Image for Windows 2.50 Released

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheKid7, Sep 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
  2. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    What's this software like,I don't know much about it at all? How does it compare with Macrium Reflect Free for features?
     
  3. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    Here's a recent post that I made on Image for Windows/Image for DOS:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1546111&postcount=6

    The Restore with Image for DOS is a little different but not difficult. Image for Windows + Restore DVD(s) is good for the computer novice since the DVD's are bootable as mentioned in the Post above. Image for DOS can do most everything Image for Windows can. Image for DOS has a GUI (Graphical User Interface) which makes it relatively easy to use.

    I have not got a lot of experience with Image for Windows/Image for DOS. I routinely make monthly Full System Partition Image Backups and weekly Differential Image Backups (to save some hard disk space). I have only restored about four times with no problems being encountered. All four restores were tests (not really necessary). I have yet to restore because I really have a need to restore.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2009
  4. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Thanks for that.:thumb:
     
  5. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217
    The most significant difference so far as I'm concerned is that Terabyte's images cannot be mounted as a virtual drive. The only way you can work with a Terabyte image file (to access or restore an individual file from it, for example) is to use a file browser they provide as a free download. This file browser is slow as molasses and provides only limited functionality. By contrast, images from Macrium (as well as Acronis and some others) can be mounted as a virtual disk and accessed much as any conventional disk.
     
  6. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Tried the 2.50 form 2.41 version on my Thinkpad T400 with Vista 32bit Business and got the dreaded Windows repair loop after trying to restore an image made with new version. Went back to previous version and all seems well for now. Don't know what happened on my laptop but just be careful. Usually, Terabyte runs rock solid on this machine.

    Gary
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    layman,

    TBIView is almost instantaneous on my computer. Well, maybe a second to load. How long does yours take?

    The TeraByte developer was asked about the ability to mount a virtual drive and he said it would be a backward step. Not sure what he meant but it's on his To Do list.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Gary, it is strange that both IFW 2.50 and SP 3.3 cause this error on your computer. But not IFW 2.41. Let us know if you find an answer.
     
  9. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    @Brian,
    Thanks. Tried 2.50 again but no go - just a blinking cursor at startup. Went back to 2.41 restore to 2.41 image and all is well. Don't know why. Anyway, thanks again.

    Gary
     
  10. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    Good to know, thanks for warning us !
     
  11. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Thanks for that.The image mounting feature in Macrium is a big plus for me.
     
  12. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217
    I don't use the Terabyte products because of this problem. When I've evaluated the software (something I've done a number of times over the years), the performance of TBIView has been terrible on deeply nested directory trees.

    I believe that Terabyte's software is rock-solid, but it's based on a design that is long in the tooth and not a little geeky. The notion of producing an image that is mountable was a brilliant idea, and one that offers the kind of plusses that elegant designs always do. It's disingenuous for Terabyte to claim it would be a step backward if they were to produce images you can actually work with using something other than custom bits of code! Pardon my snort!
     
  13. apathy

    apathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    9th Circle of Hell(Florida)
    I was about to post about this before I saw someone got there before me. Image for Windows has saved me hundreds of times. Now that it is Windows 7 Compatible I've installed this and made a few backups. ShadowProtect came out with a new version too!
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    layman,

    Are you sure you have tried the latest TBIView? With Version 1 IFW, TBIView was as you describe but with Version 2 IFW and the latest TBIView, it is fast on all of my computers.
     
  15. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    IFW boot disk look so ugly and unsafe to use , i dont know how pl can count on it to be ready for the D day? :D

    i use drive snap shot , little 1 file image software sewed on home made windows boot disk :)

    cheers
     
  16. invenit

    invenit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Ditto. Absolutely the best software investment that I ever made.

    I've used Image for Windows & Image for Linux for nearly two years. I used to haunt their forums for awhile when I first registered my copy. Geeky, sure; but Terabyte's never let me down.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2009
  17. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217
    Possibly not. Even if it's speedy, it wouldn't win me over, though. Whaddaya do if you image a machine and notice that the latest image is huge compared with the last image you cut and you have no idea why? With IFW there's no easy way (I know of) to figure out why this unexpected increase occurred. With mountable images, however, you simply mount 'em up, run any disk utilization utility you happen to have in your tool kit on each image, and compare the results.
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Why would a full backup image be huge compared to the last image unless you have added data to the partition? And you would already know if you had.

    I keep a record of partition sizes. If they don't change, the images don't change in size.

    Then you have been describing a product that hasn't been used for two years.
     
  19. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    One of the main reason that explains the huge size of a diff image is defragmentation : without adding a single file. The image process is sector-based and defragmentation changes the sectors content, hence the size of the diff image.
     
  20. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    AS I recall, Terabytee's images still cannot be mounted as a virtual drive.
    For me, that is a showstopper.
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Gary,

    I tried a few restores with ver 2.5 IFD. Went OK.

    Out of interest, which TeraByte app did you use for the restore? IFD or one of the others? It would be nice to know why it doesn't work on your computer.
     
  22. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Brian,
    I used Image for Linux as sual because most of th etime it runs faster that DOS on this system but it seemed slow this time about twice as slow for some reason.

    Gary
     
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Gary, thanks. I just tried a ver 2.5 IFL restore. OK here.
     
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Gary, I spoke with TeraByte Support about your issue and it was suggested to, "partinfo of working system and partinfo of non-working would indicate what problem is".

    Would you like to contact TeraByte Support?
     
  25. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    I also use IFL which is usually much faster than IFD. I also like the environment and was able, in a specific situation to use command line with some non standard parameters.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.