image for windows batch file

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by lodore, Oct 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,038
    Hello,
    for some reason when i run the batch file on windows 7 it tries to run imagewc.exe from Z:\IFW images instead of C:\IFWC
    it worked when i copied the image for windows command version files to Z:\IFW images

    im not sure what to change so that the images write to correct location and starts imagewc from C:\IFWC
    the batch file is as follows:

    if not defined RunTask set RunTask=1 & start "Image for Windows" /min %SystemRoot%\system32\cmd.exe /c "%0" & goto :EOF

    path=C:\Program Files (X86)\IFWC;%path%

    Z:
    CD \IFW images

    imagewc /b /uy /d:w0@0x1 /f:"C %%~DOW%%-%%~DD%%-%%~MM%%" /vb

    if not %errorlevel% == 0 (
    echo %date% %time% >> fail.log
    echo Imagew errorlevel is %errorlevel% >> fail.log
    echo. >> fail.log
    exit
    )
    exit
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2009
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,577
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    lodore,

    ifw.log should be in Z:\IFW images
    Does it tell you which line is incorrect? If not, try this....

    if not defined RunTask set RunTask=1 & start "Image for Windows" /min %SystemRoot%\system32\cmd.exe /c "%0" & goto :EOF

    pause

    path=C:\Program Files (X86)\IFWC;%path%

    pause

    Z:
    CD \IFW images

    pause

    imagewc /b /uy /d:w0@0x1 /f:"C %%~DOW%%-%%~DD%%-%%~MM%%" /vb

    pause

    if not %errorlevel% == 0 (
    echo %date% %time% >> fail.log
    echo Imagew errorlevel is %errorlevel% >> fail.log
    echo. >> fail.log
    pause
    )
    pause

    You should be able to identify the incorrect line.
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,038
    Hello BrianK,

    see screenshot attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,577
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Check your path. You have two different entries...

    C:\IFWC (showing in your screenshot)

    C:\Program Files (X86)\IFWC
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,038
    ok ive changed path to path=Z:\IFW images\Automated\IFWC\imagewc.exe

    screenshot should reflect that.

    anyideas now?
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,577
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Leave off the imagewc.exe. Make it Z:\IFW images\Automated\IFWC;%path%

    I had my batch file working in Win7 and made a few changes to resemble your one. Now mine doesn't work. I'll keep trying.

    In your original batch file, was imagewc.exe in

    C:\IFWC or

    C:\Program Files (X86)\IFWC
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,038
    Thanks it works now.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,577
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Good. Mine is fixed too. I'm not sure what error I made.
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,038
    Is there a command which i can put in the batch file that deletes the oldest one when the partition runs out of space?
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,577
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Not that I know of.

    I know how to limit the number of backups. Say you only want 4 backups. After backup 5 has been created, the oldest backup is automatically deleted. Is that of use?
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,038
    yup that would be useful.
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,577
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    The final part of the batch file would be....

    if not %errorlevel% == 0 (
    echo %date% %time% >> fail.log
    echo imagewc errorlevel is %errorlevel% >> fail.log
    echo. >> fail.log
    exit
    )

    IF EXIST Windows_15.TBI (DEL Windows_15.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_14.TBI (REN Windows_14.TBI Windows_15.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_13.TBI (REN Windows_13.TBI Windows_14.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_12.TBI (REN Windows_12.TBI Windows_13.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_11.TBI (REN Windows_11.TBI Windows_12.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_10.TBI (REN Windows_10.TBI Windows_11.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_09.TBI (REN Windows_09.TBI Windows_10.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_08.TBI (REN Windows_08.TBI Windows_09.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_07.TBI (REN Windows_07.TBI Windows_08.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_06.TBI (REN Windows_06.TBI Windows_07.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_05.TBI (REN Windows_05.TBI Windows_06.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_04.TBI (REN Windows_04.TBI Windows_05.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_03.TBI (REN Windows_03.TBI Windows_04.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_02.TBI (REN Windows_02.TBI Windows_03.TBI)
    IF EXIST Windows_01.TBI (REN Windows_01.TBI Windows_02.TBI)
    REN Windows.TBI Windows_01.TBI
    exit


    You would have to make your command line...

    imagewc /b /uy /d:w0@0x1 /f:"Windows" /vb

    I've used Windows as an example filename. Windows_01.tbi is always the most recent backup. You can edit the above to make it save less copies than 15. Sorry, I don't know how to do it with the filename you prefer (C %%~DOW%%-%%~DD%%-%%~MM%%).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.