Image Corrupt;again and again

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Palcouk, Jul 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Palcouk

    Palcouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    London, UK
    ATI 8/937
    Win2k sp4, dual matched 1gb crucile ram
    No sys err events, memtest86 tested, drives and mirror verified
    Two sata drives on Adaptec raid card in mirror config, five partitions
    Origonally had image + incremental on partition 5 all ok untill recently when images reported as corrupt.
    Deleted images tried again - corrupt, allthough all files can be viewed
    Formated the partition and retried, same result
    Installed a new sata disk on seperate controler, tried again with same result.
    Created a new image (=7.8gb) of a single partition all ok
    Tried Imaging (=19.3gb)two partitions - corrupt

    Now maybe its an Image size issue, but if it was ok once why not now?
    (No hw/software changed)

    Just created Image using DVD size switch - still corrupt
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2006
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I think the size issue is just that you have more data to verify and whatever is marginal is just more likely to fail doing 2.5 times the work. You only need 1 bad bit to render the image as corrupt. It is possible that for large images TI is using more buffer space and thus using a bad memory cell however, that is just speculation.

    Easy thing to try is to use 1 stick of your Crucial Ram at a time. I had a dual-channel P4P800 board that would only give a very occassional (Memtest86+) error when in dual-channel mode. When I put the sticks in one at at time the bad one failed frequently.

    Make sure the memory is running at nominal SPD settings, not aggressively clocked.
     
  3. Palcouk

    Palcouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    London, UK
    Memtest was run over many loops, but I think I'll run it overnight, tonight.
    Mobo bios at defaults, no agressive settings, has been fine for 12+ months. No other problems manifest. Sys runs 24/7 with overnight processes and a seperate offsite data backup, which runs and verifys fine.
    TY
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Have you tried a verify in both Windows and from the Rescue CD?
     
  5. Palcouk

    Palcouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    London, UK
    Better close this thread;
    After 60 mins memtest86+ started falling over, just sent an RMA for my matched memory
    :(

    TY
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Sort of good news, bad news. At least you found the problem and it should have a lifetime warranty.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.