Image For Windows

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,530
    yes , it does
    this afternoon i will try to do this job
    i can use macrium maybe it's more easy

    yes i guess i don't understand ,it's all in english , google translator doesn't help
    if you have time can you make 2 pratical example like windows 10 updated (3 partition ) with Scale to Fit & Scale to Target , i will appreciate it
    i guess at least i could understand
    thanks Brian
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,772
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Already done. See post #1047
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,772
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mantra,

    All OK with the procedure?
     
  4. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,530
    Hi
    no luck , we tried to restore the drive image to 1 partition without luck
    i will retry today , i will create image of the partitions and no of the entire drive
    thanks Brian
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,772
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    See post #1037
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,772
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    In post #1003 I said you couldn't unlock the BitLocker OS and use IFL. This is wrong and I did use dislocker in Linux to unlock the OS last year. The experience must have been so unpleasant that my brain compartmentalized the information. I made notes so for what it's worth, here they are (unedited)...

    sudo apt-get install gcc cmake make libfuse-dev libpolarssl-dev ruby-dev

    cd dislocker cmake

    make sudo make install

    DOESN'T WORK


    THIS install WORKS

    You can install polarssl and dislocker on Ubuntu 16.04 by following TuxDiary - dislocker: decrypt BitLocker encrypted volumes.

    Open the terminal and type:

    sudo apt-get install libmbedcrypto0 libmbedtls-dev libfuse-dev

    If git is not installed on your system you can install git by running the following command. Open the terminal and type:

    sudo apt install git

    Then you can install dislocker from source using git. Open the terminal and type the below commands.

    git clone https://github.com/Aorimn/dislocker.git
    cd dislocker
    cmake .
    make
    sudo make install

    Now you can start using dislocker. It works fine.




    Mounting a Volume for Standard Use

    Much like mounting an E01 image under SIFT the mounting process for the bitlockered volume is a two stage process. Therefore you will require two directories to exist in the /mnt folder. I have used /mnt/bitlocker and /mnt/usb.

    In order to use the volume for normal everyday use I use the fuse driver along with the normal user password:

    sudo dislocker-fuse -V /dev/sdb1 -uPassword -- /mnt/bitlocker


    This creates a new block device at /mnt/bitlocker/dislocker-file, to which access is handled on the fly by the fuse drivers.
    If the user password is unknown it is possible to use the recovery password with the -p option or a BEK file with the -f option.
    Once this has been done you can then mount the new block device with the standard mount command:

    sudo mount /mnt/bitlocker/dislocker-file /mnt/usb -o loop

    Once mounted the volume can be accessed via the /mnt/usb directory and can be read from and written to normally.




    Another web site...

    root@kali:~# dislocker -v -V /dev/sdb1 -p275374-090651-082764-392205-130460-581966-062942-402083 -- /mnt/tmp
    root@kali:~# ls /mnt/tmp/dislocker-file
    root@kali:~# mount -o loop,ro /mnt/tmp/dislocker-file /mnt/dis
    root@kali:~# ls /mnt/dis/my super secret file.txt.txt $RECYCLE.BIN System Volume Information
    root@kali:~# cat /mnt/dis/my\ super\ secret\ file.txt.txt
    You got it!

    abc sudo dislocker -v -V /dev/sdc1 -u11111111 -- /mnt/tmp


    If the user password is unknown it is possible to use the recovery password with the -p option or a BEK file with the -f option.

    Once this has been done you can then mount the new block device with the standard mount command:

    sudo mount /mnt/bitlocker/dislocker-file /mnt/usb -o loop

    Once mounted the volume can be accessed via the /mnt/usb directory and can be read from and written to normally.
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,772
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mantra,

    Any news on your progress for us?
     
  8. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,530
    Hi Brian
    no , seeing i have not seen my friend
    i had no time to try it again
    thanks i will keep posted
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,530
    Brian 3.12 is out
    may i ask you some questions?
    1)Added /trim (TRIM) option to restore and copy operations. --> (what does it means?? ) perform a trim before the restore ?

    2) just for curiosity , to restore a drive image to smaller drive , what settings should be used?
    thanks

    full changelog image for windows 3.12
    all the changelog are
    • Fixed regression introduced in 3.08 that could cause a deadlock at the end of a IFW GUI operation.
    • Added /trim (TRIM) option to restore and copy operations.
    • Expanded the Update Boot Partition (/ubp) option to include all NTFS partitions as well as active partition on the target drive.
    • TBWinPE Builder: Fixes and enhancements.
    • TBINotify: Added button to settings to turn off fast startup.
    • Other changes, updates and enhancements.

    full changelog for image for linux 3.12

    • [*]Added --trim (TRIM) option to restore and copy operations.
      [*]Expanded the Update Boot Partition (--ubp) option to include all NTFS partitions as well as active partition on the target drive.
      [*]Updated Linux Boot Disk (LBD268EN)(4.13.9).
      [*]Other changes, updates and enhancements.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2017
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,935
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Mantra, I can't speak with authority on question #1, but I believe it does as you surmise... TRIM all SSD blocks about to be restored (Macrium REFLECT does this). The operation insures that the SSD doesn't wind up carrying around all that leftover DATA that was not TRIMmed by the OS prior to the restore operation.

