Image For Windows

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,547
    It seems you have a GPT SSD.

    The GPT partition scheme requires a FAT32 boot partition.

    If you convert the partition to NTFS, the system won't boot.

    Don't use the Windows 7 imager, but another one, could be Macrium Free.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,378
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Prole,

    In the rectangles of Disk Management, what is the description of the 100 MB partition? What is the description of the OS partition?
     
  3. Prole

    Prole Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    New England, USA
    The 100 MB says - FAT32 Healthy (system, active, primary partition)
    The 238 GB says - NTFS Healthy (boot, page file, crash dump, primary partition)

    @Robin A -- I'll take a look at Macrium
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,378
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks. There are a few Google links to FAT32 System Reserved Partitions. Cause unknown. By the way, it contains the booting files, not the MBR. The MBR is not inside any partition.

    You could possibly move the booting files to the OS partition and delete the SRP but I'd do as Robin suggested, make a Macrium image.
     
  5. Prole

    Prole Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Thanks people, I'll probably get around to installing Macrium this weekend. I hate installing programs - which is why my OS is as responsive as it was 4 years ago (doing everything possible inside Sandboxie also helped).
    I don't even have an AV running :cautious:

    Also, this article has a lot of pertinent info...
    http://www.disk-partition.com/articles/system-reserved-partition-4348.html

    Thanks again
     
  6. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,547
    You can reduce the number of permanently installed programs by using Shadow Defender. There is a lot of information about it in this forum. If you use Macrium only occasionally, you can install it under Shadow Mode, and do the required process or build an ISO file and save it for use from a boot UFD. Macrium will be totally "uninstalled" when you reboot.
     
  7. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    If you use metada for backups/restores you can also use the section [mdspecialfiles] in the ini for your important files and directories.

    from the manual
    Panagiotis
     
  8. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,063
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks for the heads up! :thumb:
     
  9. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    You are welcome. :)

    Panagiotis
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Folks if you are using IFW, take a look at Pandlouk's scripts. The allow you to run IFW by simply clicking on an icon and it runs on autoplilot allowing you to define shat is keep. It really is phenomenal. Take a look
     
  11. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Where do I find your scripts, Pandlouk? :rolleyes:
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    They are in a sticky thread at the top of the backup stuff
     
  13. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Oh, yeah.
    I see them.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,378
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    And you can schedule the script to run hourly, daily, weekly, whatever. You can schedule the script to run without the GUI appearing, if you desire.
     
  15. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Which one should I try, the Registry or text version?

    Do I have to do any additional editing?
     
  16. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    Use the registry one, unless you use Appguard or a similar program that prevents writes in the registry.
    You must edit the lines
    set TBIBase=
    set TBIName=
    set TBIParms=
    set TBIPath=
    set TBIMaxFullCnt=
    set TBIMaxINCRCnt=
    set TBIIncParms=
    set TBILogin=

    Explanation and examples are given before each line setting. Also look here to find out what to insert
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...ts-for-image-for-windows.395254/#post-2690413

    Panagiotis
     
  17. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Thanks Pandlouk.
    I'll have a read.
     
  18. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Has anyone ever had a Failed (207) error? What is it? I had a quick search, but couldn't find anything about it.
    I had 2 of them until I rebooted. After the reboot, I had success.

    IFW TBI Notify.jpg
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,378
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Stigg,

    Can you copy/paste what is in the IFW.LOG for those two failed backups.
     
  20. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    There is a lot in there, Brian, so I'll attach it.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 23, 2017
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,378
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    IFW.LOG says "This is probably due to a failure by a VSS writer or VSS provider."

    No big deal. Just do it again as you have done.
     
  22. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Thanks Brian.
     
  23. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    637
    Location:
    USA
    In IFW's "Backup Settings > Geometry" should I check "Align Partitions on 1MB Boundaries" when backing up my laptop's SSD?

    ...and for that matter, what are the key differences in IFW settings between backing up / restoring an SSD vs. an HDD? :confused:
     
  24. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,903
    Since Windows 7, the Windows default partition alignment is always 1MB, no matter SSD or HDD. So yeah check that.
     
  25. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,490
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Actually, the 1mB partition alignment started with VISTA.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.