Image For Windows

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,439
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Brian,

    yes, they were.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,122
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    wat0114,

    That is strange. I hope you get a better result next time.
     
  3. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    450
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    What does the CD Boot Image option do?
    I make my CD images with the Create Recovery Boot Disk tools.

    IFW Settings.jpg
     
  4. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,902
    It allows you to choose if you want to use an IFD or an IFL recovery enviroment. For faster recoveries select Image for Linux.

    Panagiotis
     
  5. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    450
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    But, I just get my CD out and choose whether it is an Image for Linux, TBWinPE or TBWinRE disc.
    Have I missed something?
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,902
    That option incorporates a minimal, recovery only, version of IFD/IFL in the first CD/DVD. You insert the first dvd and then it asks you if you want to initialize the recovery or not. You do not have to use another cd to start the recovery and it saves you some steps (have not used dvds for a long time but if I remember correctly, it automatically selects the image included for the restore).

    Panagiotis
     
  7. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    450
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Are you talking about recovering from within Windows?
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,122
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Stigg,

    It's only used if you write your image to optical media. Do you do that or write it to a HD?
     
  9. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    450
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    I backup to a secondary internal hard drive.
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,122
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Then you can forget the Boot Image as it doesn't apply to you.
     
  11. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    450
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Ah, so people still backup to optical media?
    It's been decades since I have done that. I didn't even think that was still possible.
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,122
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Yes, some use Blu-ray disks.
     
  13. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    450
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    They would use a lot of discs.
     
  14. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,174
    Location:
    Denmark
    Not to mention more expensive. First you gotta spend cash on a blueray burner and then the discs. For the same price you could get a 256GB+ usb 3.1 stick which will be muuuuuch faster and take up a lot less space. Most image software these days can also compress your backups, so that's even more storage on a stick.
     
  15. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,578
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    True. But I don't trust anything truly. I keep images on external drives, SD cards, and, yes, a blu-ray disc. That way I'm covered for all but the nearly impossible scenarios. I've had both external drives and flash drives fail on me before, so a blu-ray disc in a fire-proof safe seems appropriate.
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,122
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Multiple backups!!! Yes.

    A friend recently had a suitcase stolen from his car. It contained his laptop and USB external HD (backups). He's lost "everything".
     
  17. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,578
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    That's what I want to prevent. I Even has a friend store an 8TB external drive for me at his house. I'd rather have too many backups and not need them, then need them and not have one.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2017
  18. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,578
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Does anyone know what this error message could be about? I just got it today when I tried creating an image with IFW (VSS).
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,122
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Nate,

    It could mean bad sectors. Run...

    chkdsk C: /scan

    Any bad sectors reported?
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,247
    That looks like one of the error's I saw. Try disabling your security software one by one. Something may be blocking system32\confg\SAM
     
  21. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
    I still use optical media when I get a new PC. I set the machine up with all the basics and fully update it. Then, make a DVD/Blu-Ray image set. And store it away with everything that came with the new PC. Then if I want to start over, it's nice and clean and more reliable than anything MS does.
     
  22. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,161
    Location:
    USA
    G'day Brian,

    I recently upgraded from v2.9x to v3.07 and I do not see the above checkbox selections in Backup Settings. Is it time for stronger eye-glasses?

    Cruise
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2017
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,122
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hi Cruise,

    The selections are on the Backup Options screen, just before you click Start. (see page 50 in the user manual) I wrote those instructions for ver 3.06a. Now with ver 3.07 you should not delete the differential .@0 file as it is needed for a metadata restore.
     
  24. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,161
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks Brian. :thumb:
     
  25. Prole

    Prole Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    New England, USA
    First of all, my internal SSD is almost 4 yrs old - so I decided to make a System Image in case it dies, but Windows 7 System Image tells me that I cannot because "a specified volume" is formatted as FAT32.

    When I looked at the SSD in Disk Management, sure enough it says that partition 0 (the 100MB partition) is FAT32 -- and partition 1 (the 'C' partition) is NTFS. My other 2 external drives are NTFS.

    Question #1 --- How did that happen? Why did my Windows 7 installation disk do this, if it would break the System Image tool?

    Question #2 --- Is it safe to convert 'partition 0' (it contains the MBR - right?) from FAT32 to NTFS ? Will it simply change FAT32 to NTFS or could it mess up the MBR?

    Question #3 --- How do I convert it if it doesn't have a drive letter? Would the the command prompt + C: /FS:NTFS -- work?

    Question #4 --- In the future, when using my Windows 7 Installation disc, how would I make sure that this doesn't happen again? Where did I go wrong the first time?

    It's been 4 yrs, but I'm pretty sure Windows didn't ask me if I wanted to split the SSD into FAT32/NTFS.

    Thanks
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.