Image For Windows

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,464
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    It is. Get it here
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mantra,

    Any progress on those screenshots?
     
  3. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,464
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Is there a way to add functionality, similar to Reflect, to repair boot-ability in IFW/IFL? Or, is there a tbosd script that can do it? Every time I restore an image I have to boot into Macrium Reflect to use that option.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Nate,

    I'm not sure what you are seeing with IFW/IFL. Doesn't the restored OS boot? If that's the case can you describe how you are doing the restore? Which Options are you selecting? Are you restoring to the OS partition or to a new drive? Which OS? Legacy or UEFI BIOS mode? Do you have more than one OS on the drive? Is this a recent issue?

    What error do you see when you try to boot the restored OS?
     
  5. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,464
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I do have more thahn one OS on the drive; Windows 10 and Mint KDE. I don't often have to restore anything other than the Windows partition, and even then it's just because I was testing software. I also have IFL as a bootable option, which works fine after you helped me with it. I'm always restoring to the same SSD as the original is one. I set the option to set the partition as active when I restore. However, sometime windows says it can't boot on restore, not all the time though. I use UEFI.

    When it doesn't work I use MR to fix it.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Are you setting the Win10 partition Active when you restore?
     
  7. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,464
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Yes.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    That could be part of the problem as the Win10 partition is not the Active partition on a GPT disk with a Win10 install. The EFI System partition is the Active partition. But I think the main issue is the EFI System partition (Boot partition) needs to be updated when you restore the Win10 partition in a dual boot situation. Next time select the "Update Boot Partition" option when you restore Win10. With a GPT disk you don't really need to select Active for the EFI System partition. It knows it is active.

    When I was running a Win10/Mint dual boot I used to backup two partitions for each OS. The relevant OS plus the EFI System partition. During a Win10 restore I'd restore Win10 plus the EFI System partition and select "Update Boot Partition". Similar for a Mint restore.

    Please let us know what happens.

    Edit... So as to get the relevant ESP, backup Win10 after Win10 has been booted last. Or use IFW in Win10. Don't boot Mint and then backup Win10 and the ESP from IFL.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2017
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,443
    Hi Brian
    i have a drive image , could i restore this drive image to a partition?
    well the drive image is of an sdd 250GB , i have to restore to a friend 's 1Tb samsung SSD 960 PRO NVMe M.2
    he want to slip his new SSD 960 PRO NVMe M.2 in 2 partitions
    in the first partition windows 10 , second partition he 's not sure about linux or windows7
    can i with image for linux or windows restore a drive image in a partition ?
    thanks
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mantra,

    I need some more information.
    How many partitions are contained in your Entire Drive Image?
    Is the Entire Drive Image from your computer or your friend's.
    Is the Entire Drive Image from a MBR disk?
    Does your friend's SSD contain any data?
     
  11. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,443
    Hi Brian
    1) it contains 3 partitions it's w10 updated (System Reserved - windows 10 -(w10 system restore partition)
    2) yes the entire drive image is my friend 's computer
    3) i'm not sure about mbr ,i have to check it (seeing it's brandnew "1Tb samsung SSD 960 PRO NVMe M.2" i will use mbr it's more easy to use it)
    4) no ,it's new,it's empty are you talking about 1Tb samsung SSD 960 PRO NVMe M.2 , it's new
    thanks Brian
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2017
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    OK. It's from a MBR system.

    Delete any partitions on the SSD (if any are present)
    Make sure the new SSD is connected to SATA port 1 (or port 0 if it exists).
    Restore the Entire Drive image (tick in drive) to the Drive (select HD0).
    Don't select Scale to Fit.

    The computer should boot into Win10. Can you send a screenshot of the new Disk Management?
     
  13. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,443
    Hi Brian
    but my friend wants to slip his new "1Tb samsung SSD 960 PRO NVMe M.2"
    parition for w10 (restore his ssd data ) ,he has not decided yey about what he will install on the second partition

    no -> scale to Fit -> means ifl will restore the 250gb ssd without change the partitions
    i mean my friend will have the 3 windows partions of 250GB , and an empty partition 1TB - 250GB ? right?
    thanks
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mantra,

    This is only stage one. We need to get Win10 working first. Then we can adjust the number of partitions and resize Win10 to your friend's liking. Adding Linux comes later. Don't worry. There will be no unallocated free space when we are finished.
     
  15. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,443
    hi Brian
    thanks a lot
    image for windows/linux has
    scale to fit
    Scale to Target
    may i know the difference with an example?

    ps maybe i would be better copy the windows 3 partitions and restore them,to have 250Gb (with the 3 windows partition) on the 1tb ssd with unlocated space (1tb -250GB)?
    thanks again Brian maybe with macrium is more simple...
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2017
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mantra, remember you can only have 4 primary partitions on a MBR disk. So after the restore you will only have one slot left for the Linux install. That's not enough so I suggest we move the SRP and the RE into the Win10 partition. Then you will have 3 free slots. Alternatively you could install BIBM and have the potential to install 200 OS. I think BIBM is a good idea as there will be a lot of unused space on that SSD if there are only two OS. But maybe your friend has a lot of data. Again, movies on a SSD is a costly use of drive space.
     
  17. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,443
    hi @Brian K
    yes i had read the manual in the past about scale to target and scale to fit, but never understood , just 2 examples

    i don't know how can i do it

    thanks Brian
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Regarding scaling, does this help? Partitions less than 15 GB are not resized.

    Say you have a 500 GB HD containing...

    100 MiB SRP
    100 GiB partition
    200 GiB partition
    200 GiB unallocated free space

    You restore an Entire Drive image of the above HD (with Scale to Fit) to a 600 GiB HD and you will get...

    100 MiB SRP
    200 GiB partition
    400 GiB partition


    If you used Scale to Target you would get...

    100 MiB SRP
    120 GiB partition
    240 GiB partition
    240 GiB unallocated free space
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2017
  20. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,443
    @Brian K
    he doesn't own Bibm , i bought BIMB

    in this case with w10 updated (added a partition for re) , i will have
    1)SRP
    2)240GB of windows
    3)the 3 re partition = 1tb -SRP GB -240G , in short a huge RE partition

    about Scale to Target can you do the same example?

    thanks this help me a lot
    ps just for curiosity , to restore to a smalled drive , now image for windows /linux doesn't need to compact the source but it has a new feature, does it work ? have you tested?

    thanks Brian
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    That's why you must not use Scaling with his SSD. You want the same sized partitions as from the original SSD.

    It works well. It is "Compact Data" in Options.

    See above (edited)
     
  22. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I assume his RE is about 450 MiB. If you did Scale to Fit you would get...

    100 MiB SRP
    960 GiB Win10
    450 MiB RE

    There is no Free Space for another partition. Scale to Target would give the same result.
     
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    How much Free Space is in the Win10 partition?
     
  24. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,443
    hi @Brian K
    so scale to target it's the best option to restore to a bigger drive
    Scale to Fit -> will be
    100Mib srp
    240 windows 10
    100-240-100mb-> re


    he has 35Gb of windows + programs data

    i could try macrium , maybe it's more easy
    thanks Brian
     
  25. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mantra,

    Sorry, but you don't understand Scaling. You finish up with no Unallocated Free Space. So you can't easily create partitions for Linux. Your problem isn't with restoring the Win10 image, it is what you have to do next.

    He has around 200 GB of Free Space in the C: drive?
     
Loading...