fine for me, many people hate acronis because its bloated but you can make a bootcd or pendrive bootable. But its a good idea to try the demo before you decide. I only used it on xp, vista and 7 on desktop and laptops and even netbooks with no problems.
     
  6. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Thanks for the replies everyone.

    I currently have 2 licenses for Acronis TI. I think it's V11. I know v2013 is available.

    Maybe I'll upgrade to v13 and be done with it.

    I sure wish Todd hadn't sold the rights and FD-ISR was still around and being updated.......

    (OT.. but has anyone heard from Todd lately?)
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2013
  7. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,572
    For me, if one take in consideration, reliability, flexibility, price (1 license is good for 3 machines for home users), upgrade costs and customer support; then yes TB products are the best.

    Panagiotis
     
  8. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    in my experience the Terabyte products have been very reliable.
    i must've done hundreds of imaging and restore with their products.

    they're also fast and small sized.

    very well worth the few dollars i spent on their products.
    i also like the fact that they don't bleed you every years for more money. :thumb:
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I bought my first "bundle" in mid 2007 and a second "bundle" a few years later. The apps are upgraded with new features every month or two, at no cost.
     
  10. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Thanks a lot for the input.

    I'm going to take a look at the TB pricing......

    I DID just upgrade my Acronis TI to the 2013 version, but if TB is cheap enough, I'll try it too.
     
  11. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    you can try it for free for 30 days if i recall correctly.
     
  12. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    That's even better !

    Thanks.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.