If upgrading to Windows 7, are you going with the 32-bit or 64-bit version?

Discussion in 'polls' started by InfinityAz, Jun 27, 2009.

?

When installing Windows 7, are you going to install 32-bit or 64-bit version?

  1. 32-bit

    33 vote(s)
    39.8%
  2. 64-bit

    50 vote(s)
    60.2%
  1. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Just wondering, if you are going to update to Windows 7, are you going to install the 32-bit version or the 64-bit version.
     
  2. Eagle Creek

    Eagle Creek Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Depends on the machine. I use 4 GB now for my desktop and the next one will have 12 GB.
    My laptop only has 3, and 32 is fine.

    Especially with the RAM limit (which is the trigger for most people) 64 bit will be the future.
    But for all my older pc's 32 is still running fine. But I don't have any problems with 64 :).
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2009
  3. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    64 bit, I don't see why I should hold my system back, we need to progress onto the next era.
     
  4. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    agreed, i think since launch of vista 64 bit has become much more popular, more people who use it the faster drivers and programs will support it, about time 64 bit became the norm, it's been out long enough imho.
     
  5. Eagle Creek

    Eagle Creek Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I've used XP 64 but driver support was a disaster. Almost the only device I got working was my mouse :rolleyes: .

    It was a good warming up though :).
     
  6. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    32 bit
     
  7. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Well I wouldn't go near XP 64 with a 10ft pole, I was considering Vista 64, but passed. w7 is definitely "the one" for me. Also just a reminder for everyone, this is about w7, so don't vote about other OS's.
     
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,215
    I'm running Vista64, and the only application I had to abandon for the time being is Shadow Defender (the developer said it will take 'several months'). Otherwise no problems. Upgrading to Win7 would naturally be 64 as well.
     
  9. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    64 bit
     
  10. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I voted for 64-bit, due to the fact that soon I'll be getting a machine that will handle quite an amount of RAM. 32-bit can't handle it.
     
  11. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Depends on which computer....laptop probably 32 bit....and 64 bit on at least a couple of my desktops, probably a 32 bit on a desktop or two too.
     
  12. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Wouldn't have anything other than x64....
     
  13. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    x64 without question
     
  14. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I hope, that next Win will be finally 64-bit only as Vista and Win7 were supposed to be. 32-bit is holding software back, though MS will suffer some market loss.
     
  15. The_1337

    The_1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    112
    64-bit for the extra ram.
     
  16. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! When Windows 7 is released, will stick with 32bit for the first year,and see if 64bit will be feasible at a later date. Sincerely...Securon
     
  17. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    12 GB RAM :eek: :eek: :eek: :)

    Why do you need so much ?

    I have never seen a machine with so much RAM o_O
     
  18. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    64bit version. i have 6GB of ram and was hoping windows 7 would be 64bit only. MS couldnt because it would break compatibilty again and businesses once again would stay with xp.
     
  19. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    :thumb:
     
  20. catnotspam

    catnotspam Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    haifa
    *puppy* my laptop is x86 =32 bit i stick with 32 bit OS *puppy*
     
  21. Eagle Creek

    Eagle Creek Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    On workstations/desktop you mean I guess?

    I always used to have more RAM then above average. I ran my XP with 2 GB, where most people had 512 or 1 GB. Then I had 4 GB when 2 GB became the norm. Then we got Vista. Everybody suddenly had 4 GB. I have 4 GB right now but I'm suffering a lack of free memory on a regular basis. Although 8 GB might would be enough, with 12 I'm always good.

    Why I need it? I multitask a lot and I run virtual machines. In the old days you could run Windows 98 virtual with 64 MB, Windows 2000 with 128 and a virtual XP with 256 or even 512, all at the same time with no problem. These days, when you run Windows Server 2008, or Vista/7 you need at least 1 GB to have it run smoothly. If your own machine has 4 GB, and 2/3 GB is used for the OS and applications itself you are running out of RAM very soon. Like I said: 8 GB would be enough for normal situations, but I want to have that extra power in case I need it. I'm also going to have a pretty nice HDD configuration, although that's a bit off topic. You can send me a pm if you like :).
     
  22. progress

    progress Guest

    +1 :)
     
  23. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
  24. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    64 bit cause I m planning to use 6 GB of RAM in my new core i7 machine.
     
  25. littlebits

    littlebits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    32-bit because more software will be compatible with it, why have the extra RAM and performance, when you can't run your favorite programs on it?

    You will end up with a high performance system that can't really do much and is always behind 32-bit systems.

    Software vendor's always release 64-bit software last and a lot of time when they say it will support 64-bit, the software are full of bugs. 64 bit are always last to get driver updates also or supported drivers.

    Just look at all of the issues for 64-bit XP and Vista, what would anyone think that 64-bit Windows 7 would be any different?

    Thanks.:)
     
Loading...