Image For Windows

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,245
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It means you must not use...

    set TBIBase=D:\My Backups\

    set TBIBase=D:\
     
  2. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    So, this is right?
    set TBIBase=D:\System_Backup

    And this is not?
    set TBIBase=D:\System_Backup\
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,245
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Correct.
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    OK.
    I'll read through the IFWRotate Readme.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,245
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Once you get the hang of it, it's easy. There are only 5 or 6 lines to edit.

    For what it's worth, here are my lines...

    set TBIBase=I:\TeraByte_TBI_Backups
    set TBIName=C
    set TBIParms=/b /uy /d:w0@0x1,0xC5 /v /hash
    set TBIMaxFullCnt=3
    set TBIMaxDiffCnt=14
    set TBIDifParms=/uy /v
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    Thanks, Brian.
    I'll have a look at it.

    I have always liked the Reflect purge feature.
    This will basically do the same thing, I think.
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,245
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    IFW has a /purge parameter. Page 176 in the Manual.
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    I'll have a look.

    Also. I have always found it difficult making scheduled differential backups with IFW, so I have always made full.
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    It appears that the purge feature on Page 176 only works on time rather than specified number of backups.
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    This is what I get for TBIParms using the "Show Command" button as suggested in the readme. :rolleyes:

    /wait /b /d:w0 /f:
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    I have this in my Task Scheduler Arguments.

    /min /wait /b /uy /um /d:w0 /f:


    Edit:
    So, using the example in the readme.
    Would this backup my 3 partitions on my operating system drive?

    set TBIParms=/b /d:w0@0x1,0x3 /v
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2019
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,245
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    That will backup two partitions.
    Can you post your two "Show Command" lines for a full and a diff backup and I'll let you know what the "Set" lines should be? Post the entire lines.

    Click Show Command. Save to file, OK. Then you can Copy/Paste.


    Edit.... I only need your Full Backup Show Command line. The diff Show Command isn't needed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2019
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,245
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    See above edit.
     
  14. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite\imagew64.exe" /wait /b /d:w0 /f:"D:\System_Backup\Image_for_Windows\Backup-w0-$~YYYY$-$~MM$-$~DD$-$~HHMM$"
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    I like to backup the entire drive. Not just a single partition. As you can see on this computer, there are 3 partitions.

    Disk 0.jpg

    Disk 0a.jpg

    I read in the manual that you can run the purge after a successful backup rather than the default before backup. You put minus (-) sign before the number. But that was for number of days. Not for number of backup. Will minus (-) also work for number of backups?
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2019
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,245
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks. Try these...

    set TBIBase=D:\System_Backup\Image_for_Windows
    set TBIName=Entire
    set TBIParms=/b /uy /d:w0 /hash
    set TBIDifParms=/uy


    The count lines are your choice.
    Omit Purge for the time being.

    We can hide the Command Window and IFW GUI after you get it working.

    Edit... /v removed
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2019
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,245
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Your full backup will be named something like this...

    Entire_2019-11-24-0756__FULL.TBI

    Diff could be...

    Entire_2019-11-24-0756_DIFF_2019-12-02-1745.TBI
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,245
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    If you don't like "Entire" make....

    set TBIName=
     
  19. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    I'll just be a little while, Brian.
    I am installing some new drives on one of my computers.
    Then I'll use what you posted above. This is what I copied from the readme.
    That's why I thought set TBIParms=/b /d:w0@0x1,0x3 /v would backup 3 partitions. :gack:

    I'm backing some stuff up now.

     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2019
  20. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    Where do you place the batch file, Brian?

    Edit: I just made a Batches sub-folder.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2019
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,245
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Anywhere you like. But don't move it after it's been scheduled.
     
  22. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    Running now. :)
     
  23. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    I have run it from the Task Scheduler, and there is no GUI. But I know why.

    I also made a desktop shortcut, but it didn't work, so I'll have to re-visit that.
     
  24. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    Finished. Is this how it should look?

    Entire Backup.jpg
     
  25. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,245
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.