if you have SS why Nod32

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Shankle, May 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    question: why would any body want or need nod32 with Smart Security out there?
    Never have understood this..
     
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Because they don't need/want the added features that's included in ESET Smart Security,
    such as the Firewall and Antispam. :) They maybe want a Pure AV solution.
     
  3. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I was using NOD32 for 4 years but once I saw ESS I jumped on to it and have never been happier! Screw the built in Windows Firewall :D
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Not everyone loves the firewall. It has given me more issues than any other. I found that if I booted my machine and didn't log on fast enough that I would be greeted with a "Unable to read firewall configuration" error. I hope v5 does not continue this.
     
  5. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Did you make sure you have disbaled your Windows Firewall?
     
  6. dannyboy

    dannyboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    Personally I don't want/need the aggravation of a personal firewall on my PC. My router's NAT and SPI do fine for me.

    Similarly I don't need antispam. I don't give my email address to anyone I don't trust, and since my ISP uses GMail, it's filtered before being delivered to me anyway.
     
  7. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    I perfectly see the reason why users would prefer EAV above ESS. I always did.
    I don't need antispam since I use both Hotmail and Gmail which do a good job at filtering in my eyes. Also I actually don't really need ESET's personal firewall, since I have always been very happy about the firewall in my Linksys router and Windows Firewall (I still think the firewall in Windows 7 is gorgeous and a third-party firewall is actually redudant). It is just I am perfectly happy with ESET's products and want to support them, that I ended up buying one integrated solution, since I don't mind having those features (firewall and antispam) because they are unobtrusive.

    P.S. Additionaly I also don't need parental controls which will be included in generation 5, but I do hope you get the option to install generation 5 without parental controls, since that might be obtrusive in my eyes.
     
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Yes. I've had this problem on and off since version 3.
     
  9. tony_m

    tony_m Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Posts:
    239
    Hi,

    The "Unable to read firewall configuration" error is indicating that firewall configuration got corrupt. It can be due to various reasons, if the computer was not shutdown properly, etc.

    I guess you already did but, what about manually uninstalling-reinstalling ESS? The process is described here:

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2289

    If the problem persists, are there any other firewall? Did you try by updating your network card drivers?

    A SysInspector log would be helpful as well.
     
  10. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
    Agreed and to add on, we have also seen the "Unable to read firewall configuration" error pop up with customers using Windows Vista who haven't updated to SP2.
     
  11. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    I don't currently have it installed though a have a valid 3 user license. The last time I had the issue was not too long ago. Installed on 2 machines with Windows 7 x64 SP1. It was clean at the time with no other security products having been installed. Windows Firewall and Defender off. Both machines with a password. I find that the first time it happens on both machines is when I turn it on and the leave the room, taking several minutes before logging on. Then it happens. After that I find it is sometimes repeatable and sometimes not. But every time I do get the error it is after taking too long to log on to the machine. I don't know if that is helpful or if anyone else can reproduce the issue but that is my experience with it.
     
  12. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Price and features duh. Why would anyone need a house with mansions out there?
     
  13. pinjoa

    pinjoa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Braga, Portugal
    hi all,
    i had problems with SS and VPN connections, with EAV and Windows Firewall i get a very good, stable and protected configuration...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.