IKARUS Virus.Utilities 2.0.121

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Feb 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Back to IVU. This is a hard one not to keep on. The detection is frigging amazing. It may be one of the few AV producrs you can use that really dont have to be layered.:thumb:
     
  2. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Very true. :thumb: But it kind of feels naked without all those usual proactive protection.
     
  3. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    It can go buck naked as far as I am concerned, as long as it finds crap hitting my computers.;)
     
  4. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I just cannot disagree with you in this my friend. :)
     
  5. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
    i just want to Know when and what the Last Thing it detected on you PC
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA

    About a week ago. A Zeus Trojan. Any other questions. :cautious:
     
  7. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    Wow what kind of sites do you go too_O
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    It was for testing purposes.:blink:
     
  9. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning ! I'm currently on Version 2.0.127... Trjam and ams963...I noted you were on Version 2.0.121...Sincerely...Securon
     
  10. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,994
    Question - if I decide to run Emsi without their behavior monitor (Mamutu) enabled am I getting pretty much the same protection as what Ikarus provides? Are the scanning engines the same? Also does Ikarus have a web scanner or IP blacklist like Emsi has? Are there any meaningful differences between the two products minus Mamutu?

    thanks
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Emsisoft uses 2 engines- Ikarus and the in-house emsisoft engine. I had used Ikarus some months ago for a short time. Maybe trjam and securon can help answer if Ikarus indeed has web scanner/shield. Ikarus has anti-spam and Emsisoft does not.

    I think this is being off-topic. I don't want this thread to close. We better not continue with this. You could always try trialing Ikarus. I hope you will like it.
     
  12. ziggy_IKARUSvienna

    ziggy_IKARUSvienna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    emsi is using our SDK - we do not have a "web scanner" (when you mean HTTP scan) we have a security proxy for HTTP and HTTPS (and lots of other stuff) also we do have a managed service proxy called web.security.

    hope this is the right answer for you. If not, send me an email and a can re answer.
     
  13. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    What do you mean? Kindly elaborate. :) And what is SDK?
     
  14. ziggy_IKARUSvienna

    ziggy_IKARUSvienna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    SDK is a Software development kit to implement our Scan engine into similar products like appliances other vendors and so on....

    Our Software (virus.utilitis) is an AntiVirus software with nice features but we do not have a content filter included (to scan HTTP/HTTPS traffic) But we monitor Internet downloads.

    We have 2 Products for contentfiltering.
    The security.proxy for installing and web.security as a managed service.

    hope this details will help you.

    br,
    ziggy
     
  15. Atul88

    Atul88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Posts:
    259
    Location:
    India
    Ahahahaha!! I get your point :thumb:
    But....
    I wonder how they are able to produce such high Detection rate with few False Positives:blink: :blink: :blink:
    Even though most of the people do not know much about it.
    I think Emsisoft is much more known!!! But it is just like the child of the IKARUS...:D :D :D
    I like the fact that Emsisoft chose ikarus and not BD engine like every other AV makers are crazy about it,:cautious: :cautious:
    That's what makes it different from others :isay: :thumb:
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2012
  16. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Thank you Ziggy. Just to be clear, the 2 products: security.proxy and web.security are available as separate products and are not implemented into virus.utilities? This means I have to pay for 3 different products(and they ought to be pricey considering virus.utilities as example) to get what most other vendors offer in a single product as simple as an antivirus.
     
  17. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    If you check their website you can clearly see that these products are present under the "business" tab. So I don't think they are available for Home users :doubt:
     
  18. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,631
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I can't seem to find av testing websites (other than mrg) where Ikarus is tested. Any help will be appreciated.
     
  19. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    That's sad :'( .
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ow well, I'm better off with EAM which uses Ikarus SDK and provides multiple protection layers.
     
  21. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
  22. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,631
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Thank you Blackcat :)

    Very good detection rates, don't mind much false positives. Testing it as I'm writing this, I like its minimalistic gui but can't help noticing spikes of cpu and ram usage when using IE for example, the more tabs are running the more cpu spikes I get, which makes my system feel kind of slow.

    I never experienced this before with any other av, seems Ikarus doesn't like my 2gb dualcore laptop. I like Ikarus but it think needs to be a bit more polished before I can use it every day.
     
  23. ziggy_IKARUSvienna

    ziggy_IKARUSvienna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    you will "only" need web.security OR proxy, not both.

    i agree to you that some vendors have the content and url filtering in one product and we don´t.

    there are two differences: business- and private customers.
    for a business Contentfiltering is a suite at least not really a professional thing.
    For a customer that does not have any good skills in computers, a suite is okay, but when you want to make similar adjustments, a suite is not the best at all ;-) because it is NOT professional.

    We have a professional Client AV and a professional contentfiltering (hosted = web.security - Software = security.proxy)

    last but not least, security always costs money.
     
  24. ziggy_IKARUSvienna

    ziggy_IKARUSvienna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    normally also a home user can buy security.proxy but there are some good networkskills needed to use it. (you can try it for free for one mont).
    the better way for private users is web.security (no install needed, because hosted service) it will also be posibble to use web.security with a private Internet account (dynamic IP).
     
  25. ziggy_IKARUSvienna

    ziggy_IKARUSvienna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    we are doing better regarding false positives (see last Virus Bulletin Testings). also have a look at http://www.shadowserver.org/wiki/pmwiki.php/AV/VirusMonthlyStats
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.