Image For Windows

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,244
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Perfect.
     
  2. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    OK. Shortcut works. But when I change the above setting to display GUI, it also displays the Command Prompt window. Both IFW window and Command Prompt window are sitting on the Desktop.
    I would rather have no Command Prompt window and IFW window minimized on the Taskbar.

    But if not, I will just have to settle with no GUI.
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    My previous scheduled full backups start with IFW minimized on the Taskbar.
    No Command Prompt window. I know that one this is a script.

    Also, when there is no GUI, the Windows 10 Notification doesn't come up.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,244
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Put this as the first line of your batch file....

    Code:
    if not defined RunIFWTask set RunIFWTask=1 & start "Image for Windows" /min %SystemRoot%\system32\cmd.exe /c "%0" & goto :EOF
    Add /min to
    set TBIParms=
    set TBIDifParms=

    Now both windows will be minimized to the taskbar.
     
  5. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    Lovely, Brian. :)
    It worked. Notifications are now working too.

    Are those #0 and #_# files used for restore?


    Another thing, Reflect can delete (purge) old backups before or after backups.
    I have it set to after backup.

    I read the IFW manual that it can be done using a - before the number, but that was for number of days, not number of backups. I guess it is not a big issue if it can't be done.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,244
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hadron, I don't use /purge.

    You can manually delete any of the diffs at anytime.

    They are only used in faster diff creation. They have nothing to do with restores.
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    OK, so you just manually delete?

    The #0 file is quite big. All good though.
    Thanks for this. :thumb:
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,244
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I schedule a Robocopy batch file to delete diffs older than 15 days. These are diffs associated with a different Full image from the one in use...

    Code:
    @echo off
    net stop protectit
    MD I:\TeraByte_TBI_Backups\delete
    robocopy I:\TeraByte_TBI_Backups I:\TeraByte_TBI_Backups\delete *DIFF*.TBI /move /create /minage:15 /r:0 /log+:I:\Tera\OS\Robocopy\rclogdiff.log
    RD I:\TeraByte_TBI_Backups\delete /s /q
    net start protectit
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    How do you alter the IFWRotate for additional partitions? And does it include hidden partitions?
    Different computers have different numbers of partitions.

    The format you've given me is not how I read it in the readme.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2019
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,244
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    /d:w0 is Entire Disk. All partitions. 3 partitions in your case. 7 partitions for Moosehead77

    You can control the number of diffs with...

    set TBIMaxDiffCnt=

    Double click your TBI and TBIView will show 3 partitions.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2019
  11. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    OK. So /d:w0 is for en entire disk and if you want certain partitions, you use the @0x1,0x2,0x3 etc.
    Could I have possibly used @0x1,0x2,0x3 also?

     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,244
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Yes, you could. Same result.
     
  13. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    :thumb:
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,244
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hadron, all OK with making a diff backup?
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    Yes, I think so.
    I'll make another one now.
     
  16. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    Differential seems to be working very well.
    Only 1.75 GB compared to 56.7 GB for a full.
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,244
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  18. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    Hi Brian.

    I had to uninstall IFW, then reinstall it in Traditional Mode.
    It must have been in Simple Mode, and apparently, there is no other way to change it.

    You would think that there would be something on your hard drive that interacts with the installer, but I couldn't find it.
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,244
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  20. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,320
    Location:
    Canada
    I think this has been asked before, and sorry I can't find the answer :( ...but is it possible to reliably image Linux ext4 partitions using IFW?
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,244
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    wat0114,

    Sure. You can use IFW in Windows or in TBWinRE/PE.

    Each of the TeraByte backup apps, IFW, IFD, IFL and IFU can restore images made by the other apps.
     
  22. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,320
    Location:
    Canada
    Excellent! Thank you so much, Brian :thumb:
     
  23. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    IFWRotate is working amazingly, Brian.
     
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,244
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Same here.
     
  25. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    MakeDisk now has a check box to: "Save selections for next time".
    What selections does that save, and can I easily de-select it at a latter time?

    Also, every time I uncheck the box, it is checked the next time.

    MakeDisk.jpg
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.