Image corrupt using boot CD but fine in WinXP?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by sellit697, Jan 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sellit697

    sellit697 Guest

    I am having a weird problem with Acronis True Image 9.0.

    In Windows XP, I go to "Check Archive" and the image I have of my main system drive checks out okay; no problems, etc.

    However, when I check the image using the Acronis Boot CD, it says the image is corrupt! The image is stored on a seperate hard drive, ATA-100 drive (my system drive is SATA II). The partition the image is stored on is NTFS format.

    Is this a known problem, or is something wrong? I cannot figure this out and am worried that Acronis 9.0 says the image is fine in WinXP but when I use the boot CD it says it is corrupt.

    Thanks very much
     
  2. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    Manually check the file sizes of your tib files to see if they match the size you chose.
    If possible do a restore, if the file sizes look good. Only way to test for sure.
     
  3. sellit697

    sellit697 Guest

    Everything looks fine on file sizes; I tried doing a restore and that is when I got the corruption error.

    :-(
     
  4. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    Try the proceedure with the latest build of Ti8
     
  5. sellit697

    sellit697 Guest

    Do you mean True Image 9? I only have 9.0
     
  6. Rusty Mainframe

    Rusty Mainframe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    I'm having a similar problem that Aronis is working on at the momemt. Backups in WinXP work fine, but fail the verifiication. However, I seem to have better luck with the boot CD, but not perfect. The problem is intermittent (the worst kind), so I never know when I'm getting a bad backup. I can mount the file as a drive and seem to be able to get at the files okay, but can't restore them.

    I found this out the hard way when I had to restore an image but it failed halfway through. Since it was my boot drive, I lost everything. Luckily, I found an image I had made much earlier to be okay.

    I just had major problems with Acronis with regards to a new ATI motherboad I installed. TI wouldn't recognize any hard drives with the boot CD. I ended up (for other reasons) replacing the motherboard, but now have unreliable backups, both in TI8 and TI9.

    <snip>
    Russ

    edited to remove unecessary editorialization - Detox
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 5, 2006
  7. hss

    hss Guest

    Hi All,

    I have the same problem as the user. The Archive work fine in XP but TI indicates that it is corrupted. I am using version 9.0. I guess this is a bug in TI. Any taker?

    hs
     
  8. Expontaneous

    Expontaneous Guest

    That happens to me also.... from BootCD says the Image is corrupted.... the problem is that I need to restore a disc :(((((
     
  9. hss

    hss Guest

    Hi,

    I just upgrade to the new release, version 9.0 revision 0.2323 and it solve my problem. Give it a try.

    HS
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello everyone,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    If you encounter the same problem as sellit697 has reported then first of all please make sure that you use the latest build (2323) of Acronis True Image 9.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please uninstall any previously installed build prior to installing build 2323.

    Please create new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update, boot your PC from this CD and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists with Bootable Rescue CD created using the latest build (2323) of Acronis True Image 9.0 then please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If you are not able to create sysinfo.txt file for some reason then please boot from Bootable Rescue CD created using the latest build (2323) of Acronis True Image 9.0 once more and press F11 key when the selection screen appears. After you get the "Linux Kernel Settings" prompt, please remove the "quiet" word, click on the OK button. As the startup messages stop scrolling please write down the last few lines of the output, or use a digital camera to make shots of the output screens.

    Please also let us know where do you store your images.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.