im new to backing up how can ido what i want to do below

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by winterlord, Oct 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. winterlord

winterlord Registered Member

ok im reinstalling windows and doing all the updates and programs i [put and antivirus ect. now its all super fresh i want to make a backup of the entire drive.

i have a bluray burner so i guass im not sure what tool to get am hopeing someone can help me from im new to backing up data to use as a one disk fits all

2. napoleon1815

napoleon1815 Registered Member

Are you set on using the blu-ray to back up your data? Not sure if you have - or have access to - an external hard drive. That being said,are you looking for a free solution or a paid solution? There are tons of good apps and knowing that will cut the list in half :)

3. AlexC

AlexC Registered Member

If you have installed Win7, you can use the build in imaging feature.

Just go to (wording may differ since my Windows installation is not in English!):
    . Start > Control Panel
    . Under System and Security (the second line) you should find something that translated should be like "Do a security copy of the computer". Enter there and then, in the left panel, you'll find "Create a system image".
    . You can now choose to backup to DVD's, a external drive or another partitions, for instance.
    . After the backup is done, you'll be prompted to create a system disc repair. Just insert a blank CD or DVD and click next to burn. In the future, if you need to restore your backup, you just need to boot from this CD (another option, is to press F8 during the boot, and choose system repair, and restore a backup image; although in some situations that may not be possible, so is important that you create the rescue disc)

Last edited: Oct 6, 2011
  4. winterlord