IFW error 5.11

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Spysnake, Jul 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Spysnake

    Spysnake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Posts:
    187
    I need help with my Image for Windows installation.

    After the initial install and the reboot, I try to start Image for Windows main program for the first time. It pops up the "enter the key"-screen. I enter my key and press OK. After that, this error comes up: "Error 5.11 unable to load *something*". After that, I can start up IFW normally.

    The thing I need help with is that how can I pinpoint the problem here? Being perfectionist, this doesn't make any sense to me. I have tried with a fresh (ironically, IFW) image of a Windows 7 64-bit installation. I have ran memtest86+, nothing came up. All the drivers are installed.

    I contacted Terabyte support, and they told me that the key mechanism is a 3rd party product. That would surely be the reason. I just wonder, why this happens with this one computer, and my other computer doesn't get the error at all?
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Spysnake,

    Can you do this instead. Create a text document and paste in your rego data like this (two lines)...

    [License]
    Key=User Name XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX

    (Where User Name and XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX represent your own registered user name and key)


    Rename this text file to imagew.ini
    Right click imagew.ini, click Properties and put a tick in Read-only. OK.

    Copy imagew.ini to the TeraByte folder (V2) that contains imagew.exe.

    Now you won't be asked to register anymore when you run IFW.
     
  3. Spysnake

    Spysnake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Posts:
    187
    Thank you Brian K, I will try this approach soon.

    In the meantime, attached is a picture of the error. This only happens once, after that, I can start IFW normally. I tried with the latest Intel SATA drivers, didn't help.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Spysnake

    Spysnake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Posts:
    187
    The solution worked. With the imagew.ini file, the error doesn't appear. What remains is the problem itself, anyone have any insight into why this would happen?
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Which problem do you still have?
     
  6. Spysnake

    Spysnake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Posts:
    187
    I think I shaped the sentence wrongly =).

    The problem itself is gone, but I still try to figure out that why this happened in the first place. I can't reproduce the issue on any other computer.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.