Image for DOS Questions

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheKid7, Apr 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    I have been experimenting with Image for DOS and ran into a problem that I do not understand.

    My experimentation is to see if I ever need to Image a PC that cannot be booted into Windows (Purpose: File Recovery). I Imaged to DVD (Image for DOS) a System Partition (byte for byte verified). I then took the DVD to a PC with Image for Windows/TBIView installed on it and attempted to copy the three files to the hard drive of that PC:

    XXXX.TBI 2,097,150 KB
    XXXX.1 2,097,150 KB
    XXXX.2 394,350 KB

    The Windows Explorer Properties of the whole DVD shows 4,700,307,456 bytes 4.37 GB

    The first two files copy OK but during the XXXX.2 the copying stops and I get the message "Error copying File or Folder" "Cannot copy XXXX.2 The parameter is incorrect".

    What could be causing this error? A wild guess is that maybe IFD overburned (Too close to the edge) slightly the DVD making the last file have an error. If this is the case, how would I correct this for this particular PC?

    Thank you.
     
  2. pocono

    pocono Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    11
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    Why not just boot the system that won't boot to windows with a bartpe disk and use it's pseudo file manager.

    I just did that recently with a system that had a disk corruption and wouldn't boot. Chkdsk didn't fix,and imaging attempts failed. I booted the SP recovery CD and use it's file manager to copy all the data to an external drive.

    Pete
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I'm with pocono.
     
  5. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
  6. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    Thanks for the Info.

    I wonder how the ROX Filer in Puppy Linux Live CD would work compared to bartpe's pseudo file manager. I have never used bartpe's pseudo file manager. I have used Puppy Linux Live CD a few times for experience but not to copy files from a Windows PC that won't boot.
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    Only one way I know to find out. Try it, on a good PC, and see if you can do it there. IF so you have a shot.

    Pete
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.