    It's a very good feature...
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,772
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    The last few versions of TBOSDT Pro (included with IFW) have improved the ability to boot other OS partitions on GPT disks. For example, say you have IFL, TBWinPE/RE, WinPE or Linux partitions on a GPT disk. From your Win10 OS you can choose which of these partitions will boot on the next restart. You can also setup IFL, TBWinPE/RE to do auto backups/restores on the next restart. So a Win10 restore can be accomplished by single clicking (without a UAC prompt) a tile in the Start Menu.
     
  12. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,565
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Does anyone have any idea what this means. This is a new error I got this morning when I was trying to create a system disk image.

    sshot-4.png
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2017
  13. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,837
    update to v3.13 and try again
     
  14. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,565
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I did that but I'm still getting the same error screen. IFW seems to not like my new Kubuntu partition. Any ideas why, or how to fix it?
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2017
  15. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,530
    hi
    are you running with the last update of windows 10 ?
    do you skin under w10?
    can you post a screenshot with you settings ?
    i had a similar issue but i fixed in the settings
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,772
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Nate, is that the 59.67 GB partition? It shows as RAW in Disk Management so something is drastically wrong with the partition.
     
  17. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,565
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Oh, from the other Unix board thread? If that's the case then I have no idea what "attempt" that was from (I've been trying several differt versions of the dual-boot.) Both Win10 and Kubuntu boot now, although I'm not using the EFI method.
     
  18. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,565
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    It's fixed now, and working properly. I wish I could tell you what it was that solved the issue for me. I do know it was not IFW settings or Windows settings, since those remained constant. The only thing I can think of it that there was some disk configuration it did not like; the Linux partition being before a Windows partition perhaps.
     
  19. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,211
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    First a little background...
    On my old legacy BIOS system, I used IFW as my primary backup solution and Macrium as a secondary. In November of last year, I got a new system and it is UEFI. Due to both the busy holiday season and health issues, I have only been using Macrium on the new system up to now. I just installed IFW today and I am beginning whatever learning curve that is required to use it on an UEFI system as I have only used it on a legacy BIOS system previously.

    Now for the questions...
    Is there anything in IFW settings that I need to be concerned about or change?
    Is there anything in either the backup options or restore options that I need to be concerned about or change?
    I have left the IFW settings at default. I added "Create Sector Hash Files" and "Create Metadata Hash Files" to the backup options. I also added "Metadata Based Restore" to the restore options. Are the changes I made correct to do fast incrementals/differentials?
    Any other settings and/or options that I need to change?
    I do not think this makes a difference but my OS drive is a SSD and the drive that I backup to is a standard hard drive.
    Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated...
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,772
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    puff-m-d,

    Sounds good. In Settings, General tab, I also have "Use Directory Data in Metadata Hash". In Settings, Geometry tab, put a tick in "Align Partitions on 1MiB Boundaries". This is for restores and not anything to do with Backups.

    With an OS on a GPT drive, Entire Drive backups/restores are the easiest method.
     
  21. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,211
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Brian K,

    Thanks for the reply...
    I initially was going to select this setting myself but the user manual was vague to me as far as its explanation.
    I assume that I leave "Align MBR for BIOS Auto Mode" checked also?
    Do I remember something about some setting/option for restoring first track that should be checked?
     
  22. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,772
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It's not essential but seems a good idea.

    Yes.

    You only need this if doing a partition restore to a new drive. Not if restoring a partition to the same drive or restoring an Entire Drive image to a new derive.

    In IFW/IFL Settings, make sure these are selected, they probably will be defaults...

    Automatic Scaling Restrictions
    Automatic Boot Partition Update
    Confirm this... Align Partitions on 1MiB Boundaries for IFL
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2018
  23. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    924
    Has anyone tried ProtectIt?
    I never selected it. It really isn't something that I would expect to need.
    I have my images on a second internal hard drive, and they also backup to a third internal hard drive with Bvckup 2.
     
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,772
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  25. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    924
    I didn't think it would be the sort of thing that I would be interested in, Brian.
    I try to keep light and minimalistic.

    I travel light. :rolleyes:
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